You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not Caring About Our Waste

in #waste6 years ago (edited)

Too true; the waste that people do every day is awful. One of the biggest frustrations is looking at the healthcare industry’s waste. Everything is wrapped in single use plastic. Things that are sterile are one thing but there are countless other materials that just get thrown in the garbage. I can only hope that it gets recycled but I somehow doubt it. One of the places I worked now recycles everything it can but it took me two years of keeping after people to finally understand it and keep it going. They had recycle bins in each of their rooms but that’s only one small section of a massive healthcare system. I would like to know some numbers behind the waste in it!

One thing I am trying to get more people to do is compost their scraps. It’s easy to just save them and toss them in some woods for the animals and bugs or even a couple trees, there are things that will eat it all almost anywhere!

Sort:  

Yeah. So much is wrapped in plastic, waste on land and even worse in water like the ocean. I compost all that isn't eaten as food for meals, I'm vegan. A small brown compost bin each week. Recycling bin each week. And garbage bag once every 2 months. And that's cause of styrofoam and some plastic that sin't recycled like plastic wrap when buying food.

Ah vegan is tough. We are mostly vegetarian (my wife is 100% vegetarian, she is grossed out by meat, I eat it occasionally but do not seek it out) but I couldn’t commit to vegan. I buy products that aren’t tested on animals and stay away from animal fleece stuff but I can’t completely remove dairy from my life lol it’s difficult!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66