You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEVER EVER USE THE "CONVERT TO STEEM" BUTTON! ALWAYS ALWAYS GO ON THE INTERNAL MARKET

in #warning7 years ago (edited)

Someone else had 1000 SBD locked in conversion, a huge loss. What's also important is that the conversion CANNOT be canceled once it's initiated.

Sort:  

That's how it would feel to me
0srzKvA.gif

I realized how many newbies that may not know the

hahahaha...!,,,exactly evryone will feel like this

Nobody could have anticipated that pump. I mean who hodl'd SBD? Nobody :(

lucksacks.com does and then we pay it out to our players and they 20x. :)

Maybe I should start playing at lucksacks again!

Yeah, I don't see why anyone would be holding SBD prior to this. However, if it ever gets down to $1 naturally, then I bet we will see lots of people who hold on to their SBD rewards in case this happens again!

That's the dilemma, nobody had any reason to hold SBD. It was trading at $0.95 for a months. And yes, when it goes back to $1, I'll be the first to hold it and wait for the next pump. The last pump happened in May when SBD reached $22! So it's possible we'll experience another pump in a few months (if history decides to repeat itself).

Hahahahahahahaha Great example dear @cryptoctopus

I had only 0.5 SBD left, so not enough to sell on bitrex.
So I thought, maybe if I use the 'convert' button. Then I might profit from SBD's spike.

Luckily it was only 0.5 SBD.

Transfers from/to exchanges cost ZERO fees, gotta love Steem. So yes, you could transfer that 0.5 SBD on bittrex, sell it, buy STEEM, and transfer that back. However, there are commission fees for each transaction on the exchange itself.

In the end, the internal exchange remains the best and quickest solution. I recently bought 60 STEEM with 10 SBD on the internal.

10 SBD x $12 = $120
$120 / $2 per STEEM = 60 STEEM

The prices are approximate when I did the transaction. But you get the idea.

If you buy BTC in low range, wait to hit higher, and then wait steem to go low, then you maximize

Oh man, that must sucks. That's like a 500 Steem loss or something like that :(

My first rookie mistake was something similar. In my introduction post about 3 days ago I choose the 100% option instead of going 50-50. I didn’t knew nothing about Steem dollars at the time.

But either way, I am happy to have found this community and excited to take part in this!

Read the FAQ, it's the first thing everyone should be doing when they join any platform. You'll find a lot of information to get you going :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44