thoughts from a Veteran (on Veterans day)

in #war7 years ago (edited)

Its hard to believe it has been nearly 11 years since I was in the military. At the time I joined I was just a dumb kid looking for an adventure, little did I know it would shape my life forever.

With nothing to stay home for and nothing to fear, I set out to try to find something to believe in. I joined the Army, went to basic training and was sent off to my first tour of combat in Iraq in 2003.

I did well in the military, I have an out going personality which made it rather easy for me. It didn't take long for me to move through the ranks, in just less than 3 years I made it to Sergeant (E-5).

By 2007 I had served more than two years in combat in Iraq and decided that was enough, it was time to move on.

Veterans Day is one of the few days a year that I take the time to look through some of my old military stuff and think about my old life. I think about the friends I made while in the service, the friends lost at war, the friends lost after war and the 4 years of my life that changed me forever.
It is often a hard day, one usually filled with a roller coaster of emotions, both happy and sad. It is a time to reflect about choices I have made and have to live with, it is about learning from those hard choices not just burying them.


(I was in the Calvary so after my first tour of war I was awarded a stetson and spurs)

Over the last decade nearly all of my keepsakes and memories of my time in the service have been lost, misplaced or thrown away as they seem less and less important as time goes on. This is basically it now, I can fit my whole army life into a small box now. Funny how life changes so dramatically over the years.

Every one of these coins is a reminder of a mission. Something important. Something big. But with each passing year I forget more missions and more names. Sometimes the memories seem like just yesterday, and other days they are nothing more than a distant memory. Oh how quickly things change.

I think about the person I was then and who I have become today. So much of it was shaped by the experiences I had in the military and more importantly in war. It's weird how the most ugly, hard times of your life end up making you the person you appreciate most in the future. So don't run from the hard times, face them, attack them, and then learn from them. If you do this, you will respect yourself more later in life.

I am proud to be an American! But I have come to realize that war doesn't fix anything. It does nothing good for anyone. So as proud as I am to have served my country I no longer support the wars it creates and participates in!
So when I get thanked for my service I always have a hard time responding with the correct gratitude or reaction.

So when/if you thank a Veteran today (or any day) remember that it's not always easy to be thanked for going to war. So if you don't get a response or if the veteran acts awkward or doesn't really know what to say, don't assume they are being disrespectful, that veteran may just still be dealing with some painful memories. I know I am.

As a disabled combat veteran I want to thank all the other Veterans who have sacrificed so much! And to all of the family's who have lost loved ones to war, you will always be hero's in my eyes.

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

Thank you for serving. We too often take it for granted. Thank you for the kind reminder and gratitude.

Thank you for the kind words :)

@moderndayhippie, First let me say thank you for your sacrafice, and for sharing your story with us all. As a military brat from a deep military family I know how hard it must be to share what you have and how much this is just the tip.

I was directed to this post via a whaleshares chat and am very thankful for them highlighting it. I will be following you to see what else you share with the world. :)

Cheers

  • Glitch

Thank you kindly.. My mom was a military brat so i know that isnt always easy, your dad might have gotten all the thanks for service but i know u also had to sacrifice a lot as well so i appreciate the comment..
Sharing isnt always easy for me, but things don't change if no one speaks up.
Im glad you heard the whaleshares chat, i messed up the time so i missed it unfortunately :/
I appreciate the follow and the thoughtful comment so i followed u back.. take care.

Happy Veterans Day from this fellow veteran, brother.

But with each passing year I forget more missions and more names. Sometimes the memories seem like just yesterday, and other days they are nothing more than a distant memory. Oh how quickly things change.

Isn't it funny how we begin to forget all those details as time goes by? Even though those details played a big role in shaping who we ended up becoming down the line.

I wrote a poem about Veterans Day yesterday, and I am currently working on an actual "article" about it today. I hope posts like ours get seen today, because today is the day when everything veteran related needs to rise to the surface and be seen by everyone.

Yeah, it is funny how things change, or how we as people change i guess..
Thank u for sharing that poem, it definitely hit home for me.. Im not great with putting my words on paper so its nice to see other people who are good at it, share their experiences.. so thanks again and take care brother.

I finally finished my post on Veterans Day, I'd love to know your thoughts on it as well! You can see it here.

v+r

v+r

That was a very enjoyable read, I just want to say I have so much respect for anyone who is willing to sacrifice there time and life to serve, I can't imagine how difficult that must be. I send my love and support and hope you are able to overcome those painful memories. I am so grateful for those who have answered the call!

We will remember those who answered the call @moderndayhippie no greater sacrifice, in an unjust world.

This post received a 13% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @moderndayhippie! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

bot-educ.leb.png

• Great post @moderndayhippie, your post has been resteemed by @educ.leb

@educ.leb Upvoted & Followed you! •

educ.lebthanksyou.gif

• Basic: Send 0.100 SBD/STEEM With Your Post URL On Memo to @educ.leb | You will Be Followed & Resteemed |Pro: Send 0.500 SBD/STEEM To Subscribe For A Week[for 7 days

resteem your posts for just 0.001 SBD] •

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71