You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The piece of the cold war nobody told you about - Africa's forgotten war - the SA Fighter Aircraft.

in #war7 years ago

As stated yesterday I was in the anti aircraft unit. We had to identify all these planes from a distance to ensure that we do not shoot down friendly aircraft. We had to write very strict tests on this.

Sort:  

I went through an F-16 Intel top off course, and we had to do aircraft identification as well. I got to ride in one of the jets too! One of my greatest regrets in life is not taking the controls when offered. When the Pilot Instructor offered them to me, I was too sick to say yes. We were doing a dog fight flight, and the hard turns were not the problem. As people warned me, it was the flat level flight that made me sick. The jets float through the air bobbing up and down the entire time ever so slightly. That's what makes you want to puke!

Yes a great pity, I never had the opportunity to fly in one, howver I flew the impala simulator but definitely not the same!

I wish that once in a lifetime I could fly in such a powerfull machine. It must be great to feel the g forces..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64