You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE ROOTS OF WAR, THE HOPE OF PEACE

in #war6 years ago

I look forward to yoru series. War, the armies, I cannot support. Yet having to support them to protect us from those wanting to do harm to us. A vicious circle that I do not want.
My friend's son wants to enroll in the army. I have told him many times over how horrible the army is, no matter what part of it you are in, you are putting yourself in the system. They own you. You become a pawn in their game, you encourage the systems by fixing their vehicles, fixing their computers etc.
It puts pain in my heart and anger. It is not good.

Sort:  

For men, perhaps only war and belonging to the legions, the army, is a greater drive than sex or food. It is an ingrained drive to be among the ranks, to fight, protect, defend and, yes attack. There is a bonding, a union, that occurs amongst men only exceeded by the ultimate union of spirits as each man struggles with his mates to survive in the very jaws of destruction. Spirits literally meld together in those moments of extreme pulsing madness. For a young man, full of testosterone and genetic imperative, to turn away is very difficult. Not all young men are this way, there are other paths genetic memory takes, but this, perhaps is the strongest.

I can see that happening. My friend told me he wanted to join since he was a kid without really knowing why nor did she know where the need came from. I think it's true what you say, but in that truth is sadness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85