Walk With Me-Watch the Park Bloom: Part 3

in #walkwithme6 years ago

This is Part 3 of "Walk With Me-Watch the Park Bloom." Part One can be found HERE and Part 2 can be found HERE.

The first walk in the park was last spring. I went back in mid June for the second walk, and this is the third walk which took place in mid July.

Everything was in full bloom and very colorful. I loved these tall white flowers which I think may be called "Veronica Spike Speedwell, White Wands." My research tells me that the spikes are 14-16 inches tall and they attract bees and butterflies.

Here we have Bee Balm. I have seen red Bee Balm but not pink like these.

And a Monarch Butterfly! The waystation was working.

Remember these boulders? I had a visitor.

A Cicada Killer Wasp! Just like their name, these wasps kill cicadas to feed their larvae. But the adult food for these wasps is nectar from flowers. Look at the size of this thing. These wasps are big and only a little bit smaller than a cicada.

Thanks for walking with me and stay tuned for Part 4.

#walkwithme by @lyndsaybowes

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Seems all the flowering plants are well attended.

For the 4 times that I was there, the grounds were in perfect condition.

Bee Balms :)
Is that what they are called .
Nice
I learnt something new today
And they are very pretty ... I don't think I've seen the in this colour either

There is always something to learn here on Steemit. Glad I could help. Thanks for stopping by @kaerpediem! : )

Howdy there whatisnew! Maybe we should call you Insect Lady? That would definitely be unique branding for you on here! So you go to this park every month? because....they don't have parks where you live?

Insect Lady? I like it! Just don't add any spiders to my name. LOL!
No, I don't have any parks where I live. I wanted to go back each month because I loved spending time there and I wanted to see the plants bloom, the butterflies and any other surprises that I might find there.

Howdy again Insectlady! hmmm...sounds like a country girl to me! But you like insects but not spiders?

Howdy @janton! OMG! I am so afraid of spiders. Can't even stand to look at them so you can just imagine how hard it is for me to photograph them. Heebie-jeebies!

haha! Howdy again whatisnew! what happens, does the camera shake or something? Well I think you should specialize in spider photography then, you know, to overcome your fears!

I shake, squirm and squeal!!! I even have nightmares after I take photos of them. I have overcome as much fear as I ever will. I am proud of myself for taking photos of them.

haha! And how close did you get to take the photos? Is that why you need the big lens? lol.

Closer than I ever wanted to be. Here is just one of many that I took.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57