Walk With Me-Watch the Park Bloom-Part One

in #walkwithme6 years ago

This is my first "Walk With Me" post by @lyndsaybowes. I have enjoyed @foodie.warrior and @manorvillemike's #walkwithme posts which gave me the idea. I live on the east coast of USA and while traveling last spring, I stopped at a small park to walk around and I was pleasantly surprised with what I saw. I went back a month later, another month later, and one more month later. You can #walkwithme and watch the park bloom, and come alive in four different posts.

Remember that the first part of this walk was in the spring so the only color you will see here is a lot of green. Well, I do have a surprise at the end which will add some color. There were many trees and this Sycamore was the first one I saw after I entered the park.

I was obsessed with this next tree. I think it may be a long needle pine tree and you can see all of the new shoots growing.

I walked up a hill and to the left was this group of trees and neat looking boulders.

Looking to the right, I was surprised to see a lake with this amazing view.

Losing track of time, I was now running late and had to leave. There was more to see so I knew that I would definitely return the following month. I am infatuated with insects so you can just imagine how happy I was to see my first butterfly of the spring season as I was leaving the park. I hit the jackpot with this group of Silvery Checkerspot butterflies who were mud puddling.

You usually see butterflies sipping the nectar of flowers but sometimes you will see them mud puddling. After it rains, butterflies will sip the mud to add much needed salts and minerals to their diet. Some had their wings open and others had their wings closed. Perfect timing to have rain the night before.

Thank you for walking with me and I hope you will stay tuned for Part Two where you will see the rest of this park and more color.

#walkwithme by @lyndsaybowes.

Image Source: All photos are my own.

Sort:  

Howdy tonight whatisnew! wow this was fairly readable.. not bad, not bad at all. Great photos too!
However.." infatuated with insects" is not a phrase you hear everyday and with good reason! lol.

Howdy @janton! Thanks for your kind words. : )
Well, I would never hold an insect but I think their lives from birth to adults are fascinating. Nature never ceases to amaze me. : )

Howdy whatisnew! thanks for the "howdy" by the way. lol.
You would never hold one? why is that? me no savvy!

Howdy @janton! I would never hold one because it would give me the heebie-jeebies. Shivers!

oh! ok, well I thought you were crazy about them, but it's just from a distance like a normal person. I'll have to write that down because you and normal don't really go together!

Yes! From a distance. You crack me up. Why am I not normal?!?!?

howdy again whatisnew! Why aren't you normal? What is normal about you?

OMG! You are the one that told me I was not normal. LOL! You said that me and normal don't go together.

Now that was an entertaining #walkwithme . Looking foreward to part #2 :-)

Thanks so much Mike. Glad you liked it. : )

Your pictures are a gift. I so enjoyed that walk. I miss the country...the green, the quiet, the streams, the butterflies. #7 especially affected me. I have to believe you love what you see, you capture it all so effectively.

Edit:
I'm resteeming. Everybody deserves a bit of beauty. Good for Monday :)

And you compliments are your gifts to me. : ) It sure is beautiful in the country and yes, I absolutely love seeing everything that nature has to offer. I am glad that you picked a favorite photo because I always wonder about what others like the best.

YAY! Thanks for the resteem! I sure do appreciate it and hope it brightened someone's day. : )

Oh wow great #walkwithme @whatisnew I love that needle tree also so I dont blame you, but the butterfly pictures win.

Thanks so much . I am glad that you like it and especially happy to know that you like the needle tree too. Yup, the butterflies were a real treat. I hardly ever see them mud puddling. More butterfly photos are on the way. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57