WALKWITHME BONSAI CORRAL

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

Yup a walkwithme does include going into the corral to check on the trees and with temps warming up it is time to get them off the ground and onto the tables and stands.

During the fall thru early spring they all rest and are not weeded (don't want to disturb any of the fine roots of the trees) and no different than us they slow down on their energy needs.

Some trees just need being set down to the ground and unless the temps fall into the negative I don't cover them, others require a set temp above 40 and are moved into the greenhouse where they have a heater or three when needed.

Yew :Which is the front and which is the back?
P1190394.JPG

Yew :Which is the front and which is the back?
P1190395.JPG

This gives you an idea of the sizes of the stands and bonsai.
P1190396.JPG

This is a cedar elm that sits on the stand.
P1190397.JPG

3 trident maples (in one pot to slow down their growth till they are ready)
P1190398.JPG

Gingko biloba forest (this one takes 4 men to move)
P1190399.JPG

This is a Bougainvillea that just came out of the greenhouse.
P1190421.JPG

As winter losses its grip what are you seeing come to life in your walkwithme?

Come chime in and chat!
Welcome to steemit, read, respond and be real.

Sort:  

that's cool, do you sell them?

they seem fairly unique, how are they priced in a wholesale fashion?

Way to complicated to get into on a thread. Age of tree, care, styling, etc.

the business end of it would make for a very interesting post, lots of aspiring businesspeople here

no but I would like to get into tree farming and I heard that it was a lucrative type that does not take up a lot of space relative to other silviculture. I was running the numbers on Christmas trees but those are a lot more straightforward.

tree farming and bonsai tree farming are different.

Your Bonsai's are terrific. Can you refer me to a site that I can get some tips on how to shape and tend to bonsai's. I have an erythrina which I grew from seed and a ficus which I am trying to bonsai . At the moment it really is hit and miss. I am trying to get the crown to spread out but at the moment they a just straight up with no shape.

Spotted this video this morning and it is a good one for how the roots and etc are done, so it should help on your journey.

Thank you for your kindness, I do appreciate it.

Your very welcome!

There are so many sites and youtube is loaded with a few good teachers, I will pull a few to post here for you.
Posted as I find them and not based on which is better.
Orlando bonsai https://www.youtube.com/user/OrlandoBonsaiTV
Nigel Saunders https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxWc7cn-M-22gie8oPslLcA
Lindsay Farr world of Bonsai playlist is also a great one https://www.youtube.com/user/farlinzee
This gets your feet wet.

Thanks weetreebonsai for this information. I am going to get onto them. Hopefully I will post a pic of them in the future.

Awesome and I am looking forward to seeing them!

Well done nice trees. Now its time to start working on those trees.

Yup it is near time to work them.

Thank you!
I am happy to read posts on bonsai from people outside Japan!

Bonsai is borderless and it is world wide.

Exactly! I feel it at steemit.

Thank you for putting the sizes and weights into proportion for us, that was helpful. The little maples made me smile so much...

I love the maples also, maybe I will post more of the other trees I have on the next walkwithme (Thank You so much for starting this tag!)

I'm glad that you find it useful xo Thanks, and keep up the great posting @weetreebonsai :)

Bonsai are so magical.

Yes they are...

Congratulations @weetreebonsai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Try Our Service Befre Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here :
    JOIN NOW CLICK HERE / http://nullrefer.com/?https://t.co/BADyAbNr0S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57