You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walkwithme: Skien - from Bryggevannet to the train station

in #walkwithme6 years ago

It's nice to see my childhood city make its debut on the Steem blockchain! I don't think anyone has blogged about Skien before. As for the power station; you are correct. The yellow building on your third photo from the top is Eider kraftverk. There also another power station a few hundred meters away, called Kosterfoss kraftverk.

Anyway, it was nice to be able to see your thoughts on first time in Skien :) Let me know if you need any "inside knowledge" about the city. I'm not an expert in local history, but I lived there for the first twenty years of my live, so I know my way around a lot of it anyway.

Best regards from @valth

Sort:  

I was incorrect, as it (as I read that wikipedia article) has always been an electric power station and never a grain mill.

The huge building right next to it is the grain mill. It is called Skiens Aktiemølle, but I don't think it is operational anymore.

So the mill was driven directly by the hydro power earlier, then they electrified it.

http://www.skiensaktiemolle.no/wp-content/uploads/mollehistorikk-05.04.2018.pdf

I'm not sure I understood the end. Does it mean the old shareholder company is disbanded, but the mill is still operating under another owner? Or is there another mill in Skien that is still operating?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47