Sunday mushroom walk

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

With all my responsibilities ... my day job, maintaining the boat, maintenance of the house, housework, three children, plus other things like my crypto trading, steem, the pirate party and other projects, there is not often much time left for anything else. Previous Sunday, I feel that I got nothing useful done that Sunday, but at least I managed to spend some time with my family. I went for a biking trip with my middle son, I helped my eldest son a bit on programming a game, and I went for a mushroom trip together with my youngest daughter and wife.

My wife was insisting on driving, so our trip started from a parking place.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.954158,10.940175 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 14:03:42 localtime - full quality

She also knew where to find mushrooms - now, in my opinion this probably isn't the best place to search for mushrooms, there is too much people here, this road is never more than some few hundred metres away from residental areas - and my wife also insisted that the mushrooms were growing on the "civilized" (left/west) side of this road. Well, at least Norwegians aren't the most active mushroom pickers, so maybe there is something to be found that nobody else have bothered picking.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.954853,10.940773 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 14:05:57 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.954689,10.933529 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 14:10:12 localtime - full quality

Pay attention to the one bright tree a bit to the left in the middle at the photo below. The thing is, we're relatively far up north and it's late autumn, hence the sun is quite low on the sky, and while walking down in the forest we're in the shade of the sun. However, this area is a bit open, and there was a small opening in the trees behind, hence the sun was shining and lighting up exactly that tree. While the photo may look dull and boring, it was actually a quite awesome sight ...

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.957569,10.939302 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 14:23:23 localtime - full quality

No, no, that's not a pine, that's a birch!

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.959892,10.928157 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 14:29:16 localtime - full quality

We didn't pick much, but at least we got something. The green stuff my daughter picked just because she found it decorative. In addition, my wife had a plastic bucket that she filled with Funnel Chanterelle (traktkantarell på norsk).

Photo taken by tobixen
2018-09-23 15:38:25 localtime - full quality

I've never before been picking this kind of chantarelle (Craterellus tubaeformis), though my wife has picked quite some, and she specifically wanted to go here because she knew there is quite some of this mushroom growing here. We picked quite some tiny, tiny mushrooms ... and then we met another lady being out in the same business as ours, when we met, she said she took only the biggest ones, leaving the smaller ones to grow a bit bigger. I felt a bit embarrassed when hearing that, nice she didn't see my wifes bucket ...

I forgot to take photos of this mushroom, but here is one found on the Internet:

Photo from Wikimedia Commons
*Photo by Ilmari Karonen, CC-SA, found at Wikimedia Commons

The below photos shows another kind of a chantarelle that I'm not familiar with ...

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.960998,10.937261 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 15:43:13 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.960998,10.937261 (geohack) - 2018-09-23 15:43:24 localtime - full quality

A quick google search, and I concluded that it's false chantarelles (falsk kantarell på norsk), Hygrophoropsis aurantiaca, and not recommended to be eaten - so we threw it away.

(the observant reader may see that I'm lagging behind with a week on my posts ... busy days!)

Selected photos available in original quality on IPFS QmWSY3LfuhtE93Ra6oWCb7nWun1Ud96PW1RjHJ3jQUbQbC. All photos taken available in original quality on IPFS QmXYVP5WEWUCior5MqM6E72SANyr6HL6HuXndUnGfFH3xu. The CC BY-SA 4.0 license applies on both my photos and the article


Don't be afraid to criticize my posts. I will give a 100% upvote to any (unique) reply pointing out typos, grammar mistakes or mistakes in the facts presented. This applies to any post or comment from me, no matter how old. I also usually give upvotes to opposing points of view, particularly when a good and logically valid argument is given.

Sort:  

I love your daughter's very happy smile!
looks like you guys had fun!

Ooh, I'm so jealous! I have this internalized fear of poisoning my family. So even though I would like to go mushroom picking, I do not have the confidence to properly identify them myself.

Yours may have been a false Chantrel, but you still had the neat experience of collecting them together as a family and a story to tell in later years.

Looks like it was a beautiful day. Love to you and yours, @tobixen!

Nice to see that you still have sunny weather in Norway. In here it's like we're up north with lots of clouds, wind and under 15°C during the day.

Don't be afraid to criticize my posts. I will give a 100% upvote to any (unique) reply pointing out typos, grammar mistakes or mistakes in the facts presented. This applies to any post or comment from me, no matter how old. I also usually give upvotes to opposing points of view, particularly when a good and logically valid argument is given.

Really searched for something to criticize but haven't found any finger caught in your camera lens and grammar mistakes I don't chase. I'm not perfect either and I don't really care that much about it. It's the message that you share that is the most important.

Great post sir :D

Nice to see that you still have sunny weather in Norway. In here it's like we're up north with lots of clouds, wind and under 15°C during the day.

We've had below 0 a couple of nights here in Oslo now. I already don't remember if it was Thursday or Friday that we had +18C. Today was also excellent weather and above 10C, but it may be the last day when we have above 10C in the daytime. Tomorrow after work it may touch 10C, and I will do some gluing and painting after work, then I believe I'm done with outside works for this season.

I still have some places where I should apply new varnish as the old varnish have fallen off, but it has to be more than +10C for any varnishing work. Today my daughter had birthday, so I guess I'm done varnishing for this season.

woow! we went to pick mushrooms 2 das ago too!
can you imagine??;))
what a coincidence!;))
I adore such сases!

the photos are great!!! and the daugter's bright smile, and your wise with the kid walking forward and, of course, mushrooms themselves!

actually, I know nothing about mushrooms;)
people who do know and can differ them are like magicians for me!
how can you do it?:))
i asked my brother the same question, but it was so easy for him, he couldn't understand why it could be hard for anybody else;))

what did you cook?
we made a mushroom pie;)

people who do know and can differ them are like magicians for me!
how can you do it?:))

No magic involved, we just learn to recognize some few safe, good mushrooms and search for them.

what did you cook?
we made a mushroom pie;)

That sounds awesome.

Sometimes we just fry them and eat them beside other food. The children don't like mushrooms, so they would usually not eat any dishes with mushrooms.

The forrest looked beautiful and I love the trees. Such lovely colours, unfortunately smartphones are not good at picking up details. The mushroom hunting looked a lot of fun but I would need someone to tell me what was poisonous and what was not.

I would need someone to tell me what was poisonous and what was not.

We don't need to know much about the poisonous mushrooms, it's the good, edible mushrooms that are important.

Gorgeous photos, I admire that your family forages together! Looks like you got a great haul. Don't feel bad about picking the small ones <3 <3 Now you know! <3 <3

In Russia, mushroom picking is called quiet hunting!
A favorite activity for many.
You had a great hunt, @tobixen

Your daughter seems to enjoy this activity.
She is very happy!
Children love to spend time outdoors.

And we like to fry mushrooms in sour cream and cook mushroom julienne)


source

sir, i first time visit your blog, real simple post i empress i follow i reading this about mushroom, awesome sight i seeing in this post nice one, your cute daughter with mushroom bucket just like baby doll.i have no daughter i like baby girl to much.very nice family all member helping with smallest baby girl. good attitude i like.
mushroom not found there in market thanks for sharing this post.

Walk is more important in our life.Walk is more important in our good health.Your wife descion is too good.Tress looks so beautiful.Tress gives you fresh air.This is so big tress.I really like tress and leaves.Your kid are so beautiful and so cute.Your are so enjoying your trip with your family.Your kid collect some flowers.These flowers looks so great.Very impressive mushrooms.Thanks for sharing this great post.Very amazing writing.

Hi @tobixen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.845 which ranks you at #4200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #154.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83