Oslo downtown #1

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Every Saturday morning my kids go to a private Russian school downtown. In the meanwhile we parents have some time off. This day we had different things on our agendas - my mission for the day was to look after my dhingy, which I now moored up downtown. I walk here every so often, but this time I decided to act like a tourist and take some photos.

On my way to the dhingy, there is one place with lots of big birds. Someone is feeding them there, so they have become pretty stuck. The big bird to the right is usually sitting or standing right in the walk path. I suppose such birds can be dangerous, so I usually do a detour around it.

I was quite annoyed seeing a photo of a big bridge and the sign "bikes must be walked" in a post the other day, so I was surprised to find the same sign here in Oslo today. However, this is a walking bridge, with stairs, not being very long, and bikers will probably find faster routes not involving this bridge, so not the same annoying.

There's my dhingy! Not stolen yet, nice. I do have a chain and a padlock for it, but I can't find the padlock at the moment. As some "security by obscurity" I left the chain going up from the boat and around one of the supports on the bridge, so people passing by should at least believe it was locked. Today I brought with me a new padlock, that was one of the main purposes with my trip.

It doesn't show very well on the picture, but the two nearest men are fishing with rods.

This is the outlet of Akerselva, probably the most important river in Oslo. There is no ice here due to the speed of the river and the significant waterflow. The river goes up to the train station, they've built a nice quay there, but unfortunately they've closed the river for traffic for three years now due to the construction works. If I understand it right, the only reason why it's closed is that there is a non-zero risk that they may accidentally drop something into the head of whomever would be passing the river. Very annoying. Further upstream, at the other side of the rails (river goes in a tunnel under the rails) there are some boats moored, so they are basically stuck there (between a water fall and the closed section of the river) for several years? Crazy.

I was surprised to see -9C on the thermometer when waking up this morning - I hadn't paid enough attention to the forecast! Another purpose of my trip was to check if it would be possible to get out at all with the dhingy - and yes, indeed, there isn't too much ice yet. Unfortunately I didn't have enough clothes with me for actually moving it to some less icy place.

Ducks walking on the edge of the ice ...

Hope the dhingy will still be there next time ...

The big bird had moved a bit out of the way as I walked back.

There are so much construction activity here (and it has been for a while!). This will be the new Munch museum if I'm not mistaken ... such a big building just to store some old paintings ...

Construction cranes everywhere ... and small temporary housing for construction workers. I'm not sure what that thing in the middle is. In the background, the opera building.

Backside of the opera building. Inside there is some workshop for costumes, lots of sewing machines to be seen, usually there are also quite some costumes and other props visible inside.


That bridge is going over the railways and at the other side there is the bus terminal - but that's probably Oslo's most pedestrian-unfriendly bridge! Perhaps I'll rant over it in another post later ...

Here is the panorama of construction works ...




And even more construction works!


The will be the new library - and look to the left, that's a part of my finger ...

Here is the Opera house, from the front side.




Oh, I think I should rant a bit about the Opera as well. Actually I've never been attending a performance there. I do remember it was quite much of a political debate before they built it, the building was very costly indeed, and quite some people from the districts were upset that so much state money was funneled to the capital (back then I lived 1200 km away from the capital, by the way ...)

Another thing is that it's quite big subsidies going to the richer part of the population - in addition that the building was built by state money, they are totally dependent on state money to keep the fat lady singing. Quite few Norwegians have an interest for going to operas, and despite the subsidies the ticket prices are still expensive enough to keep the lower middle class out from such experiences. Well, at least they have free toilets in the Opera ...

Enough ranting, next photo. Even in the summer time, there is no respect for this sign - the biking lane is quite often clogged up with pedestrians - and I think that today, most bikers would choose the walking lane. Indeed, there was no bike tracks but lots of foot tracks on the biking lane.

Train station, south side. The old building is Østbanehallen (east track hall, literally); there is also a Vestbanehall at the west side of the town centre, though the tracks there have been removed long ago. In the 80s they made a railroad tunnel through the city center, expanded the train station here, and it became Oslo Sentralstasjon (Usually just "Oslo S", some people also wrongly say "Oslo Sentralbanestasjon").

Turning around again, there is the new library and the opera in the distance.

Straight ahead here is the Karl Johan street, that's the main street of Oslo. Most of it is a pedestrian street by now. Those concrete flower pots are a new addition; it's a bit of a security theater, preventing terrorists from driving with a big truck into the square in front of the train station.

Jernbanetorvet - or, the railway station square, in front of the train station (west side of it).

Østbanehallen, the front side of it. Nowadays the old train station building is filled up with gourmet restaurants.



Parts of the new train station to the left. The temporary installation in the middle of the square is a big TV-screen showing the winter Olympic games in Korea. The winter Olympics is a quite big thing in Norway, perhaps even bigger than the regular Olympics.

Here we are again at Karl Johan, the main street of Oslo.

Can you spot some security theatre here?

The street goes from the railroad station, passes the church and the parliament, up to the University, the National Theatre (today, "Nationaltheateret" is quite synonymous with the metro station there, but the theater still exists - I've been watching a performance there once, I was surprised how small it is) and finally the Palace. The lowest section is quite narrow, the street widens up by the church, and then it becomes quite much wider again by the parliament. I could have gone on taking photos, but frankly this post is already too long, I ran a bit out of time, the battery on my telephone was quite low ... enough is enough. Or, nearly enough. I decided to take one more photo from another square, Youngstorget, there they have made some bigger installations celebrating the Olympics.


All photos can be found in full quality at IPFS QmXuEvG1VuF5gX1CrGQbsAsXb7uAxe9gbRHpeDQPVtwMyi

Sort:  

Thanks for the tour! I feel like I've been shown around by a friend who lives in town. I'm pretty certain that I would not be happy about the Opera House either but if you let me know when the library opens I may just make airplane reservations!

This is excellent! You have taken me around a beautiful City. Beautiful pictures as well. @tobixen, please what camera did you use to take the pictures? They're beautiful and well detailed.
Thanks for being my tour guide.

Oh, it's the cheapest cellphone I could find in the shop after losing my phone previous time. :-)

That's so funny! I had to promise my husband that I would get a bright neon pink phone case for my new phone after I lost my previous phone so I could see it if I dropped it or left it somewhere. I'm so not a pink person. Give me black every time!

Pink wouldn't help much, as I lost it in the sea :-) A Finnish Jolla phone, can't find more of those :-(

The previous phone was an Indian Intex Aquafish, I was very happy with it and it was bright red. It was even labelled with my name on it - and I lost it while sledding in Korketrekkeren two years ago - had big hopes of finding it again, but ... no :-(

I once had a pink wrist-watch-telephone that I ordered from China. I'm color blind, I just clicked "order" on some telephone that I considered to be "off-white" on DealExtreme. (It was definitively a cool thing, unfortunately the usb charging cable was nonstandard and broke, so it only worked for me for some months. Even had a camera, but the quality was extremely poor. I remember using it as a bluetooth mp3 player and listening to podcasts, but the bluetooth range was so poor that the reception sometimes fell out, I had to keep my hand on my belly ...).

Ok - the last on made me laugh!

I seems that not even a leash like surfers wear to tether their boards to their ankle would be adequate to keep your phone from straying. Usually the cheaper and less happy you are with the product the longer it lasts - not even that works for you!

Before the Intex I had my first Jolla. I was trying to attach the mooring ropes to the boat while standing on land ... but it's difficult to do that without also pushing the boat a bit ... so eventually the distance between the boat and land got too big. I ended up hanging in the ropes. This was in the summer or autumn, not so cold water, but ... I was wearing an inflatable life west, and those CO2 patrons for the wests costs really a lot, so I didn't want the west to get wet. I got help to remove the west, and then I dropped myself and started swimming. Only when I got to land I came to think about the telephone ... damn! I did not lose it, but It did not survive the salt water bath.

Usually the cheaper and less happy you are with the product the longer it lasts - not even that works for you!

You may be on to something.

I was living quite much on hotels in my previous job, and what I discovered is that I tended to be more happy with cheaper hotels. My expectations were simply too high with the more expensive hotels; I tended to get annoyed with everything that wasn't perfect,

I understand about the hotels. There is a certain standard that you expect when you pay the higher price.

Freeze
Cold
Snow
Lake
Birds

Oh, I forgot to add a TL;DR-summary. Thanks for providing one :-)

Edit: no lake here, there is a river and the sea.

Very nice to just drop in on someone and get a glimpse of what it's like to stroll around locally. Same things seem to go on at all latitudes and longitudes. The Big Birds seem to be geese or swans. Hardy characters, aren't they?

Looks like a swan to me, but color like a goose. Though, I believe the geese are a bit smaller.

They do look like swans for sure. And they have to camouflage themselves as well while hiding from predators in the vegetation. But there are geese too, oh and ducks Mallards, common and familiar in NorthAmerica.

Ha! So just like the cold Polar air, the Kanadagås can go south in North America or the Eurasian continent. I wonder if they call them Kanadagås or equivalent in Siberia?

According to wikipedia, those geese are the biggest geese in Europe, hence the bigger bird is definitively not a goose. It also says that although those birds sometimes visit the northern Europe in their migration patterns, most Canada goose observed in Europe is artificially introduced here.

They used to be on the national "red list" of protected species, now it has been moved to the "black list" of unwanted alien species.

I wonder if they call them Kanadagås or equivalent in Siberia?

Apparently - Канадская казарка according to Wikipedia. It seems like they can be found also on the Russian side of the border with Alaska, and hunting for them is illegal in Russia.

I wonder if they call them Kanadagås or equivalent in Siberia?

More interestingly, what are they called in Canada? :-)

Canada Geese. My dad owned a shop when we lived in Alberta, Canada. He didn't hunt but sometimes he would do work for trade and I remember venison, duck, and goose.

Oh, so geese and salads are two very different things then. You wouldn't order a "Greek salad" in Greece, a "Russian salad" in Russia, nor a "French salad" in France :-)

... or Canadian bacon in Canada. The US is crazy about making food ethnic. Egg toast is 'French toast' and pommes frites (fries or fried potatoes) are French fries, scones are English scones, hamburger meatballs to go with pasta are Italian meatballs...

The Americans just can't help themselves. Canada is Canada. We get along with everyone - we can't help it. Canadian geese can be Canadian geese even in Canada if that's what everyone else wants to call them.

Just going by memory there is the Greater Canadian Goose and the Lesser Canadian Goose. The coloring and markings are the same but there is a distinct size difference. They fly in unmistakable V-formations honking loudly as they come in for landings on lakes and in corn fields across the middle of the North American continent.

As I recall they winter all across Northern Mexico, Texas, the Gulf states and Florida Everglades and continue on to the Caribbean islands and South America. By March or so they make their way north once again. And I think they can fly at 50 or 60 mph for even 2 or 3 days at a time without stopping.

And yes, anything can become a pest -- even palm trees are weeds -- as the birds drop them in the middle of the yard or garden.

Interesting birds Look like white swans, only brown.

And why do children go to a Russian school, you come from Russia?

No, but my wife is from Piter.

I was wondering a bit myself on what bird it is ... really looks like a swan, but the color ... maybe it's not fully grown-up yet. I thought it would be embarrassing to write "swan" and then have it corrected by someone, that's why I wrote "bird" :-) The bird to the left at the first pic, we call it Kanadagås (Canadian Goose) in Norwegian.

Thank you for such a detailed description of your life and experiences in Oslo, it was so great to hear your point of view, we have much in common is sounds like, I enjoyed your Opera house commentary.

This photo was so great...like walking on water <3 <3 <3

beautifully winter bridge is going over the railways

Beautiful city... This is a great tourist attraction centre.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24