Walking around Graves Mountain - Searching for exotic stones

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)


Twice a year you can visit Graves Mountain and find some really unique rocks. Anything from blue, to rainbow colored to great quartz specimens. There are reports of Rutile at this location as well but I have never come across it. Though I have seen others stumble upon it so may be possible one day.

I start taking a break after scouting the hill, and then we go through the vendor area.

I spend the day at this location, walking around and catching rides on UTVs that travel the grounds during these events. I also explore Mitch's Pond, which had to be walked to due to its isolated area. I found a few great stones in that area.

The walk was pretty intense, I walked close to 10k steps that day. Luckily I left before it got too hot, but still most of the day was pretty muggy and sunny. I tried to stay in the shade when I could but there were large areas I needed to travel through so my hat helped out with that.

I go into the main pit where the largest amount of digging has been done, and walk up the hill back to the vendor areas. I mostly did photography and video that day, as I have digged here for the last couple years already and really dont anymore specimens from here.

PlatformURL/Username
Steemithttps://steemit.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=solominer
Viulyhttps://viuly.io/r/K10856865b97e58d
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228

masternodeandquratorbanner.png

QmZKqWcCXFv6NC6mUtPUBRsETQgc3nEJC2BC4Bwo38BkZ6.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

#adventure #rocks #minerals #rockhound


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your post has been read and you did great! You received a 10.0% upvote from us for your post with the geology tag since you are not yet a member of the geopolis community.
You are always welcome to join us and get more recognition for your posts. You can find more information about geopolis here or join our Discord server.

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.201 which ranks you at #20839 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 24 places in the last three days (old rank 20815).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #421.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56