You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oslo - Ammerud + Lillomarka - still winter, still no snow

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Thank you for an interesting and exciting photo walk.
And I would not dare to walk on the still weak ice, especially to allow
my son to step on the ice.
It's dangerous. But you know better, you tried it. I'm still scared :- )

Very beautiful nature in Norway. And we do not have snow almost until January.
And if it falls, it immediately melts.

And this song is for you )

Sort:  

I was particularly choosing this point of the lake as I knew it was very shallow here. Falling through would mean wet ice-cold shoes, which would be quite bad, but not dangerous. I would most likely have opted for taxi home (or asked someone for a lift). We would for sure have learned a lesson :-) And, even if my son would have walked a bit too far out and then gone through, I would still be able to save him.

Later I've checked up some few things regarding ice conditions - I found two very useful resources out on the web (both in Norwegian) - the "ice school" and the "Ice Map" - so now I've been reading a lot of useful information on ice conditions, both on the sea and on lakes, as well as how to learn if the ice is safe, special conditions to be aware of, and what kind of security gear one should have when skating on the ice.

Wednesday there was at least one report about safe ice in our neighbourhood, and it would have been a perfect day for skating, but unfortunately it's already getting dark when I'm done at work, so not the best ... and then it started raining.

Thank you for your interesting detailed answer.

I'm just a big coward and very afraid to walk on ice ))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31