You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7th walkwithme ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ–ค

in #walkwithme โ€ข 7 years ago

Being self-employed can be pretty tough these days. I've been self employed for nearly 20 years. The key is to stay creative. Of course that's one thing to say and other thing to do but there are a lot of things that you can do as an independent contractor that can make it work. Hopefully things will materialize when the snow melts!

Sort: ย 

Yeah! Truely. I have ideas!! Some do require it to warm up. Things are coming together. The thought of having to go back to work 9-5 feels like it might equal suicide. Maybe harsh but freedom in my days is really valuable to me, and to you i'd venture to guess?!

What type of work do you do?

Hey Jill, I haven't worked a 9-5 in almost 20 years but do think about it from time to time. There is a different type of stress associated with being self employed that takes some getting use to. That, and you have things happening much faster nowadays both socially and economically that may have previously taken years to happen are now happening in days or weeks.
My business is in real estate and contracting but I do have 20 years of experience in yoga and an academic background in Indian philosophy.

Oh that's cool Read, I started my yoga practice just around 20 years ago! Became a teacher and have been teaching 4 years this December. I have spent 5ish years in new home sales, been a realtor and was the director of my now x husbands cobstruction business 16 years. It's taken a long-time to shift to a comfortable place being self-employed. I had a crazy strong employee mindet when i started.

How are you involved with yoga? It's really cool you have formal Indian philosophy training. I have been blessed to study with well studied teachers, a number of them over the years. I was 'hooked' after my first few practices. And, especially when i started going often and regularily. My inital teacher, i learned recently, studied 7 year in California at the Self-Realization Center. She always talked about California in her training but i didn't know to what extent! LOL. She also studied with Patabhi Jois, and many other notable teachers.

Thank-you for sharing with me! I am trying to get Ginabot going so i can follow ppl more closely. I will checkout your blog too. See what's on your mind in your posts!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Hi Jill, my involvement with yoga at this point is just my personal practice. I don't belong to any organizations anymore or teach. I think that the self-realization center is the Yogananda place, right? I'm not too familiar with Patabhi Jois other than that he is a hatha yogi. I learned hatha yoga when I first started and did it more intensively when I stayed at the sivananda ashram in the bahamas but it's not my principal practice so my knowledge of the teachers in that realm is limited.
That's awesome that you have a business background. Hopefully it can carry over into the other things that you're looking to do. You have to be very nimble in the current business environment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63095.58
ETH 2475.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64