Walk With Me in Denver #8

in #walkwithme7 years ago

IMG_20171018_171028.jpg

I ran out the door with fifteen minutes to make it to the post office before it closed, which is a mile away, and I made it! Woohoo, at least now I know I can still do a fifteen minute mile! LOL. Actually, this is good news, because I had stopped running in my twenties because I kept having exercise induced asthma attacks. Running for the bus left me coughing and wheezing for hours. Lately I have been trying it again, as I wasn't having so much trouble breathing of late, and at first, it seemed: I could run indoors but not out, without having breathing problems. So I thought perhaps it was my gobs of allergies, like I was breathing in pollen and that was the irritant.
IMG_20171018_171952.jpg
IMG_20171018_172001.jpg
I also around that time discovered that carrying heavy weight (which hello, I do all the time because I don't drive) set me off. I had learned years ago that two shoulder backpacks were bad for me, but now crossbody bags will do the same thing. Apparently stretching open my chest with weight as well as pressing on my chest with weight is a problem.
IMG_20171018_181017.jpg
I thought I could still get away with grocery bags over the shoulders if they weren't too heavy. Apparently not! I am coughing and wheezing right now ...after a leisurely pace back with stopping in the grocery and the pet store and carrying home 25 or 30 lbs? I was not wheezing after running with just my small package to mail and my kindle and empty bags for shopping. Only after 25 lbs of cat food and ginger ale and such was introduced.
IMG_20171018_171730.jpg
On the one hand, sigh. That makes life difficult when you don't drive.
On the other hand, yay! That gives me hope I can train and do a live 5k!
But I digress!
IMG_20171018_173434.jpg

The Winner of the Cutest Little Free Library I Have Ever Seen Award goes to:
IMG_20171018_172526.jpg

IMG_20171018_172536.jpg

THEY MADE IT LOOK LIKE THEIR ABBEY.
IMG_20171018_172546.jpg

That made me smile.

IMG_20171018_172953.jpg

IMG_20171018_173004.jpg

Being underneath the canopy of this tree felt amazing. But check it out, its neighbor - both aspens - has only begun to turn yellow and is mostly green, whilst this one was almost all done turning yellow. Their handholding was beautiful:
IMG_20171018_173038.jpg

At the grocery, I shit you not:
IMG_20171018_174453.jpg
(Before you think I'm making fun of you, vegans, I was either lacto-ovo veg or vegan for a solid decade. I just can't really imagine vegan tuna. It was mostly pea protein, and potato and seaweed were in there, too, which would make me crazy allergic to it now, and suspicious that it tastes about as much like "tuna" as "macaroni and cheez" tasted like Kraft dinner. If they had just called them "garlicy creamy sauce noodles" I would have been fine with it, because that's what they tasted like)

IMG_20171018_180426.jpg
A good omen. :)

IMG_20171018_173245.jpg
A survivor!

IMG_20171018_181328.jpg
Upstairs neighbor moved their ginormous decorations from the courtyard to her balcony (thank goodness, strobe lights hurt my head)

IMG_20171018_181301.jpg
Squirrel!

IMG_20171018_181144.jpg
Thank you for coming on a walk (and run) with me! ;)

Sort:  

Ooooh yes, 100% love for that cutest little free library ever!! And I saw that block of wood, yes I did!

So much love for all the yellow you captured in your photos <3 Especially that little flower growing out of the crack of the side walk.

I hope your lungs are feeling better now?

My lungs are feeling good, thank you. :) The big block was actually stone!

What a great walk... and a recovery time from your run to the post office.. I could probably still do a 15 minute mile. But I doubt I could do a mile and a 1/2 ... Now I could walk forever though.
I've seen a lot of the little free libraries but I agree that this is definitely the cutest ..
WTF is vegan tuna. That don't even sound good .. in fact I just vomited in my mouth a bit.. yuck..

I'm trying to work up to a 5k, so hopefully, I'll be doing 3.1 in ~45 minutes or less. Live races usually have timed runners and the slowest one will be running 15 minute miles.

I remember back when I wad in the military I used to be able to run 3 miles in 15 minutes and change... times have changed... Good luck getting to 5K... lemme know when you're goings do it.. I'll come watch and cheer you on

In school my fastest mile was 10.5 minutes. And I lapped the teacher, too! He actually was the one who noticed. "Hey, did you just lap me??" runs faster

That's a pretty slow mile time to be the fastest.. even in cross country in high school I ran 6.5 and wasn't even closest to the fastest

I wasn't the fastest in the class, it was my personal fastest.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Yes, please, and many thanks! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @phoenixwren to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04