Walk With Me Flashback to Spruell Bluff

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Walk With Me Flashback to Spruell Bluff

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Due to extremely unpleasant weather this weekend, I thought I would post a flashback to the summer and my fly fishing and hiking adventure to Spruell Bluff, GA. This amazing park features something for just about everyone. They have picnic areas, extensive hiking trails, fishing, small, cute cabins to rent, and kayaking down the Flint River. I learned of this hidden diamond from several of the gentlemen I work with who live fairly close to the area. They were astonished that I had never hear of it and flabbergasted I hadn't visited. I didn't understand what all the fuss was about until I arrived there and found all this beauty about an hour away from home!

As I arrived, I drove through the ranger station and exchanged pleasantries with the ranger taking the parking fees. I continued through many various twists and turns, passing a huddle of small cabins that I'm sure my wife and I will return to rent in cooler temperatures. The roadway ends in a parking lot along side of the Flint River and I am itching to just ditch everything and jump right in with my fly rod, but I take my time to look around a bit and decided to hit a few of the trails before getting soaked.



View of the Flint River from the parking area.



Although shallow in parts, this river runs much faster than it looks.


I definitely underestimated the difficulty and quality of the trails and my chubby legs almost went on strike just before reaching the top and some amazing lookout perches. On my way up to this beautiful overlook, I passed several spots you could stop and take in mesmerizing views of the river from various elevations.



This is the head of one of the trails and according to a sign, the filming location to a few episodes of The Walking Dead!



I couldn't help but get a selfie in the same spot maybe Norman Reedus actually stood!!!


I saw the usual critters when you go hiking in the south. There were murderous rabbits, thieving squirrels, attack turtles, a few mobsterish deer, and of course vampiric, evil mosquitoes! The hike was definitely worth the views. I only covered a few sections of the many, many miles found in this park, and maybe I'll be able to go back and explore some more in cooler weather.



One of the views from the hilltop observation deck.



I may be smiling in the selfie, but my poor, shaky legs were screaming bloody murder at this point!! lol



Another view from up top.


Well, once I was able to get my legs to stop feeling and acting like Jello, I stumbled back down the hill and decided to eat my lunch next to the river and read a bit. Once finished and refreshed I grabbed my gear and waded out into the river to try to land a few. The river was running much faster than it appeared and it took some effort and a lot of balance to get to a decent casting area. I stayed out there for about and hour and a half and then started the treacherous journey back to shore. As I was fighting the current and slipper rocks, I bashed the end of my big toe and lost my water shoe in the same instant! lol But you know what they say, I bad day anywhere is better than a good day at work and this wasn't such a bad day except for my throbbing toe!!



Making some magical casts before almost decapitating my big piggy.



Still have no idea am almost about to lose a toe! lol

--

Thank you so much for taking the time to #walkwithme on this journey. Special thanks to @lyndsaybowes who has been a great supporter and the genius mind behind the walk with me tag. Please go check out her amazing rugby playing chickens and maybe a few of these other walk with me editions!

85 Walk With Me in Tantallon, Canada by @lyndsaybowes

"No #1" WalkWithMe To The Giza Pyramids by @hatemmkh

Come with me for a walk in Russian forest by @anna-mi

story of my life by @overkil

Snow Season In My Place, How's In Your Place? by @siffahsb


@devcoin/13mtCyZTnMJRJw9nt7xqbiGU7tXrvkeAJB


APP.png

Sort:  

Cool flashback @papacrusher! I like that you always throw in a couple selfies, it's good to see you and really personalizes the blog!

Thank you for the upvote and comment, I'm always happy to see you stop by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99