I CONQUERED.....THE BITCH

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

This was the day. I sat there this morning drinking my coffee looking out at the weather. It did not seem too bad. hmmmm. That got me thinking. Should I do another practice run up that hill.? I am pretty sure she was calling to me over here in my robe. Psssst. Come on, give it a try.
So I grabbed my music and my garmin and of course my shoes and off I went to visit her.

Don't you think that the sign is misspelled? Have we not already said "BITCH HILL"
I took another look at her again.

and again

I am standing there and thinking...do it now and if you succeed then the next challenge is to do it faster.
By now she is really jeering and laughing. I see her smile, but it's a sly smile. The pines along the sides gently glide me along. I am going I say, and all the way to the top.

Who is your master she seems to be asking? I am determined, left, right, left, right . I keep my stride slow and short and remember not to look down. My eyes scan the horizon. I am focused. Ahhh, but I need music. I turn up the IPOD. I have the perfect songs to get me motivated. Good Golly Miss Molly and C'est la Vie, by Chuck Berry as I am headed to the summit.

Just a little more. Forget the glutes, forget the Poas Muscle, Forget the IT Band. Just breathe and Focus.
WOW!!!! I did it!!!! She came and she conquered.

But who really knows that I did it. I check my garmin and look at the time. Yikes. That was slow. Nevermind the time. The point is that I did it. No one is there to witness this. No one is there to congratulate. Does she even know? Yes, I believe she does. There seems to be a new quiet in the air. A new stillness at the crest. The pines are rustling softly. They are swaying gently as if to hug me. So now I descend. I have to be careful the road is icy. If I go to fast I will stumble. If I stumble I could end up rolling down a ravine.

I eye the way down carefully. I keep my stride close and loose. I am grinning from ear to ear and I am sure she is too.
I take a peek ahead to make sure for ice. I see many open patches of road. I think to myself, if I navigate carefully I will make it down in half the time it took to get to the top.

Swoosh and I am down at the bottom in half the time it took me to get to the top. My favorite tune: you guessed it.
Boot Scootin' Boogie.
When I am ready to depart I stop and I take a look around me. I am grateful and I say Thank You Hill. I swear she smiles and nods, gives me a wink and softly says. "I will see you again"

Sort:  

I'm so impressed, as I am with @winstonalden, for this. I have never been a runner. I dabbled for a bit but just didn't get the 'runners high' that @winstonalden seems to enjoy. For me, it's walking: I love a good long ramble, but I'd probably not run unless I saw a sign that read "Free Chickens or Puppies" then I might kick up my heels ;) Well done you and be careful on all the ice!

If you go back a few blogs of mine , the one with the pink shoes. That sums it all up...for me anyways. Walking is nice and rambling is awesome. I have special things for my shoes and I am careful. thank you.

Oh, I saw your post with the crampons for your shoes and thought, I should tell @winstonalden about them but realized he reads you anyway. I admire runners, I'm just no good at it.

No..thats not the one..i think i did it yesterday or the day before it has pink shoes. its called why I love to run.. I have not heard from him in a while..should see whats up

Just about everyone can actually run. It is 90% mental. Read my blog with pink shoes.

Congratulations @marionbowes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congrats on whipping that Beech's ass

Thank you she was tough

Must have been an awkward mis of cold and sweaty run?

Back home in our place, because of a huge man made lake , it is mostly foggy across the year. Whenever I take my cycle out, I'm always feeling cold and sweaty at the same time :/

yes actually that is what happens, it's an odd feeling

The real purpose isn’t to win a race. It’s to test the limits of the human heart.
Unknown Runner

Resteemed by @runningproject

Looks like a great running road! Thanks for sharing!

she is a doozy

Nevermind the time. The point is that I did it.

Absolutely! And Congrats!! xoxo

Thank you Darlink

Yay well done... I was watching. I saw you and was clapping furiously from the side of the hill. One more tick in the big book of life 😎😁

Oh that was you....I was sure I saw a Brit peeking out from the bushes. Waving a flag. It was hard to hear the clapping as my music was turned on loud. :)))) Thanks for cheering.

Well done, I absolutely hate hills!

mee too actually ...lol

Very beautiful scenery in the area there, let alone accompanied by a cup of tea or coffee. Happy climbing the hill, greetings know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58213.71
ETH 2257.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49