Walk With Me In Nova Scotia - Day 2

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

Okay folks I really did it!

I walked again today, now I'm really getting impressed hahahaa. This is the most purposeful exercise that I've gotten in so long I'm even ashamed to admit. Sure I get a bit of a sweat working on the homestead, and kneading bread...but other than that and some other activities, I could be equated to a sloth.

The best part about today was, my 2 youngest boys came with me! I told them last night at dinner about my walk yesterday and they were adamant that they were coming today. We live on a small highway, so that part had me a bit scared to walk with them, (even though a tonne of people are always walking and biking on it) so we decided we would turn down the first side road.

My neighbours and others in the community are always telling us about this hidden beach down that road. We've driven on it before trying to find it. I remembered my next door neighbour telling us it was a pretty unmarked trail at the end of the road. The boys and I set out to find it.

IMG_8272.JPG

The side road known as "The Finer Diner Road"

IMG_8273.JPG

IMG_8275.JPG

Saw some cool boats in the "Finer Diner Chanel" (that's what we call it lol).

Next the road comes to a "Y"...

And I was absolutely certain the way to the secret beach is if you take the road on the right...but if you knew me you'd know I may or may not have the greatest memory... ;)

You guessed it. I took the wrong road. And after walking all the way to the end of it, and looking everywhere for a path through the bushes, I thought, "Hey maybe this is the path down this driveway looking thing, with house numbers...maybe it's just that good of a decoy, and that's why it's a secret..." so the boys and I walked down the driveway until I saw houses and shit like that hahhahahaa!!

This cute older lady was there, and I asked her if she knew where the beach was, she told me it's on the other road bwa hahhahaaaa. At this point we'd already been walking for 45 minutes and the boys were already pooped, well I was a little tired too and my shin muscles hurt, so we decided to head home and try the beach again in a couple days.

We definitely saw some cool stuff, all was not lost.

IMG_8271.JPG

Men at Work.

IMG_8277.JPG

A random tire in a tree.

IMG_8279.JPG

IMG_8278.JPG

IMG_8289.JPG

IMG_8276.JPG

IMG_8288.JPG

On the way back they (okay, WE) were so tired. I had to even piggy back Stryder for a bit, talk about the workout I wanted eh? I'm gonna be in great health if I keep this up!

IMG_8286.JPG

Kiedis (7)

IMG_8282.JPG

Stryder (6)

IMG_8290.JPG

IMG_8291.JPG

IMG_8295.JPG

See the butterflies and bees?

IMG_8296.JPG

And of course the Graveyard, always gotta stop there for a look.

IMG_8298.JPG

IMG_8299.JPG

I'll leave you with this...it's official...

IMG_8297.JPG

"Fake News" is a Meme.

I'd like to go on a walk in your neighbourhood too, so if you get out there for one, take a few pics, and post about your walk using the tag "walkwithme" I'll check the tag regularly to upvote and give encouragement. Let's get fresh air and fitness together!

Sort:  

B-E-A-UTIFUL!! What a landscape!! You're lucky to live by the water. I secretly want to purchase a sail boat, learn to sail, and live off the ocean and see the world until my time is up!!
Those lobster traps reminds me of deadliest catch haha and I've always secretly wanted to be a crabber too haha

Ooh that's so awesome Lukin! I hope all your dreams and wishes come true!!! :) <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 xoxoxxo

Lyndsay !! I love this post so much! You really captured so many beautiful moments - I love the photos of your beautiful children the most! XO

Thank you so much @ApolloSun! :) Love you Sis!! xoxoxo

This is a fantastic post Lyndsay! All of you and now, all of us have had a great adventure by the sea. Thanks for pointing out the gorgeous butterflies! I took a second look. :)

Thank you Rebecca, and I'm so glad you could see the butterflies <3 <3 Yeah and we both got to enjoy a beautiful late summer day <3 Not many of these left eh?

Wonderful. I am so proud of you. And now you added some quality family time to the fold. Exercise, out in nature, and family time all wrapped up into one. I bet it feels amazing.

Those are some amazing pictures. Do you take them with your phone or do you have a separate camera that you use? Very high quality if a phone.

By the way, I will keep the coupons for McDs on hand...just in case.

Aww, thanks for coming on another journey with me, yes, I have a cannon t2i :) My best friend for the last 6 years! I'd be lost without it. And funny enough I still don't have a phone, I'm so afraid of becoming addicted to it, that I refuse to get one :) :) :)

Give me another couple weeks, and we can burn those coupons!!

Well done on another good walk. I bet it feels so good to get it done.
It's a shame you couldn't find the beach - but better luck next time.

Thank you for coming along again CoffeeHub! Yes, we decided we'll do the beach this weekend, with Dad and big brother Eddie :) Picnic Style hahaha, and help piggybacking LOL!!

A picnic on the beach at the weekend is definitely something to look forward to.

This photo is so great , but I wish there was not those boxes , then it will look amazing , but your work was great.

DQmVbbMbaaZuSUGuLfZPksqAcjADNBfiYvAf1vD9SrTfRDs_1680x8400.jpg

that lonely boat with Marijuana flag in the middle of lake looks cool , why they left it there :))

all beautiful photos , great focus on your child , pro.

Thanks Davood. Those are Lobster Traps, and very much I wanted them in the photo. That is one of the biggest, most unique things about my area, all the Lobster fishermen, they work so hard!

thanks for information about it , LOL , I didn't knew about that , that's great , you can also take a pic of those fishermen in next time if you like

I certainly will if I see them working! Here's a pic I took back in April:

Awesome scenery! Sometimes the best adventures are the ones we have in (and around) our back-yard.

Carrying the kids around sounds like a good workout. Maybe you should get a metal pole and have one hang from each end, then you can bench-press them!

Oooh that's funny, near almost spit out my morning coffee picturing that! AHHAHAHAHAAA!!

You're doing good and influencing your sons for exercise too.

10K steps average per day is my goal.

Wow, and about how many miles/kms is that?

Around 5 miles

Nice , thanks for share

Greet shots............/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51