Walk With Me - Big Changes Coming!

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

I need to walk down to the property below to get my truck. My son and his wife are camped down there, they used the truck to haul most of their belongings up so they could get the apartment empty and clean before the end of the month. They get the keys to the new house tomorrow!!! But for today, I need my truck and it is down below. It is a short walk, sort of steep but we are just going downhill lol!

First stop, let the chickens out. Baby Chicken Bird has grown into a fairly good looking roo!




I need the truck to go get milk, so I am packing my empty jugs down with me, along with a little water and my purse so I can just leave from down there. I love this little cooler, I use it almost every day. A most excellent gift from my mother in law!
20180327_113019.jpg


The snowdrops are still in bloom, and spreading all down the side of the hill.
20180327_113358.jpg


Looking down at the lower property from here you can get some sense of how steep this south face really is.
20180327_113433.jpg


Theses babies are popping up everywhere! I am not sure what they are, anybody have a guess? The flowers are purple, look sort of like an onion family blossom but there is no onion smell to the plant. BurgdorfPat calls them "Woolly Britches" but google refuses to confirm that identity...
20180327_113529.jpg


Now THIS little gem I know! I spent months learning to identify this plant and hunting it down. Once I finally knew what I was looking for, there it was ALL OVER MY PROPERTY lol! Lomatium is its name, or "desert parsley." There is a very distinctive smell to my desert, and this plant is a major player in the aromatherapy mix, along with yarrow, pine and sage.
20180327_113547.jpg


Coming around the corner where the old house is. This was actually a home and not really THAT long ago, less than 50 years. There is actually a pretty good roof on it still, a good chimney...
20180327_113643.jpg


Some nice cupboard fronts would really spruce the kitchen up, don't you think?
20180327_113657.jpg


That wallpaper might need updating, although it has a certain shabby chic" feel to it!
20180327_113712.jpg


See this room? It still has a FLOOR!
20180327_113726.jpg


Isn't it cute? All it needs it just a little TLC.. It is a FIXER, you can add your personal touches to it! Sorry, it seems I've spent too much time with real estate agents lately... lol! Off the edge the other direction are the remains of another old building, perhaps a garage or barn to the old house, maybe another house. This was actually a subdivision in its day! Now the old foundation makes a good target practice place.
20180327_113800.jpg


This tangle of old plum trees is where our bear likes to hang out. She has not showed up this year, I hope she is all right!
20180327_113823.jpg


We are there! See where the truck was stuck this morning? See the kids' furniture tastefully decorating the yard? It simply has to get worse before it gets better. Their stuff will be gone tomorrow, then WE start moving stuff down.
20180327_113940.jpg
OK, we are back from the milk run, lets do a quick check out the back door, see what is going on out there too. The wind is blowing so I apologize for the blur, but I wanted to get some close ups so if there are any fruit tree experts reading this, maybe they can tell me what they think. I think these are fried, although the cherry tree looks like it MIGHT be OK. What do you all think?

20180327_132156.jpg

20180327_132021.jpg

20180327_132230.jpg


Yeah, the pears (top and bottom) look like they are toast to me. But the calves are fat and happy, one is having a little snack right now!
20180327_132054 (2).jpg


Still pretty chilly and winter's gloom lingers on, but spring is absolutely starting to appear!
20180327_132509.jpg
All photos taken today with my cell phone. I can't believe how well that crocus one came out!


With spring comes pasture change, and when we move the cows down we are going too. Hopefully they will be less inclined to break out and wander up the hill if they have people closer. Bessie and I have a rather twisted relationship. I think she's my dog and she thinks I'm her alpha cow. Hey, don't judge... we love each other and that is all that matters!

THANKS FOR HANGING OUT WITH ME FOR A WHILE!
Namaste!

thealliance_enginewitty_youarehope.png

fishyculture_red.png
steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Omg that shot of the crocuses just blew my mind!!!! Thank you so much for taking us on this tour of your magnificent homestead <3 Much Love @fishyculture!

Thanks for starting this tag, and everything else you do awesome lady!

That is a long walk!! I love how you describe the smell of your place with the desert parsley, yarrow, pine and sage. You should dry some of those herbs and auction it off as the aroma of your area!

It might stir some nostalgia with some people. We often associate memories wih certain smells.

I also enjoyed your description of Bessie and how you think she is your dog and you are her alpha cow!

I remember we had a turkey that felt like that and followed us all around until she was made into dinner :(

That is a great idea about the herbs, they would make a lovely smudge or potpourri. Thanks for stopping by, and tip! for that great tip lol!

ohhh thanks for the tip for the grreat tip hahahha

Hi @maverickinvictus! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @fishyculture!

Protip: you can withdraw your @tipu deposit at any moment without any fees.

Hey, I like that herb blend idea!

Really nice walk, thank you for taking us with you ♡ the crocus really did turn out great, I cannot wait until I get to see some spring blossoms here! Until then I rely on people like you ♡

Went to the valley yesterday, EVERYTHING is busted out! I confess, flower envy bloomed in my heart lol!

Such pretty land. Just beautiful. Thank you for the photos @fishyculture :)
Think that deserves a full powered Vote :)

Thank you kindly! It is just getting going, spring is GORGEOUS around here!

So that's how your property looks like after the snow season, it's so pretty. I admired all those plants the sprung up after the snow. The last picture has an attractive color. And that old house, it must be a hunt for those who are looking for fixer uppers just like what I watched on t.v. ;) Those chickens are so cute, how I wish I also have them. ;)

Thanks for stopping by! This place really is amazing, and this is my favorite time of year here!

so good! I enjoy your posts.

Thank you for your support! I must say you are doing a great job here, I watch your rep just keep growing, I see how engaged you are - you are a kick-ass steemian my friend~

thank you so much!

Nice photos, particularly that second-to-last one. The cows seem to be enjoying it, too! I love the plastic wrapped digger, too. That's something I've not seen before.

Thanks for stopping by! I am not sure what you mean by a "plastic wrapped digger" - the dome maybe? We built that out of spray crete and never got the final coat on, the waterproofing, so we wrap it every winter. It is on the list to finish this summer, but then it has been on that list for a couple years now... lol!

Haha, it looked like a piece of construction equipment wrapped up in plastic wrap to me... Spray crete, eh? Interesting. I have seen some interesting information about aircrete domes, lately. Interesting material.

WHAT a great tour!
So sad about the house. I love old houses like that.

LOOK at all the signs of spring popping up!

Yeah, spring has been doing a month long tease, time to see the show, c'mon!
Thanks for stopping by!

Actually that particular plant is a bishop lace plant or queens lace plant. The wooly britches don't have the same leaf pattern. The bishop lace plant should be handled with care. When I pull it up, i wear gloves because it excretes a nasty resin that can cause skin irritation. The flowers are beautiful, and I would consider it knoxious. Don't know who planted it here, but you can't get rid of it. LOL There was an old woman that lived here, on this homestead until she was in her late 90's. That little cabin was her "winter home". It even has a plug in for a 220 electric stove. It would be a great little guest cabin someday. So nice to have warmer weather to get out and about in. Glad all is going well with the Kids' move to the new place.

When you get that cabin together make sure it fits 5!! We’re a cozy brunch and can sleep snug. Lol 😬😬

A lot of day dreaming has occured over that little cabin. It's pretty solid for as old as it is. No porta potty available down there. Could be fun to have a little B&B someday.

Colloquial names can vary so much by region... this is what I call "Bishop's Lace" (both images from google, labelled for re-use)

and this is what I call Queens Anne's Lace:

Those aren't the same thing as in the picture either!

Did you get the picture I emailed you? Try Bishops weed instead of Bishops lace. :)

Yep, that is the same plant as in my picture, is just yours is the flower and mine is the leaf - and that is not the same one in the yard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65