Take a short walk with me on the beach and in the fog before the rain.

in #walkwithme7 years ago

I wanted to do a #walkwithme today. I donned my wellies and headed down to the shore.

jan23walk2.jpg

The morning started out promising enough, with a lovely haze across the sea and warmer temperatures. The kayak finally free of snow and ice.

jan23walk1.jpg

The bay is finally free of floating ice and snow, but the beach is still littered with the piles of ice, which is melting happily.

jan23walk3.jpg

The little icebergs are making amazing shapes. Some have the feel of modern sculpture.

jan23walk4.jpg

I checked on our little 'conch tree'. An old piece of drift wood I keep by a path up from the beach. We let treasures dry out here in the Summer before they move into the window sills and shelves of Toad Hall. The tree idea I got on our walks on a larger beach in our area. A giant bare tree sits on the edge where the salt marshes and shore meet and passersby put conch shells on it, so it looks as if they are growing here. Or like a Summer time decorated Christmas tree. Ours is a very tiny version.

jan23walk5.jpg

As I walked along our roads, the fog began to get heavier...

jan23walk7.jpg

...and heavier

jan23walk6.jpg

And then the rain came. So I dashed home. That was hours ago and now I am sat in my studio with a winter time Thunderstorm rattling the windows of Toad Hall. My hot tea, Monty and Puss by my side watching buckets of rain on the windows.

jan23walk8.jpg

Well it wasn't a long #walkwithme, but at least I got out before the rains. Now I'll just have to sketch and dream the day away, not a bad way to spend the rest of my day.

Here is to your day, may it be wet or dry, hot or cold, let's hope there is some time for dreaming and drinking your beverage of choice and relaxing it away.

Sort:  

YAY for wellies!! HAHAHA A wellie selfie at that! Or is it welly?

I loved your captures of the rolling fog...and I'm sure glad that ice is melting, good riddance.

It's wellies. By jove I think she's got it! ;)

I was so happy, as this day it rained and we had the most amazing thunderstorm for hours. The beach yesterday when I took these were still littered with all these 'ice bergs' and at about 5 the sun came out before setting and all of the ice was off the beach! It was like Spring! Joy!

Wait. can we call that a...

"WELLFIE??"


Thoughts @donnadavisart?? ;)

Yes, and question: what's the proper term for a single boot? Wellie or Welly?

I asked @teamhumble, one is in fact a Wellie. ;) I would have guessed the singular to be a Well. 😂

Ooh love those ice "sculptures"- I see a lot of faces in them- faces that are begging for googly eyes- but then again, everything to me can be improved with googly eyes ;)-

Great WWM friend! <3

Yeap... I must confirm this is a universal truth!

I LOVE amy Sedaris and she has made me all the more covetous of googlie eyes, I meant what DON'T they make better ?

absolutely nothing!

This walk must have pleased your mind so much. The effect of the beauty of nature was reflected in your writing. Keep writing. Upvoted, would appreciate your support in return. :)

What a beautiful walk you had. Great pics.

Looks like an amazing walk, nice photos! Even if the weather was bad the photos looks great:-)

Well, really to me the weather was good, as after we had our two week freeze, then snow, I have been SO excited to have rain and warmer temps, I'm pretty happy :)

Warmer weather is something I love. I can see the beauty in rainy days as well:) Cold days are beautiful but, well they are COLD...

Hello @donnadavisart. Wonderful #walkwithme. I like this format very much and will try it myself once. Such a strong winter mood here in your post. Mixed with happiness of bing outside.

Beautiful. I love that misty foggy stuff and your pictures look like mine. Water, rocks, trees, ..is that an ocean?

Yes, I always tell @lyndsaybowes that it looks similar. It's the Atlantic, like you :)

awesome then, I can send down a message in a bottle

Yes, I told @lyndsaybowes that sometimes her pictures make me think I could just poke my head outside and see her out there somewhere, but it is a long way. And you are on the RIGHT side of our nations border :) I wish we could join you.

hee she is closer to you by 6 kilometers. yes jump on a boat and come on up. north on the Atlantic and take a sharp left into St. Margarets Bay.

Nice walk.. except for the rain cutting it short

The good bit was the rain and surprising Winter thunderstorm made it a good day to stay in and dream and work.

I'm a constant day dreamer.. in any kind of weather lol

It is such an important skill, I think.

So beautiful :)

Thank you we are lucky in our scenery.

The fog was just glorious! And the heavy rain began the minute I walked in the door from my drive home from work...timing is everything! Great pictures. I'll have to do one of these some day.

Yes, the #walkwithme is a great tag. I loved that we had an actual thunderstorm with flashing lightning and everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46