Walk With Me No. 1 - The Walk to Work in Downtown Port Townsend, Washington

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I'm a fan of @lyndsaybowes' wonderful #WalkWithMe photo journeys, which seem to have taken off and become quite a "thing" here on Steemit.

I enjoy them because they give us insight into the many places and lives represented by this truly global community of ours!

My Morning Walk to Work

Today being a nice morning, I wanted to share my fairly short walk to work. My wife and I have a small independent art gallery in downtown Port Townsend, Washington.

Because downtown parking is in short supply, and this is a tourist town, it's more or less an unspoken rule that downtown merchants park away from downtown and walk in, leaving the parking spaces for visitors.

So here we go:

PostOffice
I park on top of the hill on Washington Street, next to our main post office. It's a rather "grand" edifice from 1903, and has always struck me as a particularly fine example of what a government building SHOULD look like: Gray and "solid."

Gull
This morning, a seagull was keeping lookout from the top of the flagpole. Seagulls are a fact of life around here...

Olympics
We're surrounded by mountains and water. Looking down Washington street, past the post office, AWAY from downtown-- those are the snow covered Olympics in the distance.

Olympics
Turn about 60 degrees to the left, and you can see more of the Olympics, this time with Port Townsend Bay in the foreground.

House
There are lots of beautifully restored Victorian-era homes on top of the hill; this is one of the swanker parts of town. Many of the houses in the central core area were built between 1850-1910.

House
Another fine old home-- this one is now a Bed-and-breakfast. That's the post office creeping into the picture at left.

House
And another; these houses all sit on a bluff overlooking downtown, the Admiralty Inlet, Port Townsend Bay and the Cascades beyond-- it's definitely a "100-mile view." On a clear day, we can see all the way to the Garibaldis, beyond Vancouver, BC.

FerryTerminal
Continuing the view around towards the water; that's our ferry terminal (ferry to Whidbey Island). The crane in the distance at at the Indian Island Naval Magazine.

Ferry
And turning a little further left, there goes the ferry to Whidbey Island. We have a lot of ferries (or "floating highways") around here. You can start to see some of the Cascade range in the distance.

Ferry
A little further left, and you can start to see the buildings downtown...

Downtown
Pan back a bit further, and you get a sense of the panoramic view the houses on top of the hill have...

Cascades
The higher Cascade peaks have snow well into the summer; some years the snows never melt fully.

Pier
The Taylor Street dock is one of the larger downtown piers; smaller cruise ships call here once a week during the late spring, summer and fall.

Washington
Meanwhile, I continue to walk down the Washington Street hill towards downtown. Now the land you see in the distance is Whidbey Island. There is another body of water between Whidbey and the Cascade Mountains in the distance. As I said, we take ferries everywhere.

Shops
Shops on Washington Street

Pretty much all of Port Townsend is a historical district, which means most of the buildings have been preserved pretty close to the way they were during the city's "great years," during the second half of the 1800's.

We know a lot about this, first hand, as you practically need a permit to put a nail in the wall!

However, the downtown core is pretty much without modern buildings and that's part of what makes the city attractive to visitors. Shopping is also a unique experience: It doesn't take people long to notice the complete absence of chain stores; everything is locally owned an operated. Our solitary McDonald's, the Safeway grocery and such are well away from the historical areas.

Tyler
When I get close to the bottom of the hill, I cut to the right and go down four flights of stairs against the hillside, leading down to Tyler Street, behind our building. It's a bit messy at the moment, due to a major infrastructure update to get wiring, plumbing and sewage into the 21st century.

ParkingLot
At the bottom of the hill, I turn left, and that's the public parking lot behind our building. Our gallery/shop is in the bottom level of the taller red building, back right.

Alley
Alley

And so, we come to the end of the daily walk to work. This is a glimpse into our little alley behind the building; I get in through one of the arched doorways under the stairs. You can tell these were put in a long time ago, when people were a lot shorter than my 6'4"!

The Mount Baker Block Building dates to 1889, and based on old photos does not look materially different today from how it looked back then. Part of what makes it unique is that it is home to "Undertown," which is actually a below-grade shopping arcade where our gallery is located.

And yes, it's a little harder to walk back UP the hill to the car, at the end of a long day!

I hope you enjoyed this, my first attempt at a "walk with me" post! I might do some more if this turns out to be well-received. Many thanks to Lyndsay for coming up with the idea and getting it rolling!

Thanks for reading! As always, comments are invited and welcome!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180217 23:38 PST

Sort:  

Oh my God that was gorgeous!!! And very thorough, wow, super impressive walk to work, Every photo was a work of art. I bet you could take us to work with you day after day and constantly show us something new.

I really loved this one because the mountain peaks look like they are floating in the sky...

Hi Lindsay, thanks for stopping by... and thanks for being the inspiration!

It is an ever-changing vista, and I have never had any objection to walking that last 10 minutes or so to get to work. I feel very blessed that I get to do what I do; we work for ourselves and we get to help artists and creatives get their work out in front of a larger audience... win-win all around!

What a fantastic walk to work. It brought back many happy memories since I visited and stayed in Port Townsend a number of times when I lived in Seattle.

Nice to see the Cascades where I learnt to ski and the Olympics where I went on many a lovely hike!

Very nice walk down memory lane. Thanks!

Small world! I didn't realize you'd spent time here; it is a rather lovely spot that "time forgot" in many ways. Very grateful to be here, and grateful that we were able to put down roots before the property prices would have made that a completely impossible dream.

Wow, what a beautiful place @denmarkguy. And those mountains, spectacular.

I lived out in Palm Springs for awhile and had beautiful mountains right from my porch. But these are a lot different and the snow on them is really something else. Kind of Mt. Everest'ee looking peaks.

Thanks for this walk through to your work. Really neat. And a panoramic place to call home. Lucky you ;)

Thanks!

The desert has its own appeal, too. My mother-in-law lives in Joshua Tree, so we've spent quite a bit of time in and around Palm Springs; the summer heat gets to be a bit much there.

Yep, I remember 121 degrees one day. Dry heat but still hot!

Nice mountains in the sky, like Olympus. I'm moving to your town! :P lol

Thanks-- it's pretty much a quaint tourist trap. We have about 10,000 people here-- on certain weekends in the summertime that grows to almost 50,000.

Nice to "see" you, after all this time!

Beautiful photo journey. Washington is an awesome place to be. I would like to be there someday. Please you din't tell us the your camera type. I like the image quality.

Thanks! Yes, I like Washington state very much-- I have lived here for 12 years now.

My camera is a Fuji FinePix HS20EXR.

Amazing. I can bet the camera costs a fortune. Kindly tag me anytime you whenever you post any other picture. I dont want to miss your super camera fire.

I enjoyed this #walkwithme. Thanks for sharing. Beautful shots!

Thanks! I've seen a lot of people do these photomontages, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

I'm thinking about doing a run with me tag actually because I do snap shots on my runs sometimes :)

What a beautiful walk with you, the views were great especially the washington street that showed the whidbey island, it was a lovely site.
Thanks for sharing your walk with us

Thank you-- glad you enjoyed it!

I just want to thank you for your presentation of amazing photography. For a time being u will be a famous photographer.

Thank you! I doubt I shall be famous, but at least I am enjoying myself.

walkwith me..that's great sensation...

amazing photography...

love it..

downtown Port Townsend, Washington its really very nice place of travel.all place very nice.your walk time want very good this nice place.you really enjoyed your walk time of work.this is a turist town of trip.thank you very much for your good post sharing of work walk time sir. @denmarkguy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33