#WalkWithMe - Spring Black Rock and Autumn Musala peak

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Above the place where the water of Maritsa River starts its long journey from the Rila mountains' recesses to The Aegean Sea, close to the ski resort Borovets, there is a big rock with fearsome panorama and dark history. It is considered as a natural monument since 1974 and it is popular place to visit for the tourists, but avoided by the locals. The top of the rock is 135m above the valley of the river and there are some evidences that it was used as a place for killing innocent people from the villages around (throwing them in the abyss), which were "inconvenient" to the communist government around 75 years ago.

FSCN3002.JPG

FSCN2988.JPG
The local people believe that the place has really bad energy, that you can never hear even one bird chirping around the rock and that the silence there is deafening. It is near a road that leads high in the mountain to Maritsa Hut, which is the start point for a trek to the highest peak in Bulgaria - Musala(2925m) and other high peaks. But because the hut is around 15 km away from Borovets which is too much for going on foot if you also want to go to some peaks, it is rare to see other people on these trails. It is possible to go with a car to the hut, but not with any car, because it is a forest road and the last time it took me around an hour and I felt that I was too unfair to my car to make it do that :D.

It is not so bad here, but as you get higher, it's a lot worse.

I have an old post about a trek to three peaks from there, and today I will share with you some photos from a recent walk to the Black Rock, combined with few other from a trek to Musala several months ago (in October).

FSCN3001.JPG

It was one of these beautiful misty and fragrant spring days, that I love so much, and I chose this place for a quick walk, because the weather forecast predicted rain, which for my disappointment didn't happen.

FSCN2959.JPG

The cross is in memory of the innocent victims of the communist regimen. There was also a memory board before, describing the story, but now it's missing.

FSCN2974.JPG

FSCN2978.JPG

2.JPG

FSCN3003.JPG

Maybe it's because its because I know its story, but there is really something ominous about this place.

FSCN2987.JPG

As you continue on the road towards the hut, you can see the place from other perspectives. I like it more from here and usually if I go to some treks from Maritsa Hut, I don't even go to the rock. And that's not usual for me - I never miss the opportunity to enjoy a nice high view point - so probably the local people are right - bad energy.

FSCN3006.JPG

FSCN3008.JPG

And several months ago(19th October) while I was driving back from the hut after going to Musala peak, I saw it like this.

Photo 19.10.17, 18 44 31.jpg

I was coming back from here.

Photo 19.10.17, 15 29 08.jpg

Photo 19.10.17, 15 29 29 (1).jpg

Photo 19.10.17, 15 29 37 (1).jpg

Back then after the trek I sent these photos to my sister and she told me that I should definitely post them on Steemit. Although I already had an account, I still hadn't started posting, but here they are 6 months later :) I can't go there now, because reaching the hut is still not possible at the moment and I already miss this amazing place in our gorgeous Rila.

Thank you for checking out my blog!

Sort:  

Nice, as always. My favorite images is the last one due to the contrast between the mountain and sky (immovable object versus ever-changing sky) and the one looking up to the peak through the trees in the foreground. Thanks for sharing D! I really have to get myself over here one day. Looks awesome.

Thank you for your comment and for sharing about your favorites, Galen :) The place is awesome, these mountains worth visiting them. I always wonder how it's even possible to never meet people there (not that I would complain about it). It's always so nice to read your comments and I really appreciate your support :)

You’re welcome. I like your content, it’s real interesting and doesn’t follow the pack like many others. :)

So many images of beauty and historic tragedy in a single post! I think if the place is visited and photographed and its images are shared often enough by people of goodwill, its energy will change for the better. I don't like the stealing of the memory board, however. It suggests that allies of the perpetrators visit also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29