A Trip To Quarry Park

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

So my wife wanted to surprise me today with a mini-adventure by going somewhere new. She wouldn't give me much information on where we were going but did tell me to wear my walking shoes and to make sure I took my gun. Now she knows that I carry my gun everywhere we go anyway, so for her to make this statement really got my wheels turning. The only thing she would say was that the place we were going was in a bad part of the city.... Alrighty then lol!

When we arrived at the park, I understood why she was concerned. This park (Quarry Park) is a new park that has been recently renovated and received a 30 million dollar bond for future improvements. It recently received it's first 5 million dollar upgrade but the problem is that the location is not the best in the world. It's directly beside of a park that is known for gang violence and shootings. When we arrived at the troublesome park, I immediately recognized the name and said "This is where they had the gang shootings at, dear." We looked extremely out of place which I thought was funny, although she did not because we were actually lost and trying to find the other park. Just as someone was ready to head back home (cough, cough), the Bandito approached a gentlemen on the basketball court and asked for directions for this new park. The gentlemen was nice enough to guide us in the right direction and all was good.

This is the rock with the sign attached to the front, it's a chunky stone ehh?

For some odd reason, people were drawn to running up and down this hill. I don't know if they were trying to take a shortcut or what but it wasn't the smartest thing to be doing. We witnessed a woman bust her ass big time while she was running down the hill! I would have given anything to have captured that on video! I even blurted out something rather loud that I didn't mean to.

We observed a UFO at the park

Then we saw two guys controlling it.

The park is pet friendly, although I think someone hit this dog one too many time with an ugly stick or sunkin lol.. just kiddin, calm down!

These are unique benches to sit on...

Here's a view of the quarry and the skyline in the background.

A close up of the city

This looks like a good home for a critter or two

This is the gigantic pier that goes over the quarry.

Look at the beautiful rock

Here I'm having deep thoughts.... Or maybe none at all

The colors and patterns in these rocks just floor me!

It doesn't show in the pictures but there were bunches of shiny sparkles in these rocks, I'm assuming flakes of quartz, pyrite or something.

I thought this was really cool how they done the wall around the restrooms.

We didn't walk up there to see what those things were, my feet started hurting so we had to cut the trip short.

Entrance on to the pier.

Wouldn't want to drop your keys or maybe even your phone on the floor because it might be gone bye-bye

I learned something new today. Instead of couples writing their names on walls and such, they have started writing something on a padlock and locking it on places like this.

Here's an example of one in Paris.

This was definitely a cool place to visit and we would like to go back again with our bikes because they have some nice bike trails there also. I appreciate you guys tagging along, I hope ya'll have a great day and weekend!

Sort:  

Hahaha! You aren't kidding! What the hell happened to that dog?
Looks like a fantastic park. The striation in the granite is gorgeous!

Our state is also famous for our granite. There's a granite quarry not far from me that I should do a blog about.

This is very cool @bluelightbandit! If you do a piece on the granite quarry there is a #geology tag you can use. :)

I did not know that, thank you!

I will always have your back Sunshine. ;)

That dog looks remarkably like how I feel lol. That or it stayed out pretty late last night chasing pussy cats ;)

It was a fun day trip :)

Thanks for the surprise, I really enjoyed it!

Very beautiful pics my friend hope I can visit one day

Now that wore me out just looking. That is a lot of moving around I have to think. The photos as you say are amazing.
The risks of going there didn't seem to be too bad according to your photos.
Not many people around.
Thank you.

Francis

I didn't get any photos of the park with the bad reputation attached to it. You actually have to drive through the sketchy area to get to this quarry, that's what many people were complaining about when they spent so much money on it.

I honestly started to take some quick snaps of the sketchy park but @carolina-girl became a little frightened and encouraged me to stop and move out of the area lol.

What a nice surprise to go to the park. I certainly enjoyed it. Love the scary part where you could drop your keys into the abyss, the inquest bathroom walls. Good way to use the quarry findings and your photos of the sides of the quarry that have so many interesting designs. Thanks for the share. Your friend.🐓🐓

I'm not afraid of heights but I do get nervous about dropping my personal items through stuff like that.

There is something about standing on a grate that makes me nervous. Lol🐓🐓

Good trip @bluelightbandit! I think I spit out a bit of my drink on that dog comment hahaha! Great photos man.

LOL Ya gotta admit, the damn thing was a lil fugly lol!

I wasn't gonna say Fugly on your comment thread, but since you said it first, lol, yeah. That poor guy hit every branch when he fell out da ugly tree. HaHa

I love old quarries. There is one a couple of hours from me that is used for scuba. I especially love the rough stone walls around the bathrooms, very unique architecture.

Yes, I thought the walls were very unique. It will be interesting to see what renovations they do to the park in the future.

Looks like an awesome place! I love all the pictures, nice job. And that lock thing I thought was really cool, especially the picture of the one in Paris, that's a lot of locks, lol

Yeah, I had never heard of the lock thing until yesterday. Pretty cool idea someone had!

Lovely photography, great time enjoyed

the scenery is amazingly beautiful and I love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56