Walk Wednesday, Vancouver's English Bay @tattoodjay and Beach Wednesday @lizanomadsoul

in #walkwednesday6 years ago (edited)

A Walk Wednesday, Vancouver's English Bay

The weather is warming up and that means more time down by the beach. My beach is Vancouver's English Bay Beach. So let's begin our walk at the inukshuk.

IMG_5615.jpg

From here, you can trod out on some sand. They have been grooming the beach, getting it ready for the high season. Some accidental art was made if you ask me. The tall bush growing behind is a wild rose bush that produces some plump and tasty rose hips. Tastes a lot like a tomatoes but sweeter. There used to be more plants but the city dug them up last year to give people a better view of fireworks. I was not a happy camper over this choice. The roses give enjoyment for months and the fireworks for a few days, but the promoters had deep pockets and the local residents were not consulted

IMG_5616.jpg

A couple yards down the sand and some more accidental art, this time courtesy of the ocean. My son and I often comb the beach at low tide. We usually pick up some trash and but now and then we find some treasures too. My son finds more treasure than I do of course. I might be a tad pickier in my treasure taste:)

IMG_5622.jpg

Here is a view of the view that a bunch of lucky ducks have of English Bay. Could you imagine waking up every morning and getting to look out over the beach. if you look to the left of the photo, you'll see a building with a tree growing on its roof. This building is the center of many urban legends. Tour guides claim any number famous people reside in said building: Peter Gabriel, Bryan Adams and even Jean Claude Van Damme:)

IMG_5623.jpg

Finally we have A-Mazing Laughter. These statues are getting world famous as we speak. If you take a peak behind, you can get a feel for how fast Vancouver's skyline changes. Always we are scaffolding and craning:)

IMG_5625.jpg

I imagine after that long walk, you are tired. You've reached Denman Street and if you can't find a restaurant here that doesn't interest your taste buds, you probably don't like food.

IMG_5629.jpg

All Photos and Words are Mine.

Sort:  

Thanks for joining in Wednesday Walk
I to would not be happy about them removing the vegetation on the beach just fir fireworks views

What a beautiful area

😎👍😎

Thank you, Jay:)

Beautiful area. It is a shame they cut down the plant material just for a better view of fireworks though.

What tree is that in your last photo, with the red blossoms?

Looks like a beautiful area!

It was a shame ... i went out there and almost cried. I am ashamed to admit I do not know what tree that is ... it is beautiful. Maybe one of local botanist can help? @haphazard-hstead or @dswigle. Help!!!!

It looks like a Pink-flowering Hawthorn to me, @prydefoltz and @negativer. I have a little more about it in this post: Pink Flowering Trees. I eat the tender young leaves and the flowers, lol. They are a beautiful tree of the springtime! I'm glad you got to enjoy that one -- and all the other great sights along the beach.

Aha, now, I see why you say we're on the same wavelength :D

Just lovely, Pryde, thanks, for the virtual tour. I did not know A-Mazing Laughter statues were in Vancouver & just used images, very recently, in a Steemit post on The Importance of Play :P

Thank you, Yahia:) Yes ... I saw that post. It made me smile:) Those statues have become everyone's big brothers:)

What a wonderful walk! And a beach, also! So many things for you to appreciate! I felt I was there with you! Thanks for sharing, Pryde!

Thank you, Isabel:) Vancouver is a wonderful place indeed:)

Terrific little travelogue

What a wonderful walk! I really like that 3rd shot of the shore...the lines and layers of color in the tide and sand. The more I see your posts about Vancouver, the more I want to find my way there. Thanks for sharing!!!

Thank you, Samantha. That is my favourite one too:)

wow, thanks for the photos and the description. I like these posts of yours and get to see a lot of places thanks to you

Thank you, Sayee:)

Nice beach @prydefoltz! Lol, "accidental art, this time courtesy of the ocean" That's the best kind! When we lived on the beach, I collected so much sea glass that I intended to decorate a mirror frame or something with it. Haven't gotten around to that project yet. But one day... :)

Thank you, Denise:) I think that is a wonderful idea. Maybe one lazy Sunday afternoon:)

I enjoy your local tours. Vancouver is a beautiful city.

Thank you, yrretel:)

I love Vancouver! Thanks for taking us for a walk, I know exactly where this is, great shots!

Thanks, Keith. It was a lovely day and the light was obliging:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78