Chased by a herd of cows

in #walking5 years ago (edited)


As a regular hillwalker, I often walk past cows. I've never been bothered by them – until a terrifying incident last week.

I usually have an inbuilt wariness around cows, but as I've walked past so many of them since I was a small child, and have almost always found them to be docile, sometimes curious, that I rarely feel afraid of them.

I lived in a rented cottage on a farm for four years, and there were often cows, and sometimes a bull in the field outside. They were very docile, and never bothered me.

A couple of times I have felt more wary than normal – for example, while walking up Conic Hill near Loch Lomond, alone, a few months ago, I passed a herd of Friesians, and one of them kept staring at me distrustfully. As a result, I walked off-path, keeping as far away from them as I could. When I walked back down the hill, they had moved out of the way.


Highland cattle near Conic Hill (the Friesian herd is higher up the hill). They always seem very docile.

Terrifying encounter


In Yorkshire last week, I had a really terrifying encounter. We were visiting Huddersfield for the funerals of two elderly relatives who had sadly died within a few days of each other. We – my mother, sister and I – were staying at the Old Golf House Hotel in Outlane.

My sister had just returned from a holiday in California, and she was a bit jetlagged. We decided to go for a walk. I have a subscription to OS Maps online, so I drew up a 4km route on public access tracks that took in a hilltop viewpoint. We were starting out from quite a high altitude, so it wouldn't be much of a climb.

Mum decided to join us, but after 1km she started to feel tired, so my sister said she'd walk back with her, and they'd meet me in a local pub for a late lunch.

At this point, we were still walking alongside the main road. Once I left the main road and got onto open land, I found the "public footpath" extremely overgrown.


The aptly-named Wilderness Farm. It looked deserted – maybe of interest to urbex fans?

I had to stride through long wet grass, and my shoes and lower legs were soon soaked. I could tell that I was on the "path", because I had to cross six or seven drystone walls, each one with a stone stile.



After crossing a small, but very busy road, I came across an old "Public Footpath" sign. It looked as if it had seen better days.

The track led through a very cluttered field. There was a large radio mast, a wind turbine and some farm equipment including what looked like a feeding station for cows.

I could see a small herd of cows at the other side of the field. I wasn't interested in them. I was heading for the gate which led to the hilltop viewpoint.

The gate had a spring catch and was very difficult to open. Once open, I had to lift it up a bit to get it closed again.

I took some photos of the view, before turning back.


Not a bad hilltop view, despite the M62 at the left hand side.

I couldn't be bothered struggling with the gate again, so I just climbed over it. It creaked a lot. Was this what disturbed the cows?


This is the only photo I took that shows the cows. I hardly noticed them at this point – they were just specks in the distance. The gate was to the far right of the wind turbine, out of the picture.

I hardly noticed the cows as I started to walk back to the road, but then something caught my attention and I glanced round to my left, to see about 10 cows running towards me. For a moment I thought they were running towards their food trough, maybe thinking I was bringing food for them.

But then I noticed their faces. They looked angry! They were trotting towards me in a triangular formation, their heads held low. A black one at the front looked particularly aggressive. It was leaping from side to side, bucking its back legs up in the air.

I did not stop to take a photo!

Without any further hesitation, I did a 180 degree turn, and climbed back over the gate very quickly! I glanced back, and saw that the cows were rushing towards the fence. I took a path that led steeply down the hillside and disappeared from their view.

Luckily the cows decided not to pursue me any further, and I managed to find an alternative route back.

I have reported the incident to the Environmental Health department of the local council.


Small spring that I passed on the way back. But I needed something stronger than water!

Two trampling incidents in two days


A couple of days ago I read about a horrific incident involving angry cows on social media. A man posted in a Facebook group for hillwalkers that his partner had just been trampled by a herd of cows near a hill called Crimpiau in Wales, and that their small dog had run off in terror. She had a broken shoulder, seven broken ribs and an injury to her hand. The dog was found later, safe and well.

The man said that the herd didn't have calves, and that he'd been told the cows had charged some other people over the past couple of weeks.

The following day, the BBC news reported that a grandmother had been trampled by cows while protecting her six-year-old granddaughter from the charging herd near Crimpiau. The little girl was not seriouly injured. The two women had been walking their dogs, on leads, on a footpath at the time.

74 deaths in 15 years


A report from the UK Health and Safety Executive (HSE) said that 74 people in the UK were killed by cattle in the 15 years from 2000 to 2015. Of these 74 victims, 56 were farm workers. The remaining 18 were almost all lone walkers with dogs. Only one of these accidents involved a bull, and at least 10 involved cows with calves.

One aspect that wasn't mentioned in the HSE's report is weather conditions. I read several reports of people being attacked by cows during thundery weather. For some reason, it appears that electricity in the air can make cows agitated. It wasn't thundery when my scary cow incident took place, but the weather was warm and overcast, and there may have been electricity in the air.

The weather was warm and overcast with some thunderstorms over the past few days too, when the cows attacked at Crimpiau.


Keep your dog on a lead when walking near cows, but if they start to charge as you're walking your dog, let it go. It can run faster than you. The dog mentioned in the incident near Crimpiau was a little Border Terrier, like this one, and it got away unhurt while its owner was sadly trampled by the cows. Photo by Chadwest.

Thundery weather was mentioned as a factor by Simon Coldrick, a fell runner who was attacked and badly injured by cows after he ran through the herd during a race in early May 2014.

He said: "I think that a combination of things freaked out the cows. It was thundery weather, there were calves in the field and it was evening when apparently cows can go a bit berserk. At the hospital they even remarked that it was cow trampling season."

How to avoid cow attacks


• Steer clear of calves. DON’T pet them.

• Keep dogs on a lead, but if cows try to attack the dog, let it go. It can run much faster than you. People have been attacked while protectively clutching their pet dog.

• Don’t turn your back on the cattle. Try to retreat calmly, without making sudden movements.

• Inform the landowner and local authority of any scary incidents.

 


 

Main photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/walking/chased-by-a-herd-of-cows/

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Actually it is strange because I also have never been pursued by cows before. But also maybe the cows were provoked due to something at that minute

Neither have I! It's the first time this has happened. I think cows just get strange ideas into their heads sometimes.

That IS odd. I wonder what on earth they were thinking. Maybe if the public footpath went through their pasture and they were constantly getting people and dogs walking through, perhaps they began feeling unsafe about it? That is really strange. Ive had them run up to eat, and run up to play before, but never just all decide to attack. Huh.
Just goes to remind us, all animals are unpredictable. Always be watchful, even with trusted pets. You never know when they are in pain or scared and might do something dangerous like bite, or in this case, go on a trampling spree. ;)
Glad you're okay!

Like this lovely beast who came trotting up to me a few months ago, just to say hello!
Highland coo near Malham sml.jpg
I think the weather sometimes spooks them. I've heard cows mooing like mad in a thunderstorm, and maybe they can hear or sense things that we can't, that freak them out.

Aww, he/she looks like a sweetie. :D
True, maybe it was the weather. They DO sense things we dont, and probably dont understand it, which would be scary.

WOw that was scary, I used to visit a farm with cows a few times a year as a teenager and never had an incident like this, but most times there was a group of us and a couple of dogs so I guess thats part of why, those numbers about incidents are quite scary I will be more cautious these day s

Yes, looking at the incident reports it does seem to be lone walkers or pairs that are attacked. There seems to be strength in numbers.

Well be careful out on your hikes we wouldn’t want that to happen again

I will be! :)

That's scary! I have a field i cut through until i found a bull chasing me down one day. I take the ling way home now.

It's definitely worth taking a detour in those situations! I'll be more wary of cows in future, which is a shame, as they're usually so docile.

I had no idea they would be running for me!!!!! Yes! Definitely worth the long way. Hehe....

I truly thought they were docile creatures too. I will assume nothing in the future. :)

Wow. That is incredible. I've been mistaken as the 'feeder' and surrounded but never felt threatened. Maybe it's cause I grew up working around and with cows? Jeeze, from the time I was walking practically I'd been around cows. Only the odd bull would be threatening. My Dad and his partner bought a bull at an auction sale that they sold less than a year later. He was just a bad actor and neither of them wanted him around.

Interesting circumstances. Glad you got out safe!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chasedbyaherdofcows-3iewrmr5ho


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest 538.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

@natubat You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.

Where's my hay human?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha :D That's what I thought they were after at first... until I saw their angry faces! 😲

Yeah cows can be scary i've been chased over fences a couple times as a kid.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25