Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/24/18 > One more reason … in my opinion.

in #wakeupamerica6 years ago

Operation Choke Point

I was looking back on some old notes I had made long before I even thought about doing something as crazy as writing the daily dose and I came across a few notes I had made about Operation Choke Point. How many of you are aware of what this operation was and when it came about? I didn’t expect that our friends and readers from outside the USA would be familiar with it, but I also didn’t expect that so many of those in the USA weren’t familiar with it.

O'Bama did it...

Operation Choke Point came about during the O’Bama administration, yes I know I didn’t spell that name correctly, it was done intentionally. He, in my opinion, is another former president that deserves no respect, so I won’t even give him the proper spelling of his name right now.

Operation Choke Point was a plan designed and implemented to cut off certain legal and lawful businesses with the ability to make financial transactions. It would be the strangle hold or choke hold on these businesses that would end up putting them out of business.

Land of free...

Without getting into all the details of how the operation worked, what I have told you thus far is completely accurate, so I have to ask, “is the United States really the land of the free?” I hate that I have to keep bringing these questions up but someone has to ask them, so are we or are we not free?

If you and answered “yes” and now you want to tell me just how much more freedom we have than some other countries with dictators like North Korea, Cuba, Nicaragua and a whole slew of others feel free to do so; but that doesn’t make us free here in the USA, it means that the people in those other countries “know” the situation they are in.

Department of (in)Justice

When the Department of (in)Justice can come up and put pressure on banks to cut off certain businesses ability to conduct financial transactions you and me are living in a dictatorial land just like all those other countries previously mentioned, the only difference is we are not seeing it for what it is. A person could make the case that we are wearing the old style glasses with lenses as thick as the bottom of Coca Cola bottles made of rose colored glass. Who gave you the prescription for those glasses anyway? Take the glasses off, your eyes aren’t that damn bad, but your brain needs to be willing to trust what your eyes are seeing.

One more reason...

I titled this Daily Dose “One more reason” because there is a lot of concern right now in this community over the price of steem and other crypto currencies as well. I am here to tell you that Operation Choke Point should stand as the reason and a reminder that Steem and other decentralized crypto currencies are true freedom from government. So now is not the time to pack it in and call it quits, it is time to double down and promote what we have going on here and in the cryptosphere.

The evil guns...

Some of the businesses targeted in Operation Choke Point were gun dealers and manufacturers. I know that some of you might be inclined to believe that guns are of no good and to many people die from gunshots each year, I get all of that, but here in the USA those are legal and lawful businesses. There may come a point in time that the only currency that you could purchase a gun with might be steem or bitcoin or one of the others. Gun dealers and other “risky businesses” as the government likes to call them, might very well start paying attention and adopt transacting in crypto if they know what is good for them.

tRump to the rescue...

Just so you know, yes I am aware that Operation Choke Point has been curtailed by the tRump administration. For those of you who wondered why the NRA was backing him so strongly; this daily dose may have answered your questions on that. Who is to say the next president won’t re-instate Operation Choke Point?

Could pizza be next...

Hell, the next president may end up being old Michelle O’Bama and pizza parlors might end up being cut off from making financial transactions with the banks or how about places that sells alcohol? Who is to say your business or industry won’t be next to come under scrutiny? You see, it isn’t about the business, it’s about the ability of the government to do it, and there is where lays the problem. This is freedom?

I keep preaching on here that we need to hold our elected officials accountable for their actions or in most cases; inaction. We also know that it is a long slow process to weed out incumbent politicians so we need to be working on that and working to keep growing the decentralized crypto currencies.

What exactly was it...

So, for those of you who answered “yes” to the freedom question, what exactly was it you wanted to tell me?
#wakeupamerica
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

Is there any country in the world that is really free? We elect officials to represent us in what we hope will be a fair just way. But then comes along special interest groups, large campaign donations and general corruption. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Suddenly who you voted for is not the person you thought they were.

I think that the only free country left in the world would be country music on the radio, even then it all isn't free since there are subscription radio services now.
"Absolute power corrupts absolutely." and I absolutely agree with that statement. The thing about it is that, at least here in the USA, absolute power was never what the government was supposed to be or have, it was limited powers and the constitution was in place to protect the rights of the people from an out of control bunch of bureaucrats.
The only problem is the people let their guard down and now they are fearful of trying to restore this place to what it once was. There is no question in my mind that you could take the most honest person you know and elect him or her and send them to Washington and in less than a year they will be a crook, or have been put in a situation that leads then to end up being blackmailed into doing as the crooks want done.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 206 (7/25/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I hadn't heard of Operation Choke Point (and the name seems so weird to me that I had to check it online to see if it was real or not!). I agree that these laws are often used as umbrella restrictions, as "legislation creep". Instead of restricting one specific thing, like money laundering, they bring in generalised laws which can then be used to ban quite innocuous things. They are often introduced in response to a very serious incident, so most people applaud them and don't see the wider dangers.

You failed to mention if it was real, what did you find, just so others will know? Yes, you are right about "legislation creep", we have a bunch of creeps turning out a bunch of legislation that on the surface looks somewhat reasonable but is then used in a totally different fashion than the way it was sold to us.
There have been a bunch of false flags here that have led to knee jerk reactions in the forms of such legislation and then it is to late, the horse as left the corral as they say.

Yes - sadly it was real. And oh yes, I am well aware of those "legislation creeps" haha.

Thank you, you have saved others the time of fact checking me. Sad, but true on this. It seems like "Sad, but true." is becoming a more frequent response that people are being forced into using when it comes to political things.
Something interesting, your comment I am replying to didn't show up in my "replies" list, and Ginabot didn't pick it up either, I wonder what is going on with that, are you flying under the radar for some reason?

That's very weird - and worrying! I hope I'm not flying under the radar... if so, it's not deliberate. And I hope I'm not missing other people's comments if they're not appearing in my "replies" list.

It finally showed up, about an hour after I remarked about it. Things must have been running slow and getting the blocks all lined up in the chain or something like that... I don't know... but you are flying strait now.

That's a relief!

I wonder who the last president to deserve your respect would be.
O'bama sounds irish enough, which is funny to me.

I won't let you wonder any longer , I will go ahead and tell you. Let me say that I didn't agree with him on a lot of what he did and my respect for him comes solely from the fact that he didn't quit even after he had been shot in an attempted assassination attempt, that would be President Ronald Reagan . He could have very easily said he wanted no more of it and handed it over to George H W Bush, who is another piece of shit in my opinion and who I think had something to do with the assassination attempt on Reagan to begin with.

Interesting take. Not a really flattering one for the history of presidents thus far though.

So now is not the time to pack it in and call it quits, it is time to double down and promote what we have going on here and in the cryptosphere.

Absolutely. Even astrology is behind you on this one. The next seven years see a huge push to break the stranglehold of government currency on humanity with ingenious, original, eccentric and off-the-wall strategies that still might hold promise for solving this terrible problem. Cryptocurrencies are one of the saner things we might see. (I may need to write a post on this very topic.) Keep your eyes (and mind) open. And remember where you heard the news first.

i will do that, the eyes of Texas are upon you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54