Ulog: My Trip To The Largest Yam Market In The World

in #wafrica6 years ago

Hi Steemians.

Nigeria is by far the world's largest
producer of yams, accounting for over 70–
76 percent of the world production.
Not my words but Wiki's Words

is this great or what? Up Naija

Ok, beside being a Crypto fanatic and other online venture enthusiast, i sometimes find myself trading farm produce(because i love it). Yea, you read right, i love Nature and all that it produces especially food crops... " like most people here trade bitcoin and altcoins i trade yamcoin" .
Unlike Waiting for bitcoin to start the rally, buying yamcoin from the market and taking it to various locations within the country will give a varied rally of the yamcoin.

Terms description and info

Yamcoin = tubers of yams bought from the local market

News= scarcity and sales location can greatly influence selling price

Farmers = yam coin creators

Sellers = brokers

Buyers = wholesalers, retailers and consumers

Market cap= unknown, but the state of Lagos receives N20m to N30m in revenue monthly for yam sales alone, from just one market in one state.

Volume= unknown

Total supply= unknown

Now, to the business of the day...

I and my team, we buy yams in thousands of tubers and sell all over the available market in Nigeria, except for some strick market that has been unionised by some f..... elite members.
Ok, straight to my last trip.
Travelled from Lagos to Biam market in Benue state, Nigeria. Before going, i had already called my buy team to be ready for my arrival, so they where already at the market awaiting my arrival. We spent three days buy yams and having fun... Below are some act caught on pictures

IMG_20180419_084814.jpg

Picture of a seller and my team member counting a set of yam before paymen

IMG_20180419_085028.jpg

My marking boy; writing my initials on my yam for accountability purpose.

IMG_20180419_115343.jpg

Yams paid for and waiting to be transported.

Hope you enjoyed the read?

Until we meet again, keep Upvoting and Resteeming.

Oppss...

Almost forgot.
During lunch, i saw a girl selling this

IMG_20180605_144009.jpg

When i asked what it is called, was giving a name i cant even pronounce "laughing"
Can any one help out with the names ?

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.56 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 19.35% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @prinsj!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48