CONTEST WINNER + LAGOS STEEM MEETUP UPDATE

in #wafrica6 years ago (edited)

So I wrote some weeks back about a delegation contest and a possible Steem meetup in Lagos. My primary aim is to empower steemians within the African communities. I have experienced the power of delegations and how it is helping to building a better steem ecosystem. I take my cue from people like @adetorrent, @theycallmedan, and @nathanmars who in my view are the most important steemians on the steem ecosystem as they are strengthening communities and rewarding passionate individual. So I want to do the same thing. And in the month of March, I'm delegating a total of 740 steem to 2 individuals.

My contest winners

@peachyladiva (240 steem power delegation) and @paramimd (500 steem power delegation).

So @paramimd is my contest winner. He will have 500 steem power to use for one month. I choose him because he has been consistent on the steem blockchain.

I also have this new initiative where I make one minnow each month within the African communities with my steem power. This is part of my goal as I strive to become a dolphin. So for the next month, I will be delegating some steem to an individual with less than 500sp to make them minnows indefinitely. The only catch here is that they stay active and they can have my delegation for as long as a year. Once they are able to accumulate 500sp for themselves I will withdraw my delegations and find new steemians to help. So @peachyladiva you're the first beneficiary of this initiative. I see you're trying to get back into the game and I want to reward your passion and dedication. I hope once you become a minnow yourself you will do the same for other redfishes.

LAGOS STEEM MEETUP

This is scheduled for the 20th of March, 2019 in Surulere-Lagos. A small physical gathering of 10-15 steemians within my region. The aim is to build stronger communities on a micro level. Also, I will be having 3-2 nonsteemians partake as well with the aim of onboarding them.

Sponsors

@surfyogi from the wafrica community has promised to cover our lunch expenses on that day.

@newageinv has promised to support participants of this meetup with SBIs

I'm currently looking at getting branded steem t-shirts for the participates. I asked the guys at fundition and it's possible that I get funding for this small project, @hauptmann has also promised to help me out with that. I'm looking at 200-300 steem fund to achieve this. If I do not succeed then I will be powering down to fund this meetup and that might entail withdrawing my delegations for a week or two. So I'm making an open request to everyone, I need all the help I can get to make this possible.

List of possible attendees:

@josedisccus
@agbona
@peachyladiva
@mediahouseent
@Malifezswit (from twitter. I will be onboarding her this week)
@emybrown_ (from twitter as well)

If you want to be part of this meetup please leave a comment in the comment section to indicate your interest

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Is it okay if I make a post to promote this? I want to say we contact @theycallmedan and @nathanmars @adetorrent and tell them about this, so that we can basically seek their thoughts we can seek @fundition too as well as @Oracle-d, what do you think?

It's not a bad idea. I'm kind of shy asking for help, especially given the scale of this project. It's not that big. But give it a shot though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well you're right, I'll just about do a little post promo and share on twitter and we will see how it goes.

Yeah. If this turns out to be a success then maybe we can do something bigger.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks a lot for picking me as one of your winners. I will use your delegation judiciously for the month. Congrat too @peachyladiva on both delegations you got esp the permanent delegation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! You deserve it... Trust me, barely can you go 'un-noticable'

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi love, If all things work together in my favor, I would love to attend even though I live in Ibadan, not Lagos. Well done dear!

#Bigwaves

Me too I would like to attend. I wish I stay in Lagos. I want that customized steem shirt.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Great progress dor an exciting effort! The more minnows we create, the more value creating engagement we will see across the ecosystem!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awwwn, this is lovely, thanks alot.... I love your spirit, the way you ready to help, Man you so selfless and I promise to use it right and also help as much as possible!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you would. Take care.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your meetup has been included in the latest SoS Calendar of Steem Meetups & Events @ 23 February 2019.

Please let me know if any of the details change, or if you know of any other similar events not yet on the listing.

For now, the date remains the same. Thank you for the listing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your meetup has been included in the latest SoS Calendar of Steem Meetups & Events @ 3 March 2019.

Please let me know if any of the details change, or if you know of any other similar events not yet on the listing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37