STEEM MEET-UP IN LAGOS [A POSSIBILITY]

in #bigwaves6 years ago

It is an extreme sport writing anything at this. Asides having a million and one thoughts streaming through my mind each day, that I find extremely difficult penning down, I have spread myself so thin to the point that I cannot keep track of some projects I have interest in.

There is a lot going on steem. I remember when steem had the semblance of a blogging site, it was quite easy to keep track of things. Watching things change drastically over the last few months has been thrilling and overwhelming at the same time. Thrilling in the sense that I do not have to write to earn steem, which if you ask me has not been very profitable--writing I mean, especially when compared with other activities and projects on the steem ecosystem.

However, this whole development has diversified and decentralized the ecosystem further. So basically, it is hard to keep track of everything. If you are heavily invested in steemmonster, chances are you would have little time to read or watch dtube video; if you are keeping track of developments on the steem ecosystem, chances are you do not have time for the fun stuff happening in and outside the ecosystem, like the steem-twitter campaign.

Personally, I have tried to automate a few things. Also, giving that I am more of a vlogger than blogger and I want to remain consistent in terms of creating content, I have decided to make more videos during the weekends and spread them across the week(s). So rather than make a video each day, I can simply make 4-5 a day. And no.l, this won't have a negative effect on my creativity. If anything, time is something I have got at this point--and ideas (to the point I forget some of them because they are much).

I will still try to write more articles. I think I have one or two on my note pad. I have just been lazy about typing them. Making videos is fun and a new way of expressing myself, and right now all I want to do is master the art of video-making.

STEEM MEET-UP IN LAGOS-NIGERIA

Yes, this is one of the things I have been thinking about and I think it is about time really. Part of my goal this year is building a stronger Nigerian steem community, which in my opinion does exist at this point. And yes I might be limited in terms resources but I think I can compensate for that with my ideas. I believe Nigerians can actively contribute to the growth of steem and I want this to be a reality. Unfortunately, cryptocurrency/steem hasn't lured the best minds from this part of the world. It has just been a case of people trying to pillage a fragile system and migrate when things go south. But I want to change this. At this point, steem-Nigeria needs leaders. I do not consider myself as one but I can set a pioneer a course that will bring these said leaders into the platform.

So about the meet-up in Lagos. On the last Wednesday on March (or April) I want to host 5-10 steemians who reside in Lagos. This will be a very casual event, nothing formal. As regards location, I am thinking about Leisure mall Surulere as a possible venue. We can all converge there, network, watch a movie and basically just get to know ourselves better and discuss ways of improving our steem experiences. I would be converting my liquid steem payout to fund this get-together. However, if you want to part of this initiative or support in any way, you can contact me.

So this is my goal for March. I don't know if this will be successful, but how will I know if I don't give it a try? So if you reside in Lagos state and you want to be part of this little get-together you can leave a comment in the comment section and I will contact you privately.

Also, I am open to better ideas and opinions about improving this said idea of mind.

Please resteem.

@pangoli @mediahousent @adetorrent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wavy

#Bigwaves

This is a very good idea. I noticed that so many Nigerians that I met here when I joined this platform in March last year has stop being active on the platform including the person that introduced me here. I stay in Enugu and not Lagos but I really wish we would have something like this in Enugu or University of Nigeria Nsukka located in the same Enugu.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can certainly recommended meetups. :) I hope you get a good turn out. You may inadvertently make yourself a leader in organising this, but you can rope others in if attendance is good. Having a regular monthly one is good if you can get a bit of interest in the first one. It seems to work out better than random ones here and there.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm hoping this turns out right. Starting to make plans to pull enough resources to make this a possibility.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fingers crossed. Hopefully I'll be reading about it soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Brother, you have got great energy and enthusiasm going at this point. A meet-up at Lagos isn't a bad idea though, I like it.
Keep me informed & updated about this.

Right mate. Maybe during the next wafrica show I can be a guest and share some of my thoughts on this and other things

Posted using Partiko Android

Will love to be there...

Posted using Partiko Android

If you're in Lagos then contact me privately so I can add you to the list

Posted using Partiko Android

OK I will

Posted using Partiko Android

Nonso, add me up!

Sure. 5 more persons to go. Maybe you should create a video about the meetup for more buzz

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, let me do that then. About creating a vlog just now. Perfect time!

@nonsowrites I'm interested in the movement. I think its a very nice initiative and it poses as an incredible means to meet with other steemians from all around Lagos. Although i don't stay in Lag often, i would be around in march but i think last Wednesday is quite far.. I would suggest third Wednesday though.

I can still reschedule. If I have up to five persons who indicate their interest, I will set a time that is convenient for us all

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay so how do i reach you, so i can get informations as to when exactly this is going to happen@nonsowrites because am very much interested.
Do i like need to drop a number or an email or something??

You can contact me on discord nonsowrites#0031 so I keep you posted

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds exciting... when you're are ready to move this forward, hit me up on Discord.

I can relate as I have been falling behind my feed (now over a day behind) as I have need to slow down and spend time with the family. As the ecosystem continues to expand and become more active I will need to get used to not being able to get to all of the content on my feed!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey man, took my time to get back to this. Great idea you've got there. Back when people thought they got the most to earn from this place, meetups were a thing. Sadly, people lack loyalty and they leave when they think something isn't working anymore, even supposed community leaders.

There's a big Steem meet-up coming up around July/august in Akwa Ibom state. That's a few months away and i think your idea for a meet-up on a small scale is welcomed. I wish these small meetups were still frequent every now and then.

Sadly, I'll simply tag a few friends who stay around the area who might be interested as I don't stay in Lagos. Hope you get around doing it and I hope it turns out fine.

@djoi @mosunomotunde @agbona

Shameless plug: I'll be in Ibadan for a blockchain event soon. It was slated for next week Saturday but I heard the general elections have been postponed to that same date. Bummer! However, we'll be rescheduling (possibly 2nd March) and since Ibadan is pretty much close to Lagos, I'd love to see if you could make it. Hoping it doesn't clash with any of your priorities.

blockchain 4 (3).png

Brother. this is one of the pressing challenges we face in the world today, because the world is moving rapidly fast, no one wants to patiently gain grounds, people just wanna do things fast fast, and that way there's no room for consistency because if it goes south, they bail. Its quite sad you know.. @pangoli

I also think the idea of meetups gives people more clearer perspectives as to what they want and what steem is all about and let's not overlook the fact that we make new blockchain buddies and friends anytime there's a meet up, then we get to reconnect with other old folks.

Wish i could be at Awka Ibom for the meet up, i am pretty sure it'll be a big one!

Thanks for reading man. That was a long one. Given you a follow. You can hit me up on Discord anytime with pangoli[ i-am-Groot]#1084. Also, I noticed you're an engineer. You should checkout @steemstem among other communities. It's a friendly place for science enthusiasts and professionals. I'll be seeing you around, man.

Thanks a lot mate. Guess i'll be seeing you around too sir. @pangoli

Hey Surf. If you're interested in partnering or speaking at this event, i might have a way to get you in on it man. I heard you came to Nigeria the other time for SIN2, saw the pictures. Sadly i had my hands full at the time. Would be happy to get a reply on this. We could chat on discord if you'd prefer that. Respect here too!!!

You never cease to amaze me, this is a great idea.

Cool

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62848.40
ETH 2467.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63