The Surprise Package🎁

in #wafrica6 years ago

It was a hot afternoon on a monday, my mobile phone had rang but because i was in noisy environment i didnt hear it ring. I missed obi's call, obi called me five times, why would obi call me up-to five times i asked my self. I became curious, scared as i was buried in thoughts as to what may have happened, could it be that something bad may have happened or he wanted to check up on me, i was confused at the moment to add salt to injury i didn't have any call unit on my phone to call back and enquire from him what the situation was.

I tried to borrow airtime from my service provider to call obi, but i was disappointed with the sms reply that reads

"sorry you're not eligible to borrow airtime at this moment because you have an unsettled debt"

I was totally disappointed due to the fact that i couldn't afford to buy airtime or payback the one i had borrowed from my service provider. While i was trying to figure out withing me the reason Obi may have called my up to 5 times i equally was blaming the federal government who didn't frown at noise pollution in that location where i was at the time the call came in.

As i continued my journey under the very hot scotching sun of in Abuja, i miraculously met a lady hawking sachet water, popularly known as "Pure water" here in Nigeria. Madam pure water, i called out, i was receiving the sachet water from her, without hesitation and how thirsty i was at that time, it went straight into my mouth.... The lady exclaimed " Ah oga the water hungry you well well o"

With a smile of little relieve from being thirsty under that hot weather condition, i paid for the sachet water.

Trekking in Abuja under the sun wasn't easy but i had to continue my journey back home, at this time i was already praying that obi's call should be something good and not a bad news. About 200m to my house, my phone rang again and it was obi calling me back, i hurriedly answered the call and immediately i said "hello Obico" as i fondly call him, the phone conversation did'nt return any audio sound it became mute, the service was extremely poor...

"Hello! Hello!.. Obi can you hear me" ...

I did that for about 10 seconds but no the poor Service wouldn't let me talk. At that moment i didn't sense anything else but danger, all was not well, obi has never called me like this before. Rather than walk home i decided to run since i was close to my house already, considering my pace and speed passerby's where giving way as they watch me run like i was a thief. While i was running i was seriously praying that it shouldn't be something bad that has happened, on getting home there were loud noises coming from my house, i couldn't clearly ascertain if it was for good or bad with that i had to stop running and i started walking slowly. By the time i got to my door and opened it behold everyone shouted happy birthday. Obi had organised a surprise birthday party, the worse is that i didn't remember it was my birthday, i shaded tears of joy.

Sort:  

To get upvote from @wafrica, the post needs at least 300 characters! Please describe your work in detail ;-)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bosscharlze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84