You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VPS Initial Setup for Masternode

in #vps7 years ago

IMPORTANT PLEASE READ

Since writing this guide I have run into a problem when using the command below with at least one of my Masternodes

sudo apt -y autoremove

It removed some stuff needed by the wallet (I can't remember but I think it was the Berkely DB) and the wallet promptly stopped working.

Therefore I suggest you not to run this command with the -y option and check if any stuff it says is not needed anymore, is something that was a dependency of the wallet and hence actually needed.

Or to be extra safe just don't use the autoremove command at all lol

I can't edit the post above (a bit silly if you ask me) so hopefully people see this comment.

Sort:  

Is this not supposed to be the other way around?

PermitRootLogin no --------change to-------> PermitRootLogin yes

@propagandalf yes you are absolutely right, we want to stop the root user from being able to login. It should be:

PermitRootLogin no

This highlights the reason why I don't want to do anymore tutorials/guides on steemit, once it's posted that's it, you can't edit it in any way and if it's wrong then it's wrong which is obviously a bit naf when you're trying to teach people how to be safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67