You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People claim to not like bullies... until they show up with a bag of candy.

in #voting7 years ago

I like the concept of not giving all that power to one person or account, But I guess I'm slow, I don't follow you on the system would work. How and who would you pay and how would you receive the tip?

Sort:  

Right now you could give someone a TIP. Just go to your wallet and right click on the arrow next to your SBD and click transfer. In the to field you put the user you want to send the tip to and in the comment you say something like thank you for your post on X.

You can do that now. Yet the only record of that appears in your wallet and their wallet so the rest of public does not see it.

So I am proposing they have a TIP button next to the vote arrow and you could instantly send some SBD to the person that way. It would do this transfer for you and fill out the comment as a TIP.

Yet that value would be listed as part of the earning for this post, so it would become a form of promotion in that respect.

The only person that would actually benefit from this would be the person you are tipping.

The current voting accounts that you pay for votes are using that days steem power under an automated fashion and they are collecting direct payment for all of those votes.

My proposal is to instead just pay the person directly however much you want to pay them as opposed to paying someone else to vote for them.

There is even a TIP button on www.busy.org near the upvote button - on every post. Your idea is great but people can use to get their post in the "trending" by using another account.

I don't care how they get it there if they are actually paying money to get it there. Votes don't really cost you anything. A Tip does. I also don't usually bother looking at trending. It is just a bunch of dogpiled topics most of the time.

and thats why we need to improve the GUI, would make a lot better i think.

The GUI doesn't stop people like Bernie. The GUI is just Steemit. There are dozens of different ways the steem blockchain is interfaced with and growing. So the GUI just will stop new people with low power or new people who spend a lot of money for power and don't know what they are doing.

It won't do anything to stop/deter the powerful that are already here. Those that come and try to censor others we can counter pretty easily with our up votes. That is not so easy when the person(s) doing it are some of the most powerful accounts out there. The GUI also doesn't do anything to stop bots and when I was down voted it was by over 100 different accounts all at the same time.

The GUI is just Steemit.

I talked with @neoxian abouit this a little. I understand that the Steemit interface is different from Steem the blockchain. chainBB and busy are alternatives to Steemit to access Steem.

I think Steemit as a GUI needs an update. Sure I could just learn HTML coding and write my own web application, but why does it seem like there is not much interest to actually enhance the things that already exist.

To create dozens of 3rd party apps to access and manage Steemit feels like the opposite of what I see as perfection: It is not perfect if you have nothing left to add but when their is nothing left to substract.

I want to present my content in a better manner. We Users need more tools for that. We could skip all this Curating bs (no hate for curators, many do a great job) if the Users could present their content. Even on my youtube channel I can make and name playlists and such. Do we even evr talk about what Steemit should look like after its beta or this this another well-kept secret?

I think Steemit as a GUI needs an update.

It needs an update for a lot of reasons. I don't disagree with that. I simply am indicating a GUI update won't actually fix the problem I am talking about in the post here.

I want to present my content in a better manner. We Users need more tools for that. We could skip all this Curating bs (no hate for curators, many do a great job) if the Users could present their content. Even on my youtube channel I can make and name playlists and such. Do we even evr talk about what Steemit should look like after its beta or this this another well-kept secret?

These things I agree about. I don't know what Steemit Inc. Plans are. They are pretty tight lipped on most things until right before they come out. Some things you don't even hear about until they are just there, but those are always minor changes as far as I've seen.

Oh and I dont want the GUI to FORCE people to behave properly on Steemit but to make good behavior (etiquette) easier to understand and more enticing to follow.

hey dadd.. I mean Deva, Did you see the current drama with @elfspice

https://steemit.com/steemit/@benjojo/ned-are-we-on-the-verge-of-a-steemtrain-wreck-steemit-inc-please-address-these-concerns

Like Bernie said before, the idea of controlling the opinions/discourse on Steemit via downvotes is nothing he invented.

censored postby @elfspice https://steemit.com/steemit/@elfspice/vindication-so-stinc-who-was-lying-i-am-incompetent-at-systems-administration-am-i

FUD is an invention by msn if you ask me. Both the practice and blaming people for said practice.

I saw the elfspice post and was intending to find out more myself, but I hadn't seen the benjojo post. I actually hadn't heard of any problems until that elfspice post.

And I think it is a problem that we dont hear from these problems ;)

I'll have to relogin to Busy. I haven't checked it out in awhile to see what new features they have added.

The tip button provides social proof in the event of down flagging

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43