Vindication. So, Stinc, who was lying? I am incompetent at systems administration, am I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Big

 

thanks to @andybets for finding THIS POST and making note of it in @benjojo's question directed at Stinc about what the hell is going on with all these RPC nodes going down.


It seems that I was not exaggerating, and there was a reason why I was unable to get a steemd RPC node to sync, either on a 10 core, 50Gb memory 1.2Tb SATA3 SSD VPS, or, even, on my own PC, which is in most respects even faster: ryzen7 1700, 32gb of DDR4 2400 memory, and a 256Gb Samsung NVMe SSD. 6 months ago this machine would have ripped through the replay in a couple of hours. The Xeon VPS could do it in about 8-9 hours. I finally gave up after watching it spend over 3 days on the VPS and the same on my machine.

Nobody who should have known better, was telling the truth. They all said it must be just me, because they are all lying at the same time. No, because I'm the only one having problems. Ok, if that's true, then what does this mean:

Call for help

Full rpc steemd nodes are a challenge to run. Currently, they require expensive servers with 128GB of RAM, and regular baby-sitting. To my knowledge, there are no open solutions for managing steemd clusters . Such software would be much appreciated, not only by developers, but also exchanges (currently, both Bitfinex and Poloniex have STEEM&SBD deposits/withdrawals frozen, as they are failing to tame resource hungry steemd [2]).

https://steemit.com/steem/@furion/updates-on-steem-python-steemdata-and-the-node-situation

I don't know what to say, guys. You know I had been saying right back in November last year that the rate of growth of the resource use of steemd was going to be a problem within 6 months. Here we are, 8 months later, and if nothing is done THIS MONTH, at the latest, there will be no value in anyone's steem, because nobody will be able to buy, or sell it.

An apology would be nice, but I don't expect such professional liars as yourselves to ever come clean about this.

I am just glad to finally confirm that it isn't just me. Because I was getting little help or corroboration from anyone. Real friendly bunch you are, especially the witnesses. Gandalf (@gtg) is the only one who seems to be able to make steemd obey him. That's probably because he's running it on a cluster of 256Gb memory, NVMe dual raid arrays, on a multi gigabit conneection, and it is probably costing him over $500/month to do it. But don't expect him to publish his real costs, because, if you can't run it, it must be because you are incompetent.

Big thanks to @furion for finally telling the truth.

Sort:  

This changes things a lot. You have my apologies for accepting their insistence that there was no problem. You'll be getting the SBD from that post. I'm absolutely disgusted with Steemit.inc..... they left any attempt at answers to @gtg then @sneak tried to make out that reasonable concerns about real issues were 'baseless fearmongering' . Between their appalling communication with the community, the things fuzzy said in my post, how they handled my post, you and a few other things, my concern is rapidly turning to complete disenchantment.

I will update my post for a third time and link @furion's post and yours.

It's useful to know the apparent limitations of those with the privilege of 'leading' this community. What a shame.

Just another thought, it's interesting that I still believe that Steem can scale and apparently so do you, you mentioned in your comments that you thought the solution was relatively trivial. It begs the question why the lack of communication? Why try to make people who clearly support Steem feel like they are idiots or working against the community?

With so much going for them....I mean, what's wrong with them?

grabs popcorn

There's no lack of communication - I told you plainly before he's spreading FUD. He's taken you in.

steemd requires a lot of resources - to run with a full set of plugins. Most people, exchanges included, don't need those. We provide tooling and container images for running steemd in production in a variety of configurations.

We at steemit run these in production 24/7, so we'd know precisely what it takes. He doesn't, by his own admission.

Heed fools at your own risk.

Please could you point me in the direction of the container images? Docker I presume? There may be a cut-down RPC configuration that suits my needs, and could address all my questions in one short answer!

You must have tunnel vision or towering arrogance. Even after Steemit is being forked, you cannot admit a failure of communication.

If what you say is true and there are no technical issues (bearing in mind I think the most serious issues are Steemit.inc's communication and perception handling) then why is there evidence of issues?

Just insisting there aren't issues is about the silliest approach I can imagine.

There are other issues I've raised that never get address...not just technical.

You reaction to me has done one thing for sure, it's changed a massive supporter of Steemit to someone who is considering going elsewhere. Don't worry, I'm under no illusion that this is something you give two shits about.

Would you consider not self-upvoting your empty comments. You have no idea how bad it looks , especially in a situation like the one being discussed. Yet more perception handling blunders. Surely you realise that just because you can do something, doesn't mean you should.

I dunno if the solution is trivial, but it shouldn't be that hard to add a secondary store type to the database and place all the post texts in it instead of in the main shared memory. It just deponds on how many places in the codebase this action occurs.

This is the reason why I am concerned that it won't be a small job. I am willing to bet some money on that the only real solution is going to be a complete rewrite. I mean, ethereum has 10+ implementations, isn't it about time someone pulled out a few benjamins and paid someone to write a clean rewrite of Steem? Maybe, in a better language, like Go or C, perhaps?

Ok trivial was the wrong choice of words...completely. The greatest issue is communication and handling. My limitations around the technical side of things are abundantly clear. I think it's fair to say that the majority of people using steem are in the same boat. I hope what comes out of this is not more disenfranchisement but an acknowledgment that we can do better together and have every opportunity to address issues and strengthen our unity of purpose.

I hope so too.

But as you may realise, I've been struggling with this for way too long, to just even bring it to the general population's attention that the necessary prerequisites for developing apps for this platform are so expensive that it rules out any kind of small enterprise.

The problem I see with not just throwing out the baby with the bathwater, is all those premined accounts, before, of what technically can be construed, in US law (and probably soon to be, in most legal lexicons) as securities. Any mined SP prior to the release of steemit.com is in violation of US securities laws. So, the bathwater is poison. How do we throw out the bathwater without throwing out the baby here? People clearly have ploughed a lot of money into this, and I would argue that they have had their stake intentionally diluted and thus milked by those who hold all that SP made before there was a real opportunity for anyone to acquire it through activities that are accessible to most people.

What I want to see, is a court ruling that says that they must return all of their earnings to a fund to see to it that the platform is built according to industry best practice standards and everyone's accounts returned to their full control. and all of the premined accounts deleted, and added to the rewards pool upon a well-in-advance-warned re-release. Sans Steemit, sans @berniesanders, sands @nextgencrypto sans everyone. It looks to me like officialfuzzy would have no issue losing the SP he didn't risk money or dedicate time to earning, either, so I'd think the only objectors to this plan, are the criminals who have been profiting, and using their power to manipulate everyone.

I tell you what. I am going to hold my nose and set up a steemd p2p node, and pull down the entire blockchain, with the raw_block plugin enabled, so I have a snapshot, and then go back to my old posts about how to pull out the raw json, and then set up a torrent seed with the raw json. As a starting point, for people to be able to then go through it, cut off the poisonous front end of the chain, calculate everyone's balances, the amount of SP that should go back into the rewards pool, and then, convert it back into the blockchain, and run Steemd, again, from a new site...

hell, it's not that hard. I don't know whether I am gonna be compensated well enough to justify doing this work but then, I am a big believer in non-monetary capital. I bet we can run a parallel chain with the correct edits done. Then we just need enough people to run witnesses and an instance of an appropriate client.

It's a lotta work, you know... But, wth. I may have got in this position of being able to, because of votes dished out from ill-gotten SP. So I am kinda obliged with this blood on my hands, in directly, to turn this to a good end.

I do not understand US law in the slightest, I'm not even sure what a security is.....how it relates to crypto is a complete mystery to me. If mined SP is going to be considered a security, I have no clue what the implications are for those that mined it. What I do know is that some of them worked very hard to get there and have behaved with integrity for steem and steemit as far as I know. Ultimately I see any outside interference from governments (who are of course the architects of most of the world's ills) as uneccessary and counter-productive. If there is an issue, we should handle it as a community.

That brings me to your hard fork proposal. It's a perfectly reasonable suggestion. If enough people form a consensus to begin a new network, so be it. There are several precedents. But how do you do a fair distribution? Who controls the dev stake? How do you ensure that everyone already involved gets a fair stake without recreating the previous issues.....not all whales have been bad and steem wouldn't even exist without some of them.

A security is a contract that provides you with some kind of circumscribed access to the pool of assets of a group, usually a corporation. In this case, it grants voting power for both assigning rewards and choosing witnesses. This conforms perfectly with a standard Stock contract. A security is publicly tradeable, via a licenced broker. In this case, we can say that means through the mechanism of the blockchain.

The issue is not about mining the SP, it's mining the SP, while such a capability was beyond the reach of the public. If a corporation makes an IPO, but they sell the first 80% of the initial offering only to friends, before anyone else can actually buy them, this is a violation of the whole principle of a PUBLIC offering. These securities thus cannot be publicly traded, or the company issuing them has violated the law. That means Steemit.

Code is not documentation, and those who mined it, and then did not reset the chain when Steemit.com launched, are in violation of the 1933 US act regulating securities issuance to the public. It does not apply to private issuance, but that does not apply to what Steemit and the preminer group did.

It is immaterial that we do not want the government involved in this, the law is still a valid law and still stands no matter where in the universe such an activity takes place. It is an absurd perversion of the word 'public offering' when nobody except for a little gaggle of ghouls with inside knowledge could take up this offer. They should have reset the chain, when it was offered to the public. But they had this mistaken idea, that they could use their premine to fund development. This is patently fraudulent. Why did they not just do like Dash, and allocate a share toward development.

I am not going to concern myself with how to allocate the stake to miners at this point. That can be left up to the new witness group and whoever wants to be the new babysitter of the forked Steem codebase. The main thing is the chain needs to be pruned, reset, while retaining everyone's accounts and current balances, minus that premine, and then, a group can organise a new company or developer group to take care of fixing all the headaches contained within the code, and make proposals for improvements, like the ones I have suggested.

I want to do this, at least, all the preliminary legwork, so that people have this option. I am pretty sure that there will be great interest in confiscating the chain from Steemit, who have proven they are completely irresponsible and despicable people. Same goes for most of the witnesses that they have blackmail relationships with relating to the premine stake controlling who is in and who is out.

It's a sorry state of affairs that is seems to have come to this. I have raised concerns over the steemit premine several times. My biggest concern has always been that. On the new chain, I think it is imperative to do an analysis on how much premined accounts have taken out so that those that got into this with the best intentions, who have not cashed out or are founders (especially ned and dan) are compensated. I don't know yet whether I would support a fork or not, it rather depends on how it is dealt with, how fair I perceive the distribution to be, how well looked after the founders are etc. I am certainly not against examining the possibility, especially if at the same time we can address legal issues, flaws resulting from distribution and technical aspects all at the same time.

The utility of steem and the community should be the greatest concern for us all.

those that got into this with the best intentions, who have not cashed out or are founders (especially ned and dan) are compensated

>got into this with best intentions
> Dan 

HHAHHA, Ever wonder how almost everyone talking positively about Dan have a vested interest in one or more of his projects, or just a complete newbie who thinks Dan , the anarcho capitalist, aiming to secure life and liberty for all, will "revolutionize" the finance and tech sector. Just lol

Oh, and EOS is a complete joke as well

on his "rebuttal" against Vitalik's criticisms of EOS :

Not even exaggerating when I call him a shameless conman, people outside of steemit are literally laughing at the platform (and eos) and its founders.

Its a nice and innovative concept, but run by some really shitty people

I don't think the founders need to be paid any more, the record will show they have already milked at least 10-20% of the total money that has gone into the chain, at least... I will just remove those balances, and the whole chain will be reset. Everyone will have the balance equal to what they have at the moment the chain is snapshotted, minus that premine. The chain will be fresh and new, and fast, and will give us enough time to rewrite the database engine so it does not do this again, and it will do it again sooner, with more users, should the majority wish to move over to it. I was also considering that the accounts should be marked as deactivated and require a captcha, to slow down the botfarmers.

I'll worry about that later, those little details. I'm contending with, as you can see in my newest post, reporting a compilation error when using the version of GCC in ubuntu 17.10. I was meaning to actually do something entirely different but you made me realise, that if I don't get this ball rolling, that as an informed and aware person with stake, I can be somewhat responsible if I have not taken actions I know how to take, that can bring forward resolution, if I get enough other people supporting this.

that would explain a lot... thanks for the education ;)

please explain How to unhide flagged posts for everyone?
Must you "promote" or does it take massive amounts of upvotes to remove flag state?
Or is it a structural feature that flagged posts can't be unflagged?
I went to steemd in an effort to learn more - not sure how to see who flagged the post but I see @sneak with the only thumb-down symbol for this post, what does that mean?

My wish is to have steemit transparency, improved structure and a massive community turnout to discuss the Calibrae fork - cheers!

PS: @elfspice is this (zero $0.00 payout for upvotes) also a feature of the flagged post setting?

To unhide post caused to be hidden by downvotes, you have to upvote it more than it is downvoted. The downvote can also be reset to zero, and by this, removed.

Flags are just downvotes. If the reward sum drops below some negative number, the steemit.com interface hides it.

Yes, @sneak is attempting to censor this post, because it makes him, and his buddies look bad.

@elfspice thanks for the explanation I wish I had a whale upvote for this post!
I've been discussing this with others and they didn't know about this and asking if this is real - I am sharing and my wish is for others to share this too.
Perhaps in the days ahead I will post details and quote some of you non-flamatory comments and request steemians to consider supporting Calibrae - thanks m8, and Cheers.

I think you only need to share the link to furion's post, if he hasn't redacted it under pressure from Steemit. Other people are starting to repeat the same sort of thing as well.

I don't regret being inflammatory in this process at all. I had very good justifications for being pissed off at having my genuine concerns, which have been building for months, astroturfed like @sneak, in particular has been doing. He locked me out of contributing to the github, so, it is only right that I should be forking, I was not given a better option. Their attitude towards contribution is a massive mismatch with the MIT licence.

You are most welcome to drop the #calibrae tag to point people at the growing collection of posts, of course, I see you have now got a post under the tag already :)

Why is the first link a Facebook referral?

P.S. I'm following these posts very closely, but I'm too ignorant to have an opinion or comments on the matter, so all I'd like to add is please keep it up.

oops, my bad. Good of you to check that. I'm not sure, maybe because I c&p from an fb chat. what a sneaky bunch of cunts.

Yeah FB does that with nearly every link. When I actually use FB, I keep it sandboxxed in its own browser, and copy/paste links that I want to see in firefox. The referral link is a constant pain in my ass, and sometimes they trail the link with ..... so I can't even copy/paste, and instead have to google keywords I find in the bloated FB link.

Also, I sent you that link via a transfer memo on @l0k1. Is there a better way to get in touch with you? I guess you left the GnB discord, so now I can't direct message you on there.

Come to the steempunks discord server

https://discord.gg/AmyB6ee

You can find my youtube channel and facebook links on my profile, so I guess also you can use Hangouts

I don't mean to kick the bee's nest here, but...

In my opinion you are flapping here. By that I mean you are bouncing around between a project and this 'fight'.

I am quite keen to see what you get done on DIV so it seems to me you are wasting time shouting about Steem and Steemit.

Perhaps I misunderstand, looking forward to seeing an update on DIV

Hah! Flapping. Remember, the main reason for DIV is the abject failure of Stinc to deliver anything they promise. Not to mention they have now also shut me out of the development process entirely.

@benjojo made me realise that I am abandoning the community, which is inconsistent with my position, as well as not fun for my social life, such as it is.

I agree, I would like to end the shouting, but really, think about the arc of the story here. I first started as one of the most enthusiastic, I was doing my best to make a living out of it, and prove the concept. I started running a witness with the intention of extending the platform in some way.

The biggest problem is that Stinc's failure also takes away from me the community I have got so enmeshed in, so many friends, my whole social life is in here. So, forking steem, is about me doing what I can to try and keep what was good, and throw away what was bad. The in-crowd won't be coming along, I can almost guarantee it. I like this, because they distort everything about the platform, from the upvoting of titties and trading hax, and the self-upvoting of the platform's most notorious self-upvoter, and his opinions about whatever his current neurosis is.

I just want to see what happens when there is an alternative to steemit's version, who comes across, and how many developers want to work on it, and for that matter, how many investors will buy in that were repelled by stinc and their premine.

Most of all, I want to prove these trolls wrong.

But I will just build the new place, and then whether anything happens, depends on how many people want to actually do something to make a new place work. It's gonna be a big 'money where your mouth is' to anyone else who was hating the way things were going. Now, it is an open project, not owned by stinc, and their gaggle of premined witnesses. How serious are people about their freedom?

I'm researching the long term viability of STEEM and Steemit to determine how much I should invest in this platform and while most of this goes over my head, my biggest concern is that this is supposed to be "decentralized", but it seems like the only people that can change anything here is the corporate dev team. Am I wrong in that assumption?

I'm really liking your ideas on the fork by the way. Sent you an FB friend request.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85