Sort:  

Good post, Scott. I especially like the analogy about the sand castle. I'm gonna keep that in my toolkit, because explaining why I'm not in favor of IP laws generally just leaves people confounded, and I think that's a really simple way of making the point.

Resteemed!

Lots to like here, I couldn't agree more.
I expanded on ways in which being first to market offers huge benefits - Here.

Matt - Thanks! Loved your article! Added reference to it at the bottom of mine. Sue me? ;-)

IP frustrates me and I think you're absolutely right on all points. I would also add that the patent laws don't necessarily stop the theft of ideas from the original inventor, they just protect the first one who patents it and that could be someone who stole it and beat the inventor to the patent office.

Tricky topic. Seems there would be a difference between the ideology and the functional application, in most cases.

I trademarked a healing modality I created because in my primary field (alternative healing/metaphysics) it's not uncommon for larger groups/publishers to scout the web for ideas, make them "their own," trademark them and then sue the person who had the original idea so the inventor can no longer legally use what was — in essence — their own idea. On top of which, the "little person" typically lacks the resources to fight back.

I would be nice to not need at that legalese, though.

Defensive patents; another excellent reason to can the whole thing.
You can always post your method here; it'll be permanently time-stamped :)

I find the inconsistency in copyright law to be fascinating. Like you bring up, a recipe is rarely patented (although it is possible to do so!). A new technology can be patented but it takes enormous resources to get a global patent.
On the other side of this is creative fields like music for example. As soon as I record (in writing or a recording) a new, original, piece of music, it is globally copyrighted without me having to do anything!

I agree that IP-laws probably do more harm than good.

The system is use it or lose it (youre idea, invention)
You dont copywrite it? Someone else can take your new fab idea from you and then you cant do it. Crazy !
Was the patent originally put in to protect inventors? And then we went a little crazy with it and made it so complicated?
Lets research the history of the patent. Cant get rid of it right off, Start with Unravelling it.
As an artist all you have to do is sign your work. Boom. Copyrighted. Even then we all draw inspiration from eachother. Styles and subjects arent copywrite. Art movements are started and spread. I could go picasso or h.r. Giger style it up & so long as im not producing replicas and passing them off as theirs I'm solid!

Hey @scottermonkey, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99