Interview: Randy Hencken of the Seasteading Institute, Blue Frontiers, and VARYON!

in #voluntaryism6 years ago (edited)

It was a pleasure to interview Randy Hencken today, the Managing Director and Cofounder of Blue Frontiers (@bluefrontiers) who has been working since 2011 to promote new systems of governance and sustainable living with floating systems for freedom, liberty, and human flourishing. I've been following the Seasteading story for quite some time, and I'm very excited about the potential here. Randy and I met at the Tulip Conference in San Francisco last month, and he was gracious enough to give me some time to do this interview today. To find out more, please view the links below.

https://www.seasteading.org/
https://www.blue-frontiers.com/
https://varyon.io/

As of the posting of this video, you can still participate in the Varyon public presale! I was not paid in any way to put this interview together, but did it because I want to see this project succeed. I look at this as an investment in the future model of how humanity chooses to govern itself and not be owned by nation states.

The video Randy mentioned during the interview can be seen here:
The Mexican Town That Kicked Out Politicians And Started Over (HBO)
"In Mexico's cycle of violence, the key ingredient is the state. Remove that ingredient, and it's possible to start from scratch."

Please follow Seasteading and Blue Frontiers on YouTube.

Here's the full 50 minute interview where we talk a bit about Voluntaryism, the history of the Seasteading Institute as a think tank, how they created Blue Frontiers to actually implement their ideas, and the introduction of the VARYON token to raise funds and empower the Seasteading community to directly participate and benefit from their efforts. I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for watching! Do you enjoy this interview format? I did one last week talking about WISE, and I do enjoy them. Let me know what you think in the comments.

Full disclosure, I do plan to purchase some VARYON tokens, but this is not financial advice of any kind. This is for information and education only. If you choose to participate in their public pre-sale or main offering, please read everything carefully and make your own informed opinion. Others like Eric Vorhees seem to be excited about it also:

If you have any questions, please leave them in the comments below and as always I'll try to answer if I can or find someone who can.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I've been keeping up with it also
One thing I'd very much like to see more about is the Technology of the SeaSteads.

Yeah, that was a fun part of the conversation for sure.

I always see your post and resteenit done.

WARNING! The comment below by @erudire leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Thank you for sharing, I hope you can pay attention to me, can give me a like
Thank you so much to visit my blog. Stay with me and get more post about travel, photography, life, story, love, technology and motivation etc. Please upvote, comment and resteem my post. Again thank you so much

I think the work you're doing is very interesting and worth admiring, @lukestokes. I have not read to you before and I am sincerely impressed with the projects you are carrying out. I applaud Randy Hencken's initiatives. The planet needs some societies to tell some governments, enough. It is we who make the change, we cannot allow them to continue to act with impunity. Congratulations and good luck.

Nice Luke, which sw did you use for the conference?

Which "sw"? Not sure what you mean.

I mean the name of the software to do or to record the 2 videos simultaneously

Ah, this was a Zoom call recording. I confused by “conference” since we mentioned the Tulip conference on the call.

This post was upvoted by @steemybot, Send at least 0.01 STEEM or SBD and get an upvote. Join my discord server for a free upvote for each post.
@steemybot our mission is to support high quality posts which raise the profile and value of the STEEM Blockchain.

This is an amazing project. The idea has been around for years, but no one has put the effort in until now.
Blue Frontiers with their Varyon token will revolutionize the seasteading concept. Thanks.

I hope you don't mind if I use your popularity to spread some anarchy?

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@evolutionnow/what-is-capitalism-what-is-non-anarchy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68