"Entry [1]- Voice of Steemit Short Story Contest" - SHE'S THE ONE

in #voiceshares7 years ago (edited)

There was a time when I was extremely happy, and everything was perfect. When I was blessed with a great job, which paid a handsome salary; I had a big grand house and a very interesting love story.

For a person like me, who needs everything to be perfect, a small imperfection can cause of distress. Well this time it was not just any small imperfection. It was just my nights. Nights filled with nightmares that kept me awake all in fear and despair. Nights that were causing stress between me and Riya.

Speaking of Riya, she was like a fine angel. Our first encounter was in a pub, between those aesthetically pleasing lights and music. She was standing with an enigmatic aura around her, and at that moment, the voice inside of me said that she was the one. After that, I decided to never let her go., I tried my best and everything to win her heart. Eventually I did, and our small incident turned into a good relationship.
100-Handicrafts-oil-font-b-painting-b-font-Pop-Art-the-font-b-cigar-b-font.jpg
Being the one responsible, I had to made sure that Riya would never want for anything. I pampered her with gifts and love and all the attention she needed. It made her feel like she was on top of the world, just like the perfect relationship we were creating.

I have to admit, that I am very lucky. Most people are ruled by the desire to be in control, or greed. Some are ruled by their past memories. But me it was only the love. Love can make you do anything and everything
It’s the greatest motivator.

Riya, being in love with me, became concerned over the nightmares I was having, and in some ways it started to affect her too. She felt something bad was going to happen.

The nightmares were common every night now, the only thing I had shared with her about the nightmare is that "I see myself, standing in a dense jungle with a eerie atmosphere. I’m standing in the middle of it, unable to move, witnessing a moving black figure. As each day passed, the black figure in the dreams was getting closer."As it was getting closer, the events in the house were getting worse too. Riya started to feel cold and felt sick.

Things got worse when her belongings were lost or misplaced. The untimely howling of the dogs around the house, and some other women’s hairs all were over the place. She was so freaked out that she asked for help from the priests, but even with those , things would be normal for few days, then it would start again with the double intensity.

I was just having nightmares, she was living the nightmares.

One night before, when I woke up suddenly after having a nightmare only to realise Riya was not beside me, I got scared and started to look for her. I searched in each and every room, but found no sign of her. Then I saw the main gate was open. Without wasting a second I went out to look for her. Then I saw her, she was sleepwalking. I was relieved, yet a bit terrified because she was heading towards the place I kept seeing in the dreams.

I tried to stop and call her, but she couldn't stop, as if she was being controlled. As she went ahead the place was getting darker and colder, and getting apungent smell. It was becoming intolerable, then Riya stopped and woke up from her sleep state.

Before either of us could react, a ghost appeared in front of us, giving us a glimpse of it. Looking straight into our eyes with a big smile on her pale face with dark eyes.

Making Riya fall unconscious.
A few hours later she woke up and found herself being tied to the cross, surrounded by few people in masks with strange symbols all over them.

She asked, terrified,"Who are you people? Why am I tied like this? What's happening?? Please don't hurt me "

The leader answered."You were the chosen one, your life shall be sacrificed to bring back the dead one."

After this announcement, leader gave the signal to start the ritual. A ritual which involved slowly piercing her body with the blade so she could bleed and be covered in blood.

A strange dance circled around her with the drums beats going on to initiate and invite the dead to posses her. The ritual went on for few hours, then finally the lady ghost appeared. She made her way by crawling all over her body and sucking the blood out of her. To make the alive one dead and dead one alive.


Image source:Link

Sort:  

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

very nice story.

"To make the alive one dead and dead one alive."

Talk about a cliff hanger. I found you via a back and forth between you and @andrianna during her butterfly post. And I found her because of a posted comment from @magicalwolf , who I found because I am new and got lucky when I was looking at new post stream, and saw his post about Leah and Dragonborn song. Life is a big circle, don't know why I typed all that, just thought you would like to know how I found you.

It's amazing right, how we get connected from one post to another one through a mutual interest or a comment.
And thank you for reading the story :)

Yes, it is one of the things I like about this forum. Finding and enjoying what others have to say/share, and catching the odd little motes as they drift by.

What a story! At the start I felt it's going to be a romantic one then it turned into a thriller but I was taken aback when it was none but a horror story. Great one. Will it have a part-2 or is it all over? 😎

Im glad that you enjoyed the story @xyzashu :D I think it will be better, left to the imagination of reader to consider it the end or something more

Wow! A mortal sacrifice! Sad ending tho! Thanks for this post

Yeah bro, i watch lots of horror n thrillers movies so kept the ending like this :D btw thanks for reading

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Vishal09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51