Vocab-ability Suffix–348 (__itis = inflammatory disease, bad condition) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.)

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.   
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

I hope you won't mind this post (it's not really related in any way to your current publication).

I've been just wondering if you joined PALnet airdrop (PALnet is a token build on Steem-engine).

If you didn't claim it then perhaps I could ask you for small favour. Would you consider claiming your tokens and selling or delegating it to me for few months? I would obviously pay you some STEEM for those tokens (I can even pay for delegation - I want to invest some time and money into that platform).

How to claim your token?

a) login in http://palnet.io/ (it's build on STEEM blockchain, so you will use same login details)
b) login in steem-engine.com
c) claim your tokens -> to do that you need to open steem-engine.com and go to "wallet". In left-top corner you will have PALnet (blue colour) logo. Click on it and claim your PAL tokens.
d) go to your palnet wallet and either transfer your PAL tokens to crypto.piotr or STAKE it and delegate to me (click STAKE and then "advanced" and simply type in my username).

Amount of received tokens depend mostly on your current level of SP (I'm not sure if delegations are being taken into consideration as well).

So based on my current experience, if you have 200 STEEM POWER then you should be able to receive something around 100-150 PALnet tokens.
I would pay you 10 STEEM for purchasing each 100 of those PAL tokens. So basically you can earn something and help me grow on this particular platform, making both of us happy :) Plus you would sell/delegate those tokens without bringing down their current price (you won't need to dump them on exchange).

You would earn some extra STEEM and I would have higher STAKE in this platform.

I've only 500 STEEM I can spent on that purpose (plus airdrop will not last forwer) so HURRY UP :) :)

Cheers,
Piotr

Hello, Piotr

Your messages are always welcome.

A few weeks back, gandhibaba told me about the airdrop and helped me to claim my coins. I have ... 1,933 PALcoins, accessible thru either SteemEngine or my PALnet wallet.

I don't want to sell them, but I'd gladly delegate them to you. Do you know of any "Delegation Manager" for those coins? If so, just provide me with the link, and I'll take care of it.

How's life in good ol' Poland?!?! I hope you are doing well, and enjoying most of your time there.

The rainy season has come here to CM, so many of the days are cloudy, overcast, and therefore a bit cooler. Very nice!

Cheers!

Dear @majes.tytyty

Thank you for your prompt reply buddy.

I must admit that I miss you sometimes. Are you sure you won't consider having skype,telegram,whatsapp or facebook so I could sometimes call and have a little laughter with you? As far as I remember every time I meet you I ended up laughing a lot :) I miss that shit.

I don't want to sell them, but I'd gladly delegate them to you.
Do you know of any "Delegation Manager" for those coins? If so, just provide me with the link, and I'll take care of it.

That would be quite excellente. We only need to figure out how much would I need to pay you for that delegation? And would you consider delegating it for few months (let's say till end of the year)?

I also just discovered PALnet few days ago and so far I couldn't find any tools that would help to manage delegations. All I know is that you can click "stake" and then "advanced" and type someones username and he will get your "delegation".

ps. Poland has been hit with wave of hot temperatures. Almost 40 degrees. Insane. But yeah, I'm quite enjoying my time here :) Thx for asking.

What bout yourself ? Hope you're doing fine in CM :)

Yours
Piotr

I sometimes miss you too, as we always had wonderful conversations, and in fact always had too many things to talk about. And every few weeks, I cycle up to the HUG gym and have there amazing chicken and salad plate. I sit there and read my magazine, but it's not the same as chatting with you.

For how long would you like to have the delegation? (Until the end of the year would be fine)

And how much can you afford to pay me? As you should realize, I don't need much, and I'd be glad to help you out. Right now, they're not doing anything in my wallet.

40 degrees in Poland!! That's hotter than here. This evening, I cycled to ThaPae gate and back, and did not even break into a sweat. There was a nice cool breeze.

Cheers!

p.s. From what I understand, a PALcoin "stake" is the same as a Steem "delegation," right?

Hi @majes.tytyty

Would you have any photo from any of our meetings? Perhaps you could send me some via email?

And how much can you afford to pay me? As you should realize, I don't need much, and I'd be glad to help you out. Right now, they're not doing anything in my wallet.

It's a good question lol. I didn't actually think it through well enough. However I would like to suggest something. Solution that could potentially benefit both of us.

What if I would vote every single of your post with permanent 50% (currently I've over 20k voting power, but I'm constantly investing into STEEM and growing)? You're posting pretty much every day so in half year it would end up quite some decent amount.

And I know that my upvotes would be supporting one of the most valuable author here on Steemit :)

Just let me know if you think that it's a fair deal. I didn't really calculate much, it's only just an idea.

ps.
I presume that this time I still didn't manage to encourage you to install any software that would allow us to call each other sometimes? :) lol

Yours
Piotr

I have FaceTime. Will that work?

Also, please ensure me that I'm correct in assuming that a PALcoin "stake" is the same as a Steem "delegation."

And yes, I'll be content with the permanent 50% upvote.
----addition
About 5 minutes ago, I sent you a trial-send of 10 PALcoins, but it hasn't registered in either my wallet or your wallet. I'll check back later ...

Dear @majes.tytyty

I don't have facetime but I will download it and learn how to use it just to stay in touch :) Can it be installed on desktop/laptop?

Also, please ensure me that I'm correct in assuming that a PALcoin "stake" is the same as a Steem "delegation."

Very correct :)

And yes, I'll be content with the permanent 50% upvote.

LOVE IT! :)

ps.
Check out my latest post and drop some supportive comment :)

Cheers,
Piotr

The 10 PALs that I sent are somewhere in oblivion. https://www.palnet.io/@majes.tytyty/transfers

Notice that my balance is down 10 PALs from 16 days ago, when I claimed 1,933. And that 10 is NOT in your wallet, is it? Do you have any idea where they could have gone?

If you can figure out how I can send some to you, please advise me, and I'll try again.

Oh wow. This is very strange.

I will try to reach out to PALnet developers and ask them about what's the problem.

If you can figure out how I can send some to you, please advise me, and I'll try again.

Instead of sending them, stake those PAL coins.

cc: @aggroed, @AusBitBank, @swelker101 - could you please help us out?

Yours
Piotr

In fact, I did try "Staking" them to you. That's what I meant when I said I would try to "send" them to you.

Hope we can figure this out.

My Vocab Practice

1.- Five years ago I was sick with bronchitis and at the same time I had pharyngitis and I was hoarse for a week.

2.-Every so often, I do not know why, my neighbor gets tonsillitis and requires antibiotics to be injected three times a week interdiarily.

3.-When a person suffers from appendicitis he feels a lot of pain and needs to be operated urgently.

4.-My grandfather required several days of medical rest to present golf-itis, after having participated in a very long tournament.

1 GOLF-ITIS hashtag is going viral on twitter
2 Loss of appetite is one of the early symptom of APPENDICITIS
3 TONSILLITIS sounds too painful to imagine
4 I suffered from BRONCHITIS in October last year, a terrible disease


Good work! But ... Please be sure to begin your entry with "MY VOCAB PRACTICE"

Oh yes noted. :)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. BRONCHITIS is a deadly medical condition that requires urgent medical attention
  2. TONSILLITIS is a medical condition that is evident by the swelling up of the tonsils
  3. APPENDICITIS is a medical condition caused by rupture of the appendix
  4. I have never heard of a medical condition called GOLF-ITIS. Does it exist?

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. I laughed when i heard there is a medical condition such as GOLF-ITIS
  2. Do you know people suffer from APPENDICITIS?
  3. He cant swallow food because he has TONSILLITIS
  4. His chest infection was diagnosed as BRONCHITIS

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Is there a difference between pneumonia and BRONCHITIS?
  2. Is TONSILLITIS a terminal disease?
  3. APPENDICITIS is caused by stones lodged in the appendix. Is this a fact?
  4. GOLF-ITIS seems like a comical medical condition to me.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. If you leave BRONCHITIS untreated, it could have disastrous health effects
  2. Swollen tonsils are the effects of the medical condition called TONSILLITIS
  3. An ill managed appendix organ will eventually develop APPENDICITIS
  4. GOLF-ITIS is caused by a long deprivation of playing golf.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. It's a shame that people still die from bronchitis in some part of the world.
  2. The Doctor told us that there's no evidence to substantiate the claim that obese kids are prone to tonsillitis.
  3. I dreaded eating fruits with seed growing up as a child because of appendicitis.
  4. I can't believe Mr. Brown is suffering from golf-itis barely 2 weeks into the season, I belt he doesn't known his endorsement deals are at stake!

Thanks!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. bronchitis
    When I was eating too much ice cream, my mom was scared to not have bronchitis.
  2. tonsillitis
    The kid who suffered from tonsillitis couldn't pass the surgery due to incompetent medics.
  3. appendicitis
    All my friends have appendicitis when they were kids.
  4. golf-itis
    I can imagine many presidents from the US are suffering from golf-itis.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Bronchitis:
    The teacher briefed us about bronchitis when he saw the old man smoking.

  2. Tonsillitis:
    The conference the president attended yesterday was themed "tonsillitis".

  3. Appendicitis:
    After suffering from appendicitis, Frank was scheduled for an immediate surgery.

  4. Golf-itis:
    His success in golf was associated to golf-itis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77