Vocab-ability–54 (deb = owe) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.    
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Debt
    When in debt, eat less pizza and more ramen noodles.

  2. Indebtedness
    Dont allow indebtedness to be the blinds that causes you to forget to take care of yourself.

  3. Indebted
    I am forever indebted to the person who sold their sperm that I may be a blessed with such a beautiful baby girl.

  4. Debit
    Learn how to handle your debit and your credit will take care of itself.

P.S. I love this seemingly simple activity but it is very helpful in practicing vocabulary that we may not take the time to practice otherwise. Thank you for this @majes.tytyty


You're very welcome. Yes, it is a simple activity, but the way one learns a language is through use, practice, and repetition.

In these Vocab Practice exercises, you get to do those 3 activities, at least in reading and writing. But if you review them, you will eventually use these words in you conversation.

Thanks for your kind words of appreciation. I hope you enjoy the next 300-plus Vocab Practice exercises.

Best of luck in your learning!

Indeed...very useful. Thank you

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Debt
    The bank had hired hitmen to collect the debts from their nonresponsive customers.
  2. Indebtedness
    After being saved by the bell, I felt indebtedness for my coach who helped me survive such a powerful punch to the face.
  3. Indebted
    Everytime he pays for my meals, I feel indebted to be kind to him.
  4. Debit
    Your debit card was declined because Master Card forgot to renew its Visa for travelling internationally.


You should read the book "Confessions of an Economic Hitman."

The story in your sentence is like child's play compared to what happens in "international finance."

That really sounds like an appealing book for me! I will look that up :) thank you!

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1- debt
Her debt is paid by someone else.

2- Indebtedness
The indebtedness let all the governement know The amount of responsibility they have.

3- Indebted
I always find him in my side i'm indebted to him.

4- debit
Your account has a 100$ of debit .

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Debt
    In Sicily, having a debt of money is a lost of honor.

  2. Indebtedness
    Indebtedness of making you feel at home and hosting you is a big part of Sicilian culture.

  3. Indebted
    Italians are indebted with Sicilian for rising up high reputation in food.

  4. Debit
    Sicily is the European region with one of the highest debits in to their public accounts.

Loss of honor, and (sometimes) loss of life, they say.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1- debt
Debt is the amount that we take from someone for a specific period of time and we are bound to give it back in the selected period.

2- Indebtedness

if I take money for him I will be under his indebtedness.

3- Indebted
I am very indebted to him for helping me through this hard time.

4- debit
The amount of 30,000 PKR was debited to my account by my friend.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Debt
    My company is still struggling with its debts even after the consecutive profitable years.
  2. Indebtedness
    To cut the prices and provide relief to the public, the government should reduce indebtedness.
  3. Indebted
    I am indebted to my many friends for all the favors they have been providing me.
  4. Debit
    My recent transaction wasn't debited from my account due to a public holiday.


Re #4, banks do NOT take public holidays. They may close for the day, but they still manage to steal your money – 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

Death to all banksters.

What about this!: My recent transaction was debited from my account on the next day due to a public holiday.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1- Debt
My brother has 10 days to pay the debt

2- Indebtedness
The country must find a solution to the problem of excessive indebtedness.

3- Indebted
I am indebted to Mr. Frank for helping me with my homework

4- Debit
My account has a 427$ of debit .

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Debt
    now a days banks are also giving the facility to buy a car on debt.
  2. Indebtedness
    We fell in indebtedness due to poverty.
  3. Indebted
    it was necessary for him to pay indebted amount by 2017.
  4. Debit
    Can you please me 100$ on Debit?

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Debt
    The government has taken another debt to fulfill its needs.
  2. Indebtedness
    Unemployment is one of the reason behind Indebtedness.
  3. Indebted
    My friend has indebted a handsome amount of money from his boss.
  4. Debit
    My debit card can be used for online shopping.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE.

  1. Debt
    Debt is the amount that bank gives and take interest on it.

  2. Indebtedness
    My father was indebtedness of my uncle.

  3. Indebted
    I am very indebted that you came on a this short notice.

  4. Debit
    I opened account in bank but they didn't issued me debit card.

Oh sorry sir, i didn't saw it, i'm editing my comment.

@majes.tytyty i have corrected the mistake, you can now check my vocab practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82