#5 Beach Day - Sort Of

in #vlog6 years ago


When I was in college, I went to a somewhat religions Shabbat dinner of a guy I met on campus. Had never been to anything like that and had no idea what to expect.

I'll tell the full story some other time, but suffice to say it was one of the most prolonged awkward experiences that I had ever been through until that point in my life. I was out of my element, uncomfortable, and really just wanted to escape.

But I stuck it through the entire evening, not out of some esoteric desire to improve myself, but because I didn't want to be rude to the hosts.

I ended up staying and after a few hours, managed to loosen up and have a good time. The next week, I went back and met someone who had joined the Israeli army and had just returned. I was so impressed with him as a human being (and also secretly hungered for a military experience), that I instantly made the decision that I wanted to copy him and do what he did.

That decision ultimately changed my life in ways that I never could have imagined. I definitely didn't get what I wanted at first, not what I expected, but what I did get was still immensely more valuable than what I would have gotten if I had just spent the evening on my couch.

If I hadn't stuck through that uncomfortable situation, I never would have ended up where I am today. I don't know where I'd be, but I doubt I'd be living the life that I do now.

I forgot why I started talking about this. Anyway, here's a video.

Stalk me on these other places:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/yourtimetoshine111/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/stuartoden/
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@yallapapi
Website: http://yallapapi.com/
Agency: https://omnifarious.co
YouTube: bit.ly/2wtAbPg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Now I see the real you. You don’t look like the Nutty Professor! Lol!

Lol

LOL yeah man I'm definitely not a fat black guy. Weird how everyone thought that's what I looked like

@sadkitten is countering 50% of @haejin self-votes for 1 week starting Friday, August 31st 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

I like the write-up the video.
Forgot what I was gonna say.

Nice video @yallapapi.
I think some how you did the right thing not lying and just telling this person that you knew about their hotel... There could have been follow up questions that you might not have been able to "bullshit" your way out of...

Cheers!

/FF

True. He might end up seeing them later and they respect the honesty

Lets hope so! =)
/FF

hello how you get uppower

forgot why I started talking about this. Anyway, here's a video

Loool. Thumbs up for holding through and eventually benefitting

Congratulations @yallapapi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28