HELP! I'm Thinking of Starting A VLOG! Any advice?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vlog6 years ago

So I'm thinking of starting a VLOG, but before we get into that, maybe I should introduce myself to the Steemit community. My name is Tyler and I live in the big apple, yup, thats right - New York City. The hustle and bustle here has taught me so much as an individual and I'm sure anyone from ANY city can relate. Anyways - I'm 24 and I'm also newly engaged ( I proposed on December 21st, 2017), I'm a U.S. Navy Veteran, I attend Fordham University and study Economics and I work as a regulatory compliance analyst. I enjoy sports and somewhat partying on the weekends, but not really lol.

So back to this VLOG idea, the reason I want to start one is because I truly feel my personality and perspective on things are very unique - and maybe people would be interested to hear it. So I've started recording on my iPhone 7Plus and have a lamp (just a regular one) I use for lighting. I know, I know, super basic right? But hey, its the bootstrapping way of starting up though!

Also, this is my first blog post ever lol . So I'm not sure if this is good - or if its complete garbage. Honestly, I love constructive criticism because I believe it makes you better and improve efficiently on your weaknesses.

Well - gonna conclude it here. Please, please, please leave some advice, topics, questions, feedback, ANYTHING about VLOG start-ups. What cameras do you think I should get etc..

Also, I'm brand new to the community so I'm looking for blogs to read and people to meet. Steemit looks like a genuine place to share content and I'm excited to be apart of it!

Thanks Everyone!!

-TylerJaret

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @tylerjaret!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Hi how are you? Welcome on Steemit my friend and really cool intro ! If you want to start a blog you should really write about your passion and stick to it (that's my humble opinion :p) I would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Hey, I'm doing great thanks for asking! Also, thanks for your feedback - it's simple yet essential advice, and I like that. I sent you a follow back because I'm thinking of including some created music in my vlogs as well. It cant have a copyright on it :/

So I'm be looking forward to reading your posts and getting to learn your music.

-TylerJaret

Great glad to connect Tyler ! And i look forward to supporting and reading your next posts. Peace. CS

Welcome to Steemit tylerjaret. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! Welcome to the blockchain

Hey janne - Thank you so much for all this pertinent information. I'll be sure to definitely inquire about DTube - it sounds most appealing to my goals. All the other blockchain uses sound great as well!

Thanks again

-TylerJaret

Welcome to Steemit Tyler! Glad to have you here. I'm an adventure filmmaker myself, I've been doing it full time for a few years. I post some tutorials and stuff about it on my blog, so check it out if you're interested!

I'd be happy to give you input on a lot of different cameras I've used, steer clear of the gh5 (bad auto-focus), the sony's (like I use) are nice but they don't have a front facing screen, the canon mirrorless have a lot of good features for vlogging. But I'd definitely recommend you keep using your phone just to get used to the workflow. That being said, there are really inexpensive microphones like the rode video micro that would really add a lot to your sound quality. And a cheap flexible tripod will go a long way towards giving you steady footage as you walk and talk.

There are lots of spam accounts on steemit so it might help you to do something to help verify you're a real person. Lots of people post a photo of themselves holding a sign where they've written steemit, their username, and the date. you can also use your other social media accounts to verify they're real, like have your steemit username linked in your Facebook bio and facebook linked here. It's not mandatory, but it helps. I hope you do well here on this platform. Let me know if you have any questions or need help with anything.

p.s. It's a better deal to select the 50/50 option for your rewards. You get more of your payout that way, It's a little complicated as to why, but there are lots of videos about it.

Hey Jeff,

Thanks for your advice - it was ALL very helpful. I'll do some research on iPhone specific mounts and attachments. I'll check out your page and I'm sure I'll find some tips.

Also, thanks for the verification tip!

-TylerJaret

No problem man! I'd also recommend an "L bracket" (around $5 on amazon) It lets you mount your camera and a microphone conveniently, and helps keep it steady. I also like to use Aliexpress to save some money on stuff like phone mounts and tripods, lots of it is the same stuff you'll find on amazon, but usually much cheaper (longer shipping time though, usually 2-3 weeks)

Hola amigo bienvenido , te deseo mucho éxito en esta comunidad

No habla espanol. Los siento :/

No habla espanol. Los siento :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44