SMASHING GEODES WITH A HAMMER | The Roving Vlogger Day 73 (2017-12-11)

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)

We received a "Break Your Own Geodes Box" last year for Christmas, and since the holidays are rolling around again we need to make some room for this year's present (which is hopefully nothing material, but our families seem incapable of following that request).

According to Ancient Treasure Adventures Comic Series vol. 5, "Geodes are Formed by igneous volcanic gas bubbles that were trapped in lava or volcanic tuff then later in time metamorphose. These incredible Formations were encapsulated into a round like rock with the inner crystals pointing to the center."

Or, as Davin summarizes for the kids out there: "So rocks with crystals inside uh?" (I'm not sure what this uh means. Is it in understanding like eh? Or is he also confused about Gemma's improper capitalization of all words beginning with the letter F?)

Here's a picture of a geode compliments of Wikipedia:

Nash and Devlin made breaking the geodes look easy. I didn't want to smash my rock to pieces, but this meant I tapped away at it for a full 5 minutes with nothing but dust to show for my efforts. Nash broke it for me in one hit.

It was a sad day on my quest to be a "strong, independent female." But at least I had a box full of sparkly rocks!

The guide that came in the box hinted at all sorts of wondrous possibilities for what could be inside our geodes. Would they be full of angel wing calcite, amethyst, or super-fine druzy? Nope. Ours contained plain old quartz.

I dragged Nash and Devlin on a freezing walk so we could scatter the geode pieces around for unsuspecting walkers to find. Yup, I littered on purpose. Hopefully the geodes don't continue to grow into some invasive species crystal-network that destroys the ecosystem.

If anyone wants to do some "geode-caching", one of the geodes is located at approximately 47.674724, -122.130744.

Have you ever smashed a geode or found one in the wild? Let me know!
-Katie, @therovingreader

Sort:  

they r so cool, I have never heard of them

They are really cool! Even if we didn't get any"super high-quality" ones haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54