You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Vlog] Countdown to Mayweather vs McGregor PART III: MMA vs Boxing, Weight Cutting, Fight Prediction

in #vlog7 years ago

You bring up the most important aspect of this fight and in my opinion, one of the big 3 keys in fighting, the "gas tank". You mentioned the old Vince Lombardi quote of how "fatigue makes cowards out of all of us", this is 100% correct and for anyone who has every competed in sport, running on an empty gas tank while your opponent is coming guns ablazin' at you is quite a demoralizing and helpless feeling. It saps your confidence and robs you of you're belief in your self to get the job done.

This is what I believe will play out. Starting around rounds 5-6 I think we start to see Conor slow down a bit. When he does, I think this is where Floyd starts to go after him more.

I know where you're coming from on the weight cutting issues with MMA. I've had different thoughts throughout the years on this, and I think a lot depends on the individual. I've seen fighters perform at the highest levels consistently dropping a ton of weight while others it seems to sap all their strength. One aspect of cutting weight I think has been fairly obvious, the older a fighter gets, the much harder it is to cut the weight and it seems to definitely affect their game as age progresses. I've heard quite a few fighters talk about how the cut affects their cardio also, which is what I think we'll see tonight.

It's finally here man! Can't wait. I hope we see a great fight. I think we could definitely see some fireworks in the early rounds, but as the night wears on I see Floyd slowly taking control of this fight as Conor tires. I hope I'm wrong and we see a battle of heart, will, pride and skill for 12 rounds. It would be the best thing for both sports and hopefully open many casual fans eyes to why I think the "sweet science", boxing and now MMA, are the best sports in the world. Enjoy the fight man!

Sort:  

Great comment as always. I wish I had more time to respond quicker and more fully but I do read them and appreciate the thought you put into them.

You should blog more. You have a lot of insight to bring to this platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66099.02
ETH 3560.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16