[Vlog] Countdown to Mayweather vs McGregor PART III: MMA vs Boxing, Weight Cutting, Fight Prediction

in #vlog7 years ago

So here we are

The morning of the biggest fight in combat sport of this era. Whether you think it is going to be spectacular superfight or a farce, it hard to ignore the fact that when Floyd Mayweather meets Conor McGregor in a boxing ring we will be witnessing an extraordinary event in Sport.


mayweather_mcgregor.jpg

Weighing up the chances

I watched the weigh-in last night. And it occurred to me just how extreme the weight cut in MMA is. Yes boxer cut weight but not to the same degree as MMA fighters. I've become accustomed to seeing MMA fighters close to passing out in order to make weight. Then rehydrating and throwing down during the fight like nothing happened.

With the rise of smaller fighters in their weight class achieving success. I'm thinking Robert Whittaker and Kelvin Gastum at Middleweight. I'm wondering whether there may slowly be a shift away from fighters trying to squeeze into the lowest weight class possible.

If you think about Anthony 'Rumble' Johnson and how he struggled as a welterweight. Yet was an absolute monster with pound-for-pound the hardest punch at light heavyweight. You wonder how many fighters are actually fighting at their optimum.


Anthony-Johnson-Before-After.jpg

I think this fight could shed some light on that. I expect McGregor to be the bigger and stronger man come fight night. When he ties up with Mayweather, I don't just expect him to be technically superior in the clinch but to be physically stronger. However one thing that has intrigued me about Mayweather is that he always turns out to be stronger than he looks when he fights. If Mayweather looks strong and is able to compete in the clinch with McGregor, it might be continued cause to question the sanity of extreme weight cutting in MMA.

Fortune-telling

As for the fight. I expect McGregor to put the pressure on Mayweather early and I don't expect Floyd to live up to his pre-fight pledge to reciprocate. I expect Mayweather to concede ground and throw potshots on the back foot.

I think McGregor's window of opportunity exists in the first three of four rounds. In those early rounds he needs to do something no-one has done in 49 fights against Mayweather and that is seriously rock him. If he manages to land on Mayweather then all bets are off and the fight is up for grabs.

However I cannot see it. I see a lot of endeavour from McGregor early. I see a lot of exciting action. But ultimately I don't see much punishment sticking on teflon Floyd. I think after the fourth round McGregor will fatigue. This is when Mayweather will come into his own. I see Floyd systematically breaking down an exhausted McGregor and forcing a stoppage in the eighth round.

However I'm not wedded to any particular result. May the best man win. Occasions like this do not come around too often so I plan to sit back and enjoy.


mayweather-mcgregor-face-off.jpg

Who knows if we'll ever see an event like this again in our lifetime.

Sort:  

You bring up the most important aspect of this fight and in my opinion, one of the big 3 keys in fighting, the "gas tank". You mentioned the old Vince Lombardi quote of how "fatigue makes cowards out of all of us", this is 100% correct and for anyone who has every competed in sport, running on an empty gas tank while your opponent is coming guns ablazin' at you is quite a demoralizing and helpless feeling. It saps your confidence and robs you of you're belief in your self to get the job done.

This is what I believe will play out. Starting around rounds 5-6 I think we start to see Conor slow down a bit. When he does, I think this is where Floyd starts to go after him more.

I know where you're coming from on the weight cutting issues with MMA. I've had different thoughts throughout the years on this, and I think a lot depends on the individual. I've seen fighters perform at the highest levels consistently dropping a ton of weight while others it seems to sap all their strength. One aspect of cutting weight I think has been fairly obvious, the older a fighter gets, the much harder it is to cut the weight and it seems to definitely affect their game as age progresses. I've heard quite a few fighters talk about how the cut affects their cardio also, which is what I think we'll see tonight.

It's finally here man! Can't wait. I hope we see a great fight. I think we could definitely see some fireworks in the early rounds, but as the night wears on I see Floyd slowly taking control of this fight as Conor tires. I hope I'm wrong and we see a battle of heart, will, pride and skill for 12 rounds. It would be the best thing for both sports and hopefully open many casual fans eyes to why I think the "sweet science", boxing and now MMA, are the best sports in the world. Enjoy the fight man!

Great comment as always. I wish I had more time to respond quicker and more fully but I do read them and appreciate the thought you put into them.

You should blog more. You have a lot of insight to bring to this platform.

Very good analysis. I like ur thinking and I agree. Been saying the same for the most part. Plus now that we see the results we see you were right on!

Wont elaborate much as it seems u don't respond to comments which is fine as I am sure ur super busy. Just not sense in writing much it if never gets seen hahaha.

Thanks. I do read every comments and try to either reply on or upvote the good ones. But it is hard to keep up! So many people engaging with the content it is quite humbling.

Having followed McGregor's career closely in the UFC, it's easy to see that he is a super talented individual. However boxing requires a unique kind of stamina. There is a reason why pros start with 4 rounders and then graduate to 6 then 10 and 12 rounders! Very ambition for any fighter to think they can beat an elite boxer over 12 rounds against in their debut. Not even Lomachenko could manage it!

Yes I understand that most comments are kinda lame, you get a lot and you probably have many other responsibilities including family and work.

Yes I don't know if he really expected to win so much as he wasn't scared and knew it was more money in one fight than he has made his entire life combined.

He is a true warrior that is undebatable. He is also a good showman and business man. That is also now quite apparent. Even if he got destroyed he still would have made the most money on a fight of anyone in history and its his first professional boxing match ever!

HAHHHAHAAHA now that is some success. Also as great as Mayweather is (one of the best boxers of all time if not the best) would have NO chance against McGregor in the octagon where as McGregor did have a chance against him......

Pretty awesome and so much to look at. Just wanted to say that you seem to not only have a lot but a really good feel/comprehension of the fighting world. I enjoyed your posts about it.

It's all very exciting isn't it!

Asin can't wait......

nice video prediction @nanzo-scoop
my version i think Mayweather will win :D
come to my blog to . please :)

interesting to hear your thoughts. I hope it will not be a disappointment and it will NOT be over after few rounds.
it all depends if they will fight from the beginning or if they want to make a show first.
In normal scenario 9 out of 10 times, Mayweather should win.
One is sure PayTv is the biggest winner :)

Mayweather will be the winner. It's box, he has a strong defense, technique and experience.

Conor will quit on the stool or the doctor will stop it. End of Round 7.

McGregor wins a wrestling match decision. The referee (Robert Byrd) has a history of letting participants work their way out of clinches and not separating them. This favors McGregor. Also, McGregor is younger (29), stronger, bigger and in better shape. You can't win on reputation as the Mayweather fans think.

If Mayweather runs and is in better shape than I think, he might win. However, the ex-factor is the judging. Mayweather and McGregor might both claim victory if Mayweather runs and doesn't do much damage to McGregor.
Let's get it on!

Look, this is an amazing stunt pulled off by some very smart businessmen. This aint a fight, It's a charade. It don't believe one bit, that the outcome isn't set up front. They both will make huge money out of it and their entourage even more. And the "people" just buy it. It is insane. Don't spend your money on this crap... Sorry to be so cranky, but that's just my feeling about this.

I'm rooting for the beard man! Hopefully he won't use his legs to kick that SOB. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72