[Vlog] Battle-hardened Mayweather outlasts McGregor to win by TKO. What next?

in #vlog7 years ago


Floyd_Mayweather_vs_Conor_McGregor.jpg

'Cos I can predict these tings'

I don't like to say "I told you so" but Mayweather McGregor went almost exactly as I predicted. McGregor made a fight of it early. Then ran out of steem around round 4 or 5. Mayweather came on strong and forced the stoppage in round ten.

The unexpected

The things that surprised me about this fight? Conor was a lot more technical in the early rounds than I thought he would be. He showed good speed early. He even made Floyd miss and caught him with a few good counters. When things got tough, rather than resorting to grappling and wrestling (there was a bit of that), McGregor attempted to ward Floyd off with boxing. A lot of his work from round five onwards was pit-a-pat punches and it was obvious that the pop of his punches were gone due to fatigue, however McGregor attempted to use boxing nouse not brawn to survive. Which was commendable.

Floyd on the other hand was a lot more aggressive than I thought he would be. I think he was taken aback by Conor's boxing ability and boxing IQ early. However once he saw McGregor tiring in employed the perfect pressure tactics not just to win the bout but to force the stoppage.

Time for Floyd

This absolutely has to be Floyd's last fight. 50-0. A fantastic record and great career. There were signs early on that this was in danger of being one fight to many. Had he been fighting one of the young seasoned elite boxers at 147 (a Keith Thurman or Errol Spence), the Floyd of last night would have been beaten handily. There's no shame in that. Floyd has beaten the best of his generation, he is 41 and has been two years retired. He shouldn't be able to compete with the best boxing has to offer any more. As he said he had chosen the "perfect dance partner" for this last hurrah. Not only was McGregor the most lucrative fight for Floyd, his inexperience meant that he was ill-equipped to go 12 rounds with Mayweather.

It's been a great career for Floyd. He has made the smartest boxing and business decisions. And as such he has set the blueprint for boxers and mma fighters to follow in the years to come.

Money McGregor

I think McGregor has transcended the sport of MMA by the way he has conducted himself before during and after this fight with Mayweather. I have had people that have little or no interest in sport, talk to me about the Mayweather-McGregor fight.

While I'd want to see him compete against the best in MMA. The Khabibs, Tony Fergursons and Kevin Lees of the world. I think it makes more business sense to cherry pick the fights that garner the most revenue. In that sense, fighting Nate Diaz in a trilogy match at the end of the year would be a lucrative proposition. As would a dip back into boxing to fight his new nemesis Paulie Malignaggi. Maybe even a MMA superfight with George St Pierre at 170. These would make the most financial sense. At least until one of the top contenders at 155 bring more to the plate in terms of interest and buys.

Order restored

Either way, a sense of order is restored. Boxing is back into the mainstream consciousness. MMA should see a good bounce from this and continue it's ascent. We have another legend, in Floyd Mayweather to look back on and laud for what they brought to their sport. And we have a new kid on the block, Conor McGregor that will keep us on tender-hooks as we anticipate his next adventure.


FloydMayweather_ConorMcGregor_PostFight.jpg

Until next time,

Peace

Sort:  

The result of the fight did play out as expected, but the journey there was a little different than what I expected to see. I really thought Conor would be rougher on the inside and try to dirty box Floyd ala Maindana on the inside. I even expected a couple elbows, Tyson style while on the inside and for Conor to manhandle Floyd in the early rounds. While I was glad the elbows and rough house tactics didn't occur, I was quite surprised to see Conor try to out box Floyd in the early rounds using angles and controlling the range.

Floyd was definitely a man of his word and took the fight to Conor. As soon as he saw Conor tiring and realized there was no danger as he felt Conor's power, he just waded right in and walked him down. I couldn't believe what I was seeing out of Floyd. He forced he action and put Conor on his bicycle. As soon as Conor started initiated clinches my mind immediately went back to the first Diaz fight when Conor panicked and tried to take Diaz to the ground and got choked out. He was a desperate man and was looking for a breather. Fatigue truly does make a coward out of the best of us, and we all knew it was only a matter of time.

They both gave it their all and put on a great show. From the first press conference to the post fight interviews, these are two champions that "get it". Their as much business men and entertainers as they are fighters. I loved the shove from Floyd after round 5 asking Conor where's the knockout at, I'm still here. He said he did it for the fans to give them a little something extra to see. Floyd will be greatly missed and I feel extremely fortunate to have been able to watch his brilliance over the years. He leaves a huge void in boxing now, and hopefully Canelo or Joshua can fill it. Conor will produce some huge fights in the future and the Diaz trilogy will be a huger draw. My hat is off to both of these great fighters for delivering a great show. A spectacle worthy of it's moniker, "The Money Fight."

I think Mayweather's experience was just too much, 49 Pro fights just can't be written off. I don't agree that this proves that boxing is superior to MMA, actually I think this may prove otherwise, for Mcgregor to perform how he did was just amazing, I cannot see a boxer doing the reverse. However in reality we have nothing because you cannot really compare these two sports. Also Mayweather is clearly past his best, I think you could see that in his previous fight and the way he struggled with Mcgregor early doors.

This fight generated a lot of interest and made both fighters lots of money, it was also better entertainment than some previous boxng fights have shown. So all in all this experiment was actually a success.

@nanzo-scoop you outlined good points and I agree with your analysis. I predicted a win for money man Mayweather via your last post with the same strategy of allowing McGregor to run out of steam and then take him out. McGregor should be glad and happy to get such fight with a once in life time payment and publicity (worldwide) which only Mayweather could offer him. Now is the same for Mayweather to call it a day and retire in peace. Thanks for sharing.
Feel free to see my latest post about Scam issue on steemit. I wish you a blessed week.


Hiyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

next time @nanzo-scoop vs McGregor
WHO Will Win ?
hahaha :D

'lol' that's easy... There is a reason he is getting 10s of millions of dollars a fight and I am blogging on Steemit!!

Hhaaa @nanzo-scoop cant win @imamaii
But he can win on steemit 😃

Haha.. I do think so

I think the TKO supports my bias. loooooool I knew this was just an exhibition just as you did. I agree Floyd should never fight again. McGregor should concentrate on MMA from now on. He'd get washed by any top ranked boxer. He should stay at 155 or 170. He should leave 145 alone. Thats too much cut.

This fight was so fixed they probably rehearsed this over and over lmao! First off they way they were smiling at each other in the ring, Floyd, a few times couldn't even contain himself(these weren't the typical I'm not hurt smiles). The way Conor was love tapping Floyd and then after the fight Conor was so happy to lose! C'mon it was all about the money!
But it brought massive amounts of people out and this was good for both sports. Sports Entertainment Indeed- Like WWE

now that u said it, my head is filled with skepticism all over!! haha

Lol. Hey you never know. I mean look how Conor punches in the UFC and in this fight he was love tapping him. Holding back on his left hand. Then again he would have lost anyway. Floyd is just to smart if a boxer

I agree that it was all about the money... do you really believe it was fixed? I think Conor probably rehearsed his 'losing speech' + how he would behave beforehand though. He is very conscious of public image and knows how to 'work the crowd' especially in defeat.

HAHA I can't really say it was fixed but if I had to make a choice I would say YES the fix was in! I still think Conor would had lost. Floyd is just too dam good but I feel he was holding back and the entire thing was rehearsed lol. I mean Floyd even beat on himself to win on the 10th! That's a little suspicious, don't you think?!?! Conor can definitely work the crowd with his mouth haha. We can agree to disagree heeeee heee You don't think there was any fix at all in the fight??!?!?

Exciting action! I figured ultimately the boxer would prevail since that is his realm and his specialty. An MMA artist has spread his training among a larger group of skills, many of which would not be useful in the boxing ring. Worse, the reactions and reflexes developed for MMA could hinder one in a boxing format since you would have to constantly be suppressing your developed reflex skills. In this case, both fighters represented themselves and their skills well. Absent an upset or lucky shot (which could easily have happened) it would be predictable that a top boxer would most probably beat a top mma fighter, in a boxing match. Interesting crossover between these 2 sports!

I should have bet, it was a sure thing for Mayweather. Although Conner is a warrior, he faced a legend (although a piece of shit wife beater), with much more knowledge and experience. He played him exactly how he wanted to. After the push Mayweather gave him at the end of round 5 it was over.

Floyd Mayweather has more fight and more punching power in him than most people think. He hasn't had kos recently before the McGregor fight because those guys are good that he fought.

And besides I felt like Floyd was going easy on him at times. He could have stopped this few rounds earlier, EASILY.

Respect to both fighters.

I think McGregor should fight Paulie Malignaggi then go back to the UFC. Paulie Malignaggi is not what he used to be and he used to be the guy who was good but lost soon as he stepped up to the elite.

Malignaggi is way past his prime, he does not have the movement and the toughness. He is a commentator more than a fighter if you ask me. And most of all, Mayweather's punching power was troubling McGregor IMO, Malignaggi is known for not punching hard.

Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79