Vlog 3 - When the Weather Screws You

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


In Iceland, it doesn't take long before a nice, sunny day turns into a rainy one. That's exactly what happened yesterday when I visited Reykjavik with @agniese; our plan to find and photograph quirky places had to change halfway through. Still, I managed to take some videos of an old-school record shop and a hipster vegan kaffi bar. You can see their names in the video.

Enjoy my slow-mo take on rainy Reykjavik!

Dan

P.S. @the-beard thanks for recommending After Effects, man. The program is awesome!

Music: This train doesn't stop at Rugby by TRG Banks


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very nicely done. Iceland just looks ... different...than what I've experienced. Well, certainly colder. And - I haven't seen that many LPs in one place for a long time. Are they unusually popular there. And the coffee was made to look very warming - almost necessary. Great job Dude. Cheers!

The temperatures are not that low, man, it's just that wind that makes it feel like it's much colder. As for the LPs, I think it's a hipster thing :)

Thanks, Mike! (I almost wrote Dennis, lol)

Did you use the g80?

Yes, G80 and Olympus 12-40 mm f/2.8 :) Did you get the Lumix?

I took the g80, it will arrive in a few days.
I will use it especially for videos.
I'm also looking for a g9 to use for photography and to make 180fps slowmotion :)

Nice man, you will not be disappointed with the g80 :)

Wow, you are back in Iceland. Hope the sun shines on you soon!

Hehe, according to the forecast, that must happen in a few days 😁 How are you doing, Lakshmi?

I'm well. i spent 8 days at a spiritual retreat in South Carolina and still reaping the benefits :)

A meditation retreat? :)

I just browsed the photo gallery - the place looks awesome! Did you sleep in one of those cabins? :)

Yes, one of the original cabins :)

Great Vlog Dan I like the vinyl stores and I see that good old cup of coffee again. :)

Unfortunately, there was no sediment inside the cup this time :)) I'm glad that you liked it, man! I wish I could make the video a bit more engaging, but I could not quite figure out how. This is something I will have to think about in the future. Anyways, thanks a lot for your comment! Much appreciated :)

I like to make videos also Dan. I am just having trouble on deciding what software to use to edit them.I was using the Go Pro software but they changed now it just doesn't work very well.I havent made a video for months.

I use the free version of Davinci Resolve - it's very powerful and intuitive to work with. The downside is that it requires a capable computer.

Thank You for the info Dan I just bought a new desk top I will see if I can use it with that system. I appreciate the heads up.

👍 Let me know if I can be of any help :)

Will do Dan Thank You!

Nice to see you two!!! Too bad about the rain....but...it's Iceland!! lol

You need to go to BC and journey up the Sea to Sky Highway...you would love it. Even in the rain :)

Yeah, rain and wind is Iceland's normal 😁

So journeying the Sea to Sky highway would be something like a small road trip? And we'll even get to see Squamish? Yes!

nooooo....it's a highway that runs from Vancouver all the way up to Pemberton. It's a main highway and the only highway in or out of the north parts. Local media have called it the "Killer Highway", the "Highway of Death", and the "Ski-And-Die Highway.My son drives it everyday to work in Vancouver. An hour there and an hour back.

It is about 135km and would take about 2 hours to drive if you didn't stop for photos.

The scenery is other worldly - mountains on your right and the pacific coast on your left.

And yes you would see Squamish - the highway runs right through the middle of the small town. I'd even get you to introduce yourself to my son. You are about the same ages.

I sent you a message on discord :)

Awww...I'm not on there anymore. boooo.....You can message me on steemitchat though :)

Oh, I see. I'll try to log in tomorrow on Steemit chat.

Well done man!
Nice slow-mo.
I see that your having fun with the tracker 👍

Thanks man! Unfortunately, the trial version already expired, so I'll have to consider if it's worth subscribing for the creative cloud.

Yeah. It’s not ideal.
It all depends on how much you really want to commit to it.
To me it’s a necessity as I need it for work.

But for vlogs I don’t think it’s fundamental.
It’s nice to have but it’s not essential.

Anyway, I like the creativity. I think you should consider it : )

I liked the rainy mood. I think I'm gonna listen to my old records now at my old pick-up :)

I'm glad that you did, Cristina :) I just imagined how you have an old-school stereo cassette player in your pickup truck :) What did you listen to?

It's a pickup device to listen vinyl records, not pick-up truck 😁
I've listen to old romanian records.

Haha :) I don't know what I was thinking 😁

It looks as if you found something good to eat, though! And was that a record store? I haven't seen a place like that in years!

Haha, we did! But please don't ask about the price of this wrap :) And yes, it was a record store. I wondered how it manages to survive in the age of digital music.

Ahhhh this is so satisfying to watch! :)

Yes, that was the sole purpose of this video :) I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

Damn that place is hipster :) At least the weather behaves in the same old conservative way.

The whole town has a hipster vibe :) By the way, I much prefer the Danish weather 😁

I lived in the Faroe Islands when I was younger so I suppose I will be OK with the weather when we go to Iceland in the late summer. Right now Denmark is too warm for me :)

Haha :) I just looked at the forecast for Copenhagen - it says 22°C. That's quite warm for May, isn't it? I can't remember if it was like that several years ago when I still lived there.

Look what I got :)
DSC_0663.JPG

Yes, we have been above 25°C! I am such a wuss when it comes to heat. On the other hand... I don't complain the rest of the year like everybody else here.

And a Föroya Spring Beer! haven't seen one of those for many years. To prevent casual drinking you were supposed to buy them one case of beer at a time so we had to finish all the beers before going out fishing again :) - took the casual out of drinking, but not in the way the local baptists had imagined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30