Making the Music Video: No Comfort in the Void (Part 02) - Filming

in #vlog6 years ago

Behind the scenes of making my "No Comfort In the Void" music video! Warning, it gets messy!

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

This week I have a special video for you, totally off format - because I’m putting together a new music video for the song I did with Everson Poe called “No Comfort in the Void”. ...Which requires a lot of set up, and when you’re like me and you have no budget, you end up having to do everything by yourself. One day, I hope to have a big crew, but until then I’m making my garage studio into a ‘void’.

I’m using lots of black plastic. Gigantic sheets. I’m just going to cover everything. You can see I’ve got some of the background up so far. When I do day two, I’m going to have a bunch of friends over and they’re gonna dump a bunch of paint on me, so that’ll be fun. But that means I need to keep things a little bit tidy.

Day 1

So, I’ve got most of the wall up - I have one more wall to do, but that’s where the mirror is. So, I’m going to bring a makeup mirror in for Sunday. But it’s ok! I’m gonna do my makeup and then I’m going to put the last part of the wall up and I’ll check in one more time!

The “Void”

Allright, there it is. My kill room. ...just kidding! That is the VOID! I’ve got my single LED spot. For the first shot I’m going to do, it’s my one and only moving shot. So I’ve got my Revolve Camera dolly on my makeshift little track there.

I’ve got my shot list, ready to go, to tell me what I need. Very important! I’ve got my laptop, ready for playback. IPhone, I’m gonna do some super slo mo on my iPhone, and then an extra little speaker. And that’s it! That’s all I’m doing for this shoot!

And here’s my first makeup!

Makeup Number One!

We’re gonna do two makeups today: pink and purple. Good times. So you’ll see some more, and I’ll show you some footage as I go - as much as I can! All right, bye bye!

I have my second round of makeup on for the day: purple!

Makeup Number two!

But anyway, I’m shooting on my other camera [the EX3] at 60 frames per second, so everything is super fast. [plays clip of song played at x2.5 speed] That’s what the song sounds like at 2.5, which is nuts.

Ok, my last makeup of the day - some smearing fun. And now I’m going to cut my hair! Ahhh! You’re going to see the footage of it being cut dramatically in the video, so enjoy that.

So here’s the end of day one! My hair is short, and I’m actually gonna cut it shorter tonight. You’ll see me again on Sunday, when I shoot day two! Good times. And I won’t be so scary looking. At least... not to scary.

Day 2

Welcome back! This is day two. I have my friend Tiffany helping me out today because I have a lot of paint splashing I gotta do. Stay tuned for more...

Allright so I’m just gonna have this on a loop. And just don’t mind me, I’m going to get in the zone and do my thing. I’m going to start with a wide shot.

(I have to adjust the camera to make sure the frame is what I want in between each take)

Nina: “Ok, that looks good. Here we go!” (When I’m happy with the frame, I press record!) “Argh these pants! These are my high school volleyball pants...”
Tiffany: “Hey man, you still fit ‘em!”
Nina: “They fit better now than they did before! I was like, 50 pounds heavier back then.”

(I basically do it over and over again until I feel like I’ve got a good take.)

Nina On Camera

Nina: “One more comb” (this gel bloody sucks - it doesn’t stay at all!!) “Ok, let’s get ready to dump some paint on me! Hokay!”

The Fun Part!

Nina: “Ok, I’m going to get in character - (to Tiffany) you count to three, and then go.”
Tiffany: “Just tell me when you’re ready to go.”
Nina: “Ok I’m ready. Count to three.”
Tiffany: “One, two, three... Any second now..”

That Paint Is Cold

Terrence: “That’s pretty dramatic...”

Nina From the Black Lagoon

Tiffany: (referring to black footprints on the ground) “I’m getting your footprints cuz it’s funny.”

(Terrence hoses me off in the backyard) Nina: “The things I do for art!!”

Paint Round 2...

Nina: “When I say go, count one, two, and then go. ...and go.”
Tiffany: “One, two, three.” (splash blue!) “One, two, three...” (splash pink!!)
Nina: “Go ahead and turn off the iPhone, I’m just gonna do some... freestyling here.”

Colourful Nina From the Black Lagoon

Alright! We survived. That was a lot of paint. Can’t wait to show you the main video! Thanks for watching! Be sure to click that subscribe button! Because you’re my friend, and I love you. Thank you! Bye!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

Did you grow your hair back? Loving the After Effects transitions. So slick.

hahah well I just filmed this last week so it's gonna take a little while, but yes I'm going to grow my signature hair back! LOL :D

Thanks so much for watching!

Oh, what a visceral video this will be! With the makeup, the paint, the hair-cutting, and that killer song — what a thing! THANK YOU for taking us along on this behind-the-scenes series about the making of the video! Fabulous! 💙

No, thank YOU for being such a supportive human! :D

Wow, it's hard to let go of long hair. It's super hard for me to let go of my hair.

Congratulations! I love the effects and the things that you are doing on your video. I've sen how hard video editing can be but this one is like detailed and so fun to watch. I love the colors too!

haha yeah it was an internal battle deciding if I really actually wanted to commit to this storyline. But I'm glad I did! It was time for a change :D

And thank you for watching! I'm glad you enjoyed the video!

I did totally. :) The Storyline is perfect for your personality and you did it justice! (Not trying to flatter you) ^^ I'm saying this from the heart. Goodluck!

Thanks again! :D

Dude your awesome , i want do this lol looks fun. BOOM!!!!

Thanks!! DO IT!! It was super fun :D

Respects @derosnec for your effort first of all. Lot of hard work you are putting in. Best wishes. :) Love from India.

Thanks so much! I'm glad you're enjoying my efforts :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derosnec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #140 (5/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43