DEROSNEC Thoughts: Why I Love Editing

in #vlog7 years ago

I have a silly gif version of my thumbnail today!
Editing!

Here's the actual video:

Video Transcript:

Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

When I’m not vlogging or being a momma, I’m working full time as a freelance film and video editor here in LA. I’ve edited quite a wide range of things in my lifetime: documentaries, narrative films, previs, music videos, animations, commercials... I’ve edited feature length films, short films, media for theaters, youtube, VR systems...

It’s Always Different

There is a lot of video media out there, and each one takes a different approach. But, that’s the first and a big reason why I like it. Every project is different. They’re different in length, concept, genre, crew... really, no two projects are ever exactly alike. Each editing gig I get is a new puzzle to assemble, and while you can plan until the cows come home you never really know what the final picture is going to look like until it’s actually done.

Puzzle

Technical and Creative

Another reason why I love editing is because it’s an extremely creative job. The editor is the person who successfully assembles the story in a way that makes sense to the viewer, without losing sight of the director’s vision.

One of the most common misconceptions about video editing is that it’s purely technical. It’s not as simple as stringing together a bunch a clips in a piece of software. There is quite a bit of theory and thought into why a shot goes next to another shot, why a certain image or performance is chosen, or the speed at which everything moves from cut to cut. Everything is meaningful in a film, whether its intended to be or not, and as an editor you have to be aware of how other people perceive things. Remember, the Editor is considered to be a key role in filmmaking just like the Director or the Cinematographer.

Back before computers, it was more important than ever to think before you cut. Printing film was (and still is) very expensive and once you cut that film, no amount of splicing tape will ever truly put it back together!

Sliced Film

Now obviously, a big portion of the job certainly is to understand the tools and the technical aspects of film and video, but that’s arguably the standard for any job, creative or otherwise. To be fair, there are specific kinds of editors who do focus on the technical aspects of post production, like Online Editors, VFX Editors, and Assistant Editors, but even in those roles there is quite a bit of creativity involved.

In my next few videos I’ll talk about a few of the most popular editing theories, and how they shape the viewer’s experience of understanding story in film.

Collaboration

One of the main reasons why I was drawn to film was the fact that it is a collaborative art form. Yes it’s possible to make movies by yourself, but it’s a helluva lot of work and the margin for error is huge (trust me, I know because I’ve done it...). Take it from me, if you can find some great people to work with who also love making movies, then you’re going to have a better final project. Not only that, but you’ll have a lot more fun.

Is there anything about film and video editing that you’ve always wanted to know about? Ask away in the comments!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

I haven't watched one of your videos before I always tend to read the post, the video saves heaps of time! Plus heaps more engaging. I am new to editing but I am loving learing so step by step by posts will get better and so will my SP. Excited to see more.

Yay! The video is my favourite part of this whole thing, but I put the writing up too because if there are others like me who steem at work, most times I'm not able to watch something, so I appreciate it when there are transcripts that I can read in chunks throughout the day.

Well my next few videos focus on the theory more than the technical - but you can take a lot of the theory into any art, really (imho anyway haha)

This is awesome – glad to have found you through PYPT! As a pro-photographer, I've only dabbled in video. I'm a reasonably capable editor – but I'm much too perfectionistic. I become paralyzed by the infinite options. Reading this, however, inspires me to revisit my pre-existing footage and dare to play. I've never done that – everything I've edited has been for clients. So...thank you!

Awesome! Yeah, I think once you can get your head around some of the creative theories then it really helps in deciding what should go where. Each shot tells one story, but when you put them together, the story can turn in many directions. The first step is knowing what story you want to tell, then the rest is easy! More on some of those theories next week... but regardless, have fun and see you around PYPT!

Your gif is adorable :) I can’t stop looking at your eyebrows hahahaha, I think it is impossible to see this and not smile, IMPOSSIBLE :)
I am looking forward to hearing all of your vlogs and am really happy actually that I found you :)

haha thank you! Whilst trying to think of a thumbnail image, I was like, it would be fun to have an animated one... I'll see you around the Steem Engine and PYPT! :D

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

It is interesting subject, another one I do not know anything about, so I cannot wait to learn something more :)

More is definitely on the way :D Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 49 (2/18/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87