Why We Shouldn't Discourage Content about Steemit on Steemit

in #vlog8 years ago

Over the last couple months, the Steemit community seems to be putting pressure on itself to diversify the content away from posts about Steemit. But is this really helpful?

Peace,
dan-atstarlite

Sort:  

I think we should just leave it to the users what topics that they want to write about. Steemit should be a platform for all and for all topics.

I think we should be encouraging everyone who joins to write at least one article about steemit. It beats people joining and wondering what the platform is for, what makes it special, how it works, ect.

I understand why some people could come to think a lot of articles relating to steemit could seem like we are trying too hard to make it work, to promote it, which could in turn make people believe we are trying to scam. But at the same time, if I start using a technology and don't have the tools to learn how to use it best, the likelihood is I will think it's not worth the effort to learn it.

If I see others have made an effort not only to learn but to teach, then I know I may have found something that has worth.

I have to agree with you completely.

I'm an early adopter and know my way around social media more than my friends do. I have friends very interested in what I'm doing on Steemit because they've seen me make some money online, but they've never seen me so into a platform like this one. Explaining Steemit to them, they all get excited and believe it's something they could do. Then they hit the website and get lost and quit.

I can understand why so many Steemit related posts are being discouraged lately. Newbies see big payout stats for that tag and are trying to cash in. Unfortunately, many posts about Steemit lately add very little value to the site.
I know we're still in beta but a new minnow could care less about that. There's some good information on how to succeed on Steemit, but you have to search for it. While searching for answers one must wade through all the fluff posts and to a new minnow that's frustrating.

My solution is to start a users guide of all the best information so new users can get right into the Steemit community with as little confusion as possible. I picked a few domain names and would appreciate your opinion of the best one for this project. It'll just take a minute and really help. Which name do you like best?

If I see others have made an effort not only to learn but to teach, then I know I may have found something that has worth.

This sentence is golden! :)

Yes. We are early in steem’s lifecycle at a stage much like that when people grow from a fetus to a full grown human who thinks, hopes, perceives and exists in a complex reality.
Talking about “steemit” or “steem” is a kind of “metacognition” of the group of individuals called “steemians” on the platform called steemit. These components are both being realized and assimilated/neglected as we speak in a constant dance (or like you say, evolution) that expands as the community’s own self-awareness grows.
Thinking about the identity of steem is a very important, and I dare say ongoing, part of a healthy evolution.

Totally agree. Thank you for this

I think it is counterproductive.

I actually completely disagree... I think in order for this to be more than it is today it needs to attract everyone... Mom and pop have no reason to sign up for a site and then post about something they really know nothing about. The number of people who fully understand cryptocurrency is limited. If we want mass adoption of the website and the currency in general we need people to come to this site and use it like they would facebook... talking about anything and everything... that is what is going to get people coming back. That's my opinion anyways...

I agree. What you said had to be said. I wanted to say it for a long time. Thank you Dan!

Maybe the SteemIt community is having a new-to-the-world my-feet-look-funny existential experience. Can we let it be more than one definition at the same time?

Brilliant points. I think it is wasting a lot of people's good ideas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43