Can a Foam Sound Shield Improve the Audio Quality of your Videos? // Side by Side Comparison!

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

I am always looking for ways to improve the quality of my videos. I did a post detailing some of the gear I used last week and got a HUGE response from that. Since then, I have been detailing the gear I use in each vlog at the bottom of the video - just to add another layer of value and transparency to each post.

One of the best ways to improve the quality of your videos... is to have great sounding audio.


I realized earlier today that I have a potentially awesome tool, literally sitting in a box in my apartment! I got a Sound Shield because I would eventually like to do free-lance voice acting. I currently do some voice work for a local film company, but thought it might be fun to setup a home studio so I could do some voice acting on sites like Upwork. (Ps... If you need any voice acting for a video. Hit me up. I would gladly do some work in exchange for crypto!)

Here's a clip of some of my latest work. I did the voice acting for about 10 OfferUp commercials. If you haven't heard of them before, they are a buying and selling tool - kind of like Craigslist, but more user friendly. Ps... you'll see muh face in here too because I did some camera acting for this clip.

A Few Ideas for Improving Audio Quality in your Videos



The tips I am about to mention assume that you are using some kind of microphone. I will detail a few ways you could improve the audio quality - depending on what kind of room you are filming in. The sound shield is just one of them.

Foam panels on the wall.



The ROOM that you film in has so much to do with how the audio turns out. For example, if you are filming in a small space, you could consider getting some foam panels to put on the wall. This would essentially help to sound proof the space, so that more of the audio gets captured into the microphone.

Hold the microphone close to your mouth.



This would help you to capture more of the audio into the microphone as well. I personally choose not to do this unless i'm filming in a place with a lot of background noise. I keep my mic on a stand, about two feet away from me when I film my vlogs in my apartment. I just think holding a microphone looks too formal and I would rather have both of my hands free.

Add a sound shield behind your microphone.



This is what I am testing out today! I film my vlogs in my living room ... which means i'm in a big open space. I prefer to do this because it has the best lighting for filming and it has a more interesting backdrop with some cool art pieces.

I am literally testing it for the FIRST time in this video to see if adding the sound shield makes a difference.

My Thoughts After Watching the Video



Ok guys, after filming it I obviously had a chance to review the difference while editing this video. I would say that I DID notice that the audio was a bit crisper and clearer...but it wasn't MIND BLOWING. Sound shields are more often meant for closeup work like voice acting or singing. I'm so glad I have it to use for those types of activities, and will plan to use it in my vlog's moving forward.

Since I have one already, I may as well put it to work! For those who are on a limited budget and looking for items to upgrade your setup - i'd say focusing on good lights and a microphone should probably be your top priority over something like this. A sound shield can certainly help, but it probably wouldn't make my "Must have" list.

Can You Tell a Difference?



Well guys, I had a lot of fun filming this side by side comparison for you! I'd love to hear if you can tell a difference in the audio quality. I start the test at the 3.50 minute mark - for those who want to skip ahead to that.


I hope you guys found this helpful! If you have any questions on sound shields - don't hesitate to let me know!

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


Equipment Used in this Vlog



In order to add an extra layer of transparency and value to my vlog's, I will be adding a list of equipment used at the bottom of each one! If you ever have questions about the gear I use, or how I use it - please don't hesitate to ask.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeah this was really helpful cause as I’m a singer that I am , I do all my recordings on my phone with a garage band app and each time I have slight problems of voicing , either too much echo or the others noises in the background as I don’t have a studio yet. Thanks once again @coruscate and in addition I’m a van of yours . I will connect with you if I have any questions on sound shield

I’m so glad you found this helpful!! Don’t hesitate to reach out if you have questions come up. If you are recording vocals for a song - something like this could go a long way in clearing up the sound. Getting some foam blocks to put in the wall close to your mic could help too.

wow, that changed a lot! The volume really got ramped up.

Right?? I was pretty surprised at the volume difference too!

The sound is louder with the shield. It probably also helps bounce some sound back into the mic that would otherwise have escaped into the universe :)

Yes, I noticed how much louder it got too. Pretty cool!!

Lots of great tips for a good sound recording. I guess before starting recording, I should at least have a good microphone rather than depending on my mobile phone mic which may lack the clarity.

Yes, I would agree! A microphone is one of the most important things for making good video.

Thanks for the post @coruscate. I'm constantly looking for ways to improve my videos and spend a ton of time on audio. This is so helpful.

I’m so glad you found it helpful!! Let me know if you ever have questions. 😊

Well, thanks for the advice. My band and i were having troubles with sound, and now we know we must invest in a new mic rather than a sound shield

I’m so glad you found this post helpful!! Yes, a good microphone is a much better use of dollars if you don’t have one yet. 😊

I got to know a lot about your post, songs and words I got something new.very helpful post..@coruscate

Te felicito amiga . saludos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34