Coronavirus - How worried should We be ?

in #virus4 years ago

38F6A9C8-79FD-4473-8E33-D6488024661F.jpeg

I have lived in China for more than 16 years, I was there both during the outbreak of SARS in 2002, the bird flu and the swine flu. Still the corona virus has made me more worried than any of the above, and now I’m living back in Sweden. Let me tell you why.

During the Sars outbreak I had just moved to China. From what I can remember I did not get especially frightened, which was weird, because the mortality rate of this virus was more than 10 percent. Still, I did not get the sense of a panicked state. Of course this could also have been due to the fact that I was young and naive, feeling immortal like many teenagers do. But during the SARS outbreak I do not recall a lot of people wearing face masks, or people being on edge in general.

The swine flu and the bird flu were more scary to me. Especially the swine flu, because this was going on when I went to university in China. I remember one day, the school suddenly told all students that we would have to get a shot. I had already heard that there were cases where people had adverse effects to the vaccine, so this made me a bit apprehensive. On the other hand I didn’t want to be the only one who said no to receiving the shot, I don’t even think it would have been possible for me to avoid getting the vaccine.

So, telling you about these stories and experiences, why am I now even more worried about this outbreak than before when I actually lived in China? The reason is because of what happened today at work. We have a purchasing office in Hangzhou, China, and in the afternoon my boss came up to me with a serious look. He asked me if I heard about the most recent updates of the situation in China. I said, yes, they quarantined all of Wuhan where the outbreak started. He said, “yes, but there is more, now they are canceling all large scale new year celebrations in Beijing” The country has run out of face masks for protection and therefore the government has asked the people working in this industry to go back from holiday and start up production again. It might seem weird that I reacted so much to this as opposed to news that Wuhan got travel restrictions. The reason why it made me scared is because, nothing is bigger than the New Year in China, if they cancel these new year events in the countries capital, I get a feeling that the virus is much more dangerous than we might know. If the government goes as far as canceling public events in one of the biggest cities in the world and setting up traveling bans in cities with population of several million people than trust me the situation is extremely serious.

Getting these news I opened up CNN and checked for more news, and it turns out there are already more than 600 cases. It is spreading fast and currently only Only three Chinese regions have not reported coronavirus. See map below:

15BE45DC-1047-409D-80CC-BA596D5CE9C2.jpeg

When we know that there are atleast 600 reported known cases I am pretty sure we can multiply that number by a lot to get the true number. This epidemic is happening at the worst possible time which is also a reason that makes me very concerned. Chinese New Years is the largest human annual migration of all. During this period passenger-journeys will amount to almost three billion! Some experts are talking about a risk for the virus to mutate creating even a higher risk.

Despite that this outbreak is in the most populous country in the world and during the worst time it is good to see how the Chinese authorities are handling the situation and taking fast measures to handle the situation and communicating with other countries ! I feel sorry for all the people in China who were looking forward to a nice relaxing time with family to celebrate and I wish for everyone to stay safe and hopefully this virus can be beaten soon !

Sort:  

I am with you on your hopes and wishes! Prayers for a blessed New Year celebration of the metal rat. One way or another - it will all be okay ❤🙏❤

it is good to see how the Chinese authorities are handling the situation and taking fast measures to handle the situation and communicating with other countries !

I have got to presume this was sarcasm.
For one thing, the viral outbreak was first observed between the 12th and 19th of December. Even at that early stage, there were already voices of concern about an epidemic due to CNY travel. China did little except arrest anyone who mentioned it, on charges of "publishing or forwarding false information on the internet without verification"., and parade on stage to insist "we know it is not SARS." for weeks afterward, before finally walking this statement back and admitting it was from a first-cousin of the SARS Coronavirus on 9 January. By the time they finally took quarantine measures (which essentially amounted to "seal off the city of Wuhan and let them fend for themselves,"), the virus was already confirmed in at least 7 countries.

Well, there are always two sides to the story. It don’t make sense to me that if they knew at such an early stage that they were dealing with something so serious, that they would not act, and end up with the situation they have today.

It don’t make sense to me that if they knew at such an early stage that they were dealing with something so serious, that they would not act, and end up with the situation they have today.

If you were there during the SARS outbreak, then I suspect you already see the flaw in that statement (and not to be offensive but if this were not the case, I don't think you would have run back to Sweden). China's primary concern has always been first, last, and always to the exclusion of all other concerns, "make sure nothing embarrasses the Party," which has universally meant "keep all bad news under wraps." Minor details like "preventing thousands of deaths" come third or fourth at best.
This was made evident (as was China's weak response to outbreaks, which has apparently not improved since SARS) not so long ago in the Yrisnia Pestis outbreak of November - December 2019.

Petting Lucky is the antidote.

!shop
$trdo

Congratulations @eii, you successfuly trended the post shared by @dandesign86!
@dandesign86 will receive 0.04209975 TRDO & @eii will get 0.02806650 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

你好鸭,dandesign86!

@eii给您叫了一份外卖!

@team-cn 新手村 迎着暴雨 开着巴士 给您送来
冰淇淋面包

吃饱了吗?跟我猜拳吧! 石头,剪刀,布~

如果您对我的服务满意,请不要吝啬您的点赞~
@onepagex


You win!!!! 你赢了!我这新手村猜拳小能手的名号让给你了!

It is a bit of a worry and lets hope it can be controlled and contained quickly

Congratulations @dandesign86, your post successfully recieved 0.04209975 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@eii earned : 0.0280665 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32